We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for October Fest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #75 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I had stayed here on 2 weekends while in the Munich area for business during October Fest a few years ago.

I thought for the price (considering it was PEAK) it was a good value and a good location. The breakfast was also very good (if I was up to eat breakfast)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Dan P,
Thank you for your lovely feedback. It is our pleasure to host you for the best time of the year. I look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Thank you for choosing us for your travel needs. Your business and feedback is much appreciated.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,714)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I reviewed this hotel last year after staying here. Sadly I feel the hotel has gone downhill since then. In my previous review I talked about meeting space and location which is still excellent. BUt sadly there is some things that really downgrade the hotel.
-understaffed, day or night there is never not a huge/slow line to check in/check out talk to the front desk. They need more staff. When you try to call down it rings about 9-10 times on average before the call gets taken.
-housekeeping has decreased drastically. my sleeping room was borderline gross. THere is so much hair throughout the room that is not mine that It borders with disgusting. They were there when I checked in and stayed throughout my visit. The hotel needs a deep clean, or to allow the staff more time to clean.
- the wall mounted shampoo and hand soap feel extremely bargain basement hotel to me. on top of that they are the most inexpensive dispensers I have ever seen. It really makes it feel like a cheap hotel.

They did upgrade the tv to aflat screen and now there is more channels in English and other languages too. so that is a plus.
They also seem to have fixed the sliding shower head issue.
but overall I have to downgrade my review of this hotel. it's so-so. it needs some help.

Also the single rooms are laughably small. MY double room has two single beds and it is cramped. MY co-worker had a single bed and the room was small enough you could not roll a suitcase around any side of the single bed. Very very tiny.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Clyde_Betts,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. It is our sincere effort to provide all our guests with the quality service and superior accomodation. My apologies that we could not rise upto your expectations this time. I will certainly share your thoughts with the relevant departments for the necessary improvement.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forwrad to welcoming you with enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great Location. Good clean rooms as is expected of any Holiday Inn Property. Friendly staff and a decent sitting area in hotel lobby. Our check in took a very long time but that could have been due to a massive group of package tourists also checking in at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reemzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Reemzie,
Thank you for leaving us your feedback. I am pleased to read that the location worked out very well for you. My apologies for the delay in check-in.
Thank you again for including us in your travel plans. We hope to welcoming you with greater professionalism and enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Hilton city center is located in a very convient location. The metro station is just below the hotel and is only two stops from the city center. I would definitely stay here again whenever I m in Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This Holiday Inn is perfect. We stayed 5 nights celebrating r 30th wedding anniversary. It's just a short walk thru the underground from SBahn stop Roseheimer Platz (buy a train ticket before u get on train) or just two stops from the hotel to Marien Platz the town center or continue on to the main train station. R reserved superior room (changed from 830 to 1124 - better view) was super clean, bed comfy, mini fridge, tea kettle, ironing board, hair dryer, and flat screen TV. Bathroom amenities r sparse and r not replaced unless u ask. However in most European hotels u will find a soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower stall for body and hair so if u need hair conditioner bring it. Also at this property a sewing kit will cost u 2.00 euros. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and included in r rate. U can also order fried eggs or omelette. If u don't want to pay for the BB u will not be disappointed with the bakeries, grocery stores or Subway located in the underground. Would recommend this holiday to family and friends. Recommend taking the Hop-on-hop off Grand circle tour bus - cost 20.00 euros. Pay the driver directly - choose either the 6 or 10 stop site seeing. Also recommend the Third Reich walking tour. Pick up local guides in town center at Marien Platz. Pay guide directly. Also recommend visiting Dachau Memorial. Take a guided tour from Marien Platz or take the SBahn towards Petershausan, get off at the Dachau stop, then take local bus #726 to concentration camp. No entrance fee. Plan on 3-4 hrs. Closes at 5:00. Tours r given at the camp at 11:00 AM and 1:00 pm. Same bus back to train station. Don't forget to check if u vacation dates fall on a European holiday and if the sites/places u want to visit r open for the season. Stores will be closed on holidays - museums will be opened till 5:00 pm - most charge a fee and r closed on Monday. Munich is a fun town a lot to see and the beer is fabulous.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler2012asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Traveler2012asia,
Thank you for your valuable feedback with useful tips for our future guests. It is our pleasure to host you. Thank you once again for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first experience at this hotel. We found the staff very helpful. They took time to explain all the ins and outs of the hotel and all about the underground etc. From the hotel you simply go through some doors and you are in a small shopping mall. If you walk down the mall you will arrive at the underground. The trains are a bit tricky - stations etc but we found a very helpful person who explained train directions to us and we were on our way. When we arrived we weren't sure which meal we were up to and asked if we could share. The staff were happy to accommodate this and we were given our food on our own plates (half portions each) but each plate was still presented in a lovely way. The room - twin - was small but clean. We didn't eat breakfast because you have to pay the full price for the full buffet and we only wanted a bowl of cereal but we can't complain because everything else was great. As we only had an overnight stopover before catching a train, I can't comment on the proximity to sights etc but with the underground so close I think this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Jenrk,
Thank you for your kind words for our team members. It is our pleasure to provide all our guests with the quality service and comfortable accomodation.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you once again with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location of the hotel is great as it is right above the underground station and a small shopping mall. As we flew in from Tanzania, this was so convenient as we could pick up boots and warm clothes from there. There was quite few lovely restaurants a short walk from the hotel. The front office staff were great. We reached the hotel at 9am and they kindly gave us our rooms even though check-in is at 3pm. Really appreciated this considering we were traveling with 2 young kids. Our rail passes were delivered to the hotel a few days before we reached-very helpful. We booked a family room which was basically 2 interconnecting double rooms- the rooms were small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was decent, can't complain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank urvi_devani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Urvi_devani,
Thank you for your full points for our location, staff and service. I am pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay. It is our pleasure to be your host and we appreciate your positive comments and valued business.
Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending us further. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#48 of 385 in Munich
2,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#79 of 385 in Munich
2,679 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £86 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, IHG, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing