We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST OF THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #77 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The BEST OF THE BEST”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I love everything about this hotel. The beds are SUPERB. You will sleep wonderfully. The rooms are SUPER CLEAN. The WIFI is super fast anywhere in the building. The service is very courteous, knowledgable, and friendly. The social area as soon as you come into the hotel is WONDERFUL. This hotel is in a great location for ANYTHING. The lower level of this hotel has a smaller mall and supermarket. You can also catch the train on the lower level of this hotel. This hotel is just minutes walk from the city center, parks, clubs and just great entertainment. I would STRONGLY suggest staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear DreEnergy,

Many thanks for your most valuable feedback with tips for our future guests. We take pride in our service and your encouraging words motivate us to go the extra mile. Thank you for choosing us for your travel needs. We look forward to welcoming you with extra enthusiasm in the days to come.

Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    1,263
    455
    125
    67
See reviews for
571
754
139
699
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is in the city center.Very nice location. It is a safe hotel for someone who travels by herself.
But There is no free internet !!! At this age, it is not acceptable.
The room is old,there are no facilities at the bathroom (no shampoo..)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeynep k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Zeynep K,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. It is our pleasure to be at your service. The internet is included in all our high floor city view superior rooms. The two computers in the business corner are also available to all our guests for free internet use. All our IHG Rewards Club members enjoy free internet access throughout the hotel. I hope this info will help you next time you visit us.
Thank you once again for staying with us. Look forward to welcoming you soon with added enthusiasm.
Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the April school holidays. It is a very busy hotels, especially around checkin and check out times, however the staff are very friendly and helpful and the wait was no more than about 5 mins. Location is great - easy access to the s- bahn via the underground walk way ( unfortunately we didn't find it on our arrival and walked down the street!) We were given free access to wifi ( as I expect a hotel should - I had read some reviews that said this was not the case), breakfast was included and although busy, there was plenty of food and staff available. Think the cutlery ran out one morning but staff quickly sorted this problem. Highlight for our children was the pool area. There was a great little Italian restaurant in the underground arcade we used for dinner on 2 nights - hotel was not serving children's meals.Would recommend this hotel - it delivered what we paid for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieMisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI_Guest_Relation, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear AussieMisha,

once again we would like to thank you for visiting the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will forward your commendatory words about the reception staff. This will for sure motivate the reception team to keep on with their good work. Thank you very much!
In general we charge 9,90 € for wifi per day, but one of the benefits of IHG Rewards Club members is to get internet for free.

We would be pleased to welcome you soon again here in Munich!
Best regards,

Franka Henke
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have stayed in Munchen a number of times and at the holiday inn. Large hotel. Near to underground. Clean and tidy,. Staff helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel. Easy to travel to centre of city and taxis nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munchen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear munchen 1,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback and for your further recommendation. It is our pleasure to be your host. I look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm next time you visit us.
Warm regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed 5 days in April at the Holiday Inn Central and were delighted with our stay. First, we arrived at 13.15 and reception checked us into our room almost two hours early. Really appreciated that!!!
No issues with waiting at check in or anything (though it did get busy later for Good Friday) and check in were not only efficient, but as I say, helpful and very friendly also. Honestly, it gave a good impression immediately upon arrival.
Room was perfect, large and clean, nice modern decor, huge flat screen tv and spacious bathroom. Very comfortable beds, quiet room, excellent room service.
I would like to displel some issues about the rooms that really MISLED me prior to my stay at the Holiday Inn Zentrum. First:
1) There WAS a safe in the room. It was totally free btw.
2) There WAS also a kettle in the room. Again, totally free (as you would expect).
3) The Internet was fast and totally free!
I make these points because previous posts I had read had noted these as suggestions for improvement, while concentrating on the excellent location. From my experience staying in room 511, I can tell you that if there were issues like kettles, safes, and 15 euro for the internet, the hotel has *responded* and those things are now not only available- they are excellent. The internet was really fast...
So my experience at the Holiday Inn Zentrum actually contradicts ( in a nice way) many of the previous posts here. To recap- internet was free, there's a kettle for as much tea as you want with tea bags included and there is NO need to leave a 100 euro deposit with reception (as reviewers noted) as there is a modern, electronic digital safe in your room. I think it's important to write about this as if these were previous issues and the hotel has *responded* to those issues then right there- you have a reason to book with these guys.
Location..... as almost everyone else has noted, the location allows you to walk over the Isar bridge (Ludwigsbrucke) to Marienplatz in about 10 minutes, or to simply take the metro to wherever you want, the hotel built right over the metro station. Some other things that might help you are the following:
1) The hotel is above a shopping complex linked to the metro which includes inexpensive eateries including Subway and a really cheap food supermarket called "HIT"- like our Kwiksave in the UK.
2) You can take Tram 16 direct to Romanplatz ( 5 mins walk from Schonbruun from outside the hotel- the same tram going to Karlsplatz- Gasteig Stop), or any S train from Rossenheimer Platz to the main train station.
3) Some good Chinese restaurants nearby, Work and Roll and Ky Myi.
4) Rooms have *large* flast screen tvs with British and Russian channels (amongst much else).

As almost everyone else has commented, breakfasts are great, bacon, sausage, eggs, fruit, salads, basically all you can eat in a relaxed environment.
Above all...... thanks to the friendly staff who make it really work!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Jasmine,
Many thanks for your five stars and lovely feedback with so much helpful information and tips for our future guests. It is our pleasure to provide all our guests with the comfortable rooms and the superior service. I will certainly share your love with the rest of the team.
Just to add couple of things to your already detailed feedback. Some of the rooms do not have in built safe and in such cases, the safe facility is available at the Reception for 100 Euro deposit. The standard internet is free to all our IHG Rewards Club members and the two computers in the lobby are also available for online connectivity and printing of boarding passes etc.
Thank you once again for taking all the trouble and time in reviewing our hotel. We value your business and further recommendation. Look forward to be at your service soon.
Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed at Holiday Inn Munich over Easter. The staff were very friendly and the service was really good. Marienplatz and city center is just 5 mins walk and the U Bahn with connections around the city and to and from the airport is right next to the hotel.

The room was a good standard as were all the facilities. Breakfast wasn't included but we chose to take the 241 deal of 25 eur for 2 people buffet breakfast. The selection was great and we were really happy with the value for money. Same goes for the room rate which was very reasonable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sarah B,
Thank you for your lovely feedback with useful tips for our future guests. It is our pleasure to be at your service and to provide you with the comfortable accommodation.
Thank you once again for choosing us and for recommending us further. Look forward to welcoming you once again to the city and to our hotel.
Best Regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice and clean and the standard rooms were easily big enough for what we needed.

Not in the city centre as others have mentioned but close by, about 15-20 minutes walk or 5-10 minutes on the train which were really frequent.

Parking was good, decent spaces in underground garage however this was pricey at €20 per night. If you are going to come and go make sure you get your ticket converted to a 'season ticket' on your first day which will allow you to come and go on without paying the exorbitant hourly rates each time. It can't be done after your first day though!

Wireless was very patchy both in where in the hotel I could pick it up and also when it would work without asking me to pay for a 'superior' subscription

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank strogauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Strogauk,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to know that you liked your room. The adjacent public parking is independently owned and operated. However like you mentioned, the parking ticket can be extended to your desired period when you bring it to us within half an hour of your arrival. The WiFi is now with two separate offers for a fast connectivity. Please ask our friendly reception at check in.
Thank you once again for staying with us. Look forward to be at your service soon.

Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#51 of 383 in Munich
2,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#81 of 383 in Munich
2,620 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 383 in Munich
1,532 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#10 of 383 in Munich
829 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing