We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good homebase for Munich exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #76 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Espoo, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good homebase for Munich exploration”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our family spend five nights in this hotel in late March 2014. The rooms were compact but with adjoining rooms our family with two kids fit in very well. The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. The staff was exceptionally nice. The hotel has a handy conneciton to S-bahn service (Rosenheimer platz) through a tunnel, but without a lift (only escallator). The location is handy for those willing to explore Deutsches museum, Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz environments. The pool (12m) comes as a nice extra.

Room Tip: The hotel offers rooms with a city view. Only about half of them will have the view towards Marienki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O_P_P_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear O_P_P_2014,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is our sincere effort to provide all our guests with the quality service and comfortable accommodation. I will share your encouraging words with our team. They motivate us to go the extra mile. The connecting rooms are always in huge demand among the families with small kids. I am pleased to read that you liked them too. I agree that the lack of lift on our side of the platform causes inconvenience to our guests. However, in case of wheel chair or big luggage pieces, please use the lift all the way on the other side of the platform. Please know that it is about 800 Meters walk to the hotel if you come out from lift access. I hope this info helps you next time you visit us.
Thank you once again for staying with us. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm next time you visit us.
Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    1,293
    463
    127
    69
See reviews for
586
772
142
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

By 'Safe' I don't mean security wise, but standards wise. Holiday Inn is not high end but maintains a certain standard of cleanliness, room styles, bed comfort and bathroom appointments and this particular hotel does not disappoint. However for a business traveller my room did lack basic items that are usually found in other Holiday Inns like bathrobes, slippers, shower gels and shampoos (even in the IHG Rewards floor which is very surprising).

It has a great lobby area, good selection of breakfast items, the swimming pool and other amenities are also very good. The staff at reception is very friendly and helpful, but I have stayed at this hotel twice and both times, the reception is always understaffed! Whether you are checking in, out or are seeking any information, the average wait here is 15 minutes! They have 4 desks but only 2 are manned at any one time.

Holiday Inn is centrally located and is well served by taxis and the best feature of this hotel is that one of the main central metro stations, Rossenheimer Platz, is situated under the hotel making it very convenient to get to from the airport and to everywhere in Munich.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurajShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear SurajShah,
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel. It is our pleasure to be your host. I agree our central location with excellent public transport connection benefits all our guests. The lobby is newly renovated and definitely adds to the charm. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and also the pool. My apologies for the wait at the Reception. We usually staff based on the business needs. However sometimes things do not work out as planned due to the unforeseen circumstances. My sincere apologies once again for the inconvenience caused.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming with enhanced service standards and extra enthusiasm next time you visit us.
Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Holiday Inn this week during a 3 day business trip. The hotel is very centrally located in Munich city centre beside SBAHN train line. The rooms are small and unfortunately wifi was down on the first night. The food was very good and staff friendly. Although I was surprised on check out that when giving my company address for the invoice the receptionist didn't know the difference between Ireland and England and asked if I was sure my Ireland address wasn't in England? ???
Breakfast was good and the hotel decor is nice. I booked a non smoking room but had to change rooms upon arrival as I was put into a stinky smoking room. The beds were not that comfortable but room was warm and cosy. All in all a good visit and much better than other Holiday Inns I've stayed in.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Farrellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Farrellfamily,
Many thanks for your feedback. It is our pleasure to be your host and to know that we could rise upto your expectations. My apologies for the misunderstanding at check out.
Thank you once again for staying with us and for recommending us further. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm next time you visit us.
Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Seriously, probably the best breakfast buffet I've ever encountered! The location is great, a quick walk to the Altstadt and across the street from one of the main S-Bahn stations (Rosenheimer Platz). The desk and breakfast staff were friendly and very helpful, especially during check-in. One caveat, which is the only reason I can't give them 5 stars: we had a very early morning flight and needed to catch the airport train at 3:42 AM. The clerk on duty told us they were doing the "night run" and we'd have to wait to check out... and he wasn't very nice about it. We made our train, but we had to rush. Keep this in mind if you're catching a very early flight/train!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malamys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Malamys,
Many thanks for your feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the location worked out well for you. My apologies for the resistance by the night clerk to help you right away. I will certainly address that for a better guest expereince in the future.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to be at your service with enhanced service standards next time you visit Munich.
Best Regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our group travelled in from the airport by train and the hotel is part of a shopping complex above Rosenheimer Platz S-Bahn station - as well as being just a couple of stops from the city centre. Super breakfast buffet, comfortable rooms and mostly good services - pity that this doesn't extend to free Wi-Fi for non-loyalty scheme members

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear SolihulRichard,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I hope your group had a nice time here in Munich. The internet is available for free to all our guests in our business center. It is also included in the reservation if you reserve one of our high floor city view superior rooms.
Thank you once again for choosing us. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you with enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed on the 6th floor which is devoted to IHG members. The room was nice, spacious, modern, with tea and coffee making facilities. However, there was no safe in the room. The bed was very comfortable. Regarding toiletries, there were hardly any, just the announcement that you can get at the reception whatever you have forgotten at home.

The location was very good, just a 5 minute walk from Isartor and 15 - 20 minute walk from Marienplatz. The S-Bahn station Rosehnheimer Platz was very close. You actually did not have to go outside to reach it. You can just walk through the underground shopping area directly from Holiday Inn to the S-Bahn. The airport S8 line stops here too.

I did not have breakfast included in the room rate. The breakfast buffet was ok, but 25 euro was really too much for that.

Taxi stand was just in front of the hotel so it was efficient to get a taxi. As other reviews said, it is a busy hotel. The lobby area feels more like a bee hive. There were morning queues to check-out. I paid my invoice on my last night to save the time on check out.

Tip for dinner: self service restaurant Gast (Rosenheimer Straße 5) in the cultural centre Gasteig. Good food reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria_F111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Maria_F111,
Thank you for your valuable feedback including the useful tips for our future guests. The toiletries, like the note in the room says, are available at the Reception. The breakfast buffet with live cooking station and gluten free choices is available for economical prices at the time of check in. Please ask one of our friendly team members at your arrival.
Thank you once again for including us in your travel plans. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiam next time you visit us.

Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is centrally located, only 10-15mins walk to the centre. We arrived by car, there is an underground car park at the hotel so that worked well. Check in was very busy, took about 15 mins to get checked in and the same was true at check out time. An extra person at reception would not go amiss at busy times. Room was fine, nothing exciting, but clean with a good bed. The room had a city view which was very good. Breakfast was good with a large selection, although it was very busy.
Overall this hotel works well if you are looking for something of a good standard close to the city. Be aware that it is a very busy hotel. If you are looking for something quiet or boutique then this is not the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Barry L,
Many thanks for taking time to review our hotel. It is our pleasure to be your host. I have forwarded your valuable feedback to the relevant department for the necessary action.
Thank you for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you with enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#52 of 382 in Munich
2,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#81 of 382 in Munich
2,659 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,627 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing