We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel convenient location rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Ranked #77 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel convenient location rude staff”
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Holiday Inn Munich City

I booked 2 double rooms with breakfast for 3 nights from Friday 10th to Monday 13th December 2010, for myself and my wife and also for my wife’s parents. As I had booked via an agent I telephoned the hotel direct and confirmed the reservations and I also requested non-smoking rooms.
On arrival at the hotel I handed a copy of the reservations to the checkin person. However, there was some confusion in relation to whether the rooms were double or twin rooms and I was informed that only twin rooms were available, as the hotel was fully booked. I was very unhappy with this because my reservation was clear that the booking was for 2x double rooms with breakfast and I had phoned ahead to request non smoking rooms. I therefore asked to speak with the manager and the very unhelpful and rude manager, Bianca spoke to me. She informed me that no non-smoking double rooms were available and she was very good at saying “no” and “nein”. Eventually, I agreed to take a smoking room with a double bed and I would come back to her if it was very smoky. The whole situation was very embarrassing as my wife’s parents were with me and they had to take a twin room which is not satisfactory because they have been married for 42 years.
I must say that Bianca was unhelpful and rude and at one stage told me that I had booked smoking rooms when it is clear that I had not and I had also phoned in advance to ensure that non-smoking rooms were reserved as the reservation did not specify smoking or non-smoking.
Bianca did not follow up by phoning me to see if my room was satisfactory and indeed on thenext day when I requested an additional room key she never said anything to me.
I must say that reception in the hotel could do with a bit more organisation also. We also had difficulty in checking out at 8.00 as we had to get a train to the airport and a large amount of people were checking in and staff were unhelpful. I think people checking out should get priority.
On the positive side, I must say that the hotel is very well located in relation to Marienplatz and it is very convenient to the Sbahn S8 from the airport, it being the case that one doesn’t have to leave the underground area in order to access the hotel. The rooms are very clean although a little on the small side and the only thing that might be added is a safe in the room.
There were six of us in all staying at the hotel while celebrating my brotherinlaw’s 40th birthday and the restaurant and bar staff were in the main quite pleasant and helpful and the food was nice if a bit basic and lacking in choice. The buffet breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    1,295
    463
    127
    69
See reviews for
587
773
142
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Good location, not exactly in the center of the downtown area but close enough and well connected to the S-Bahn network. You would appreciate it more on the cold and snowing days that you don't have to go out on the street to reach the S-Bahn station from where you are well connected to the airport and the main train stations.
There are a few good restaurants in the vicinity including a decent Italian restaurant which is a big plus.
Hotel rooms and service were pretty much standard, nothing outstanding but nothing major missing either.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Praks_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 12/28/10 - 12/30/10 with our 3 teenagers. The hotel is very easy to get to from the airport. Take the S8 train out of the Munich Airport to Rosenheimer Platz(11 stops away=30 minutes) follow the signs through the station and simply go up into the lobby of the hotel. You'll save a ton of money instead of taking a taxi to and fro. The staff at this hotel bent over backwards to please and make our stay enjoyable. The rooms were modern, well appointed, elegant and the most comfortable beds you can imagine with an extensive pillow menu. The breakfast was the best of all of the others we experienced on our trip. A fresh egg station to prepare your favorites on the spot, a bountiful, elegant selection of hot and cold foods from sausages, cold cuts,cheeses, fish, roasted tomatoes, grilled mushrooms, pastries and breads galore as well as all types of cereals,yogurts, juices, many coffee varieties, teas, and hot chocolate, all served in an elegant, inviting setting...SUPERB!! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allumer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Have been to a few Holiday Inn's and this is by far the best i have been to, i would say its almost to the standard of a Crowne Plaza i stayed in in Venice.

The reception staff are a bit abrupt but get their job done efficiently. We had a few problems with the type of rooms that we wanted and got given a twin rather than a double but as it was New Years eve they were fully booked so could not rectify it that night. My friends werent too impressed with the front of staff but the bar staff were amazing, a bit slow getting drinks but they were reasonable and very well made. The bar was definitely one of the places that we most enjoyed sitting and socailising surprisingly as there was a nice relaxed buzz.

The rooms are a good size and very well maintained. The only downside to the whole experience would have been that the tv does not have any english channels other than BBC and CNN - so we left very well informed.

The location of the hotel is great as well and is a 10 -15 minute walk to Marienplatz and has a station entrance in the same building.

Also, very useful was that there are two grocerie shops in the shopping centre in the same building so all amenities plus a variety of restaruants are avaialble.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This is a GREAT HOTEL! I traveled with a large group to Austria and Munich over Christmas and stayed here for the last 2 nights. I could not ask for a better hotel. Quick Check in, clean rooms, and what has to be the best location of any hotel I have ever been. We were stumbling distance to the center of town and a quick and easy subway ride to anywhere else we wanted to go. We didn't even need to go outside to get the subway! I would recommend this hotel for pretty much anyone coming to Munich!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDaddy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

Rooms were small but clean.
Check in went super fast.
Most of the hotel staff were very friendly but the bartenders were rude....

Good (but way too expensive) breakfast.

Great location! Short walk to the city center.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masha1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Spent 3 nights here on a short break to see the Christmas markets in Munich.
Easy to get to from the airport on the s-bahn, with a 35 minute journey costing 19 euro or so for the two of us. Trains leave every ten minutes, and the hotel is a five minute walk undercover through a shopping centre. Very useful supermarket and a couple of great bakeries, plus a coffee shop/bar for breakfast or a drink in the evening.
Very friendly reception. Our room was on the 7th floor, a floor reserved for Priority Club members, with a great view over the city. Comfortable room with all the usual features including a safe, minibar and hospitality tray. Spotlessly clean. Bath and a powershower.
Had a couple of drinks in the bar, but did not eat in the hotel. Plenty of eating places & bars within a few minutes walk.
The city centre was a pleasant 15 minute walk, or 2 stops on the s-bahn. The main railway station is 4 stops away, and there are a variety of day tickets you can buy that cover all transport. Very reasonably priced.
The Christmas markets were of couse very special, and the snow cover created a magical atmosphere.
Had an early flight back but getting the s-bahn at six thirty in the morning was no problem, with a regular service despite the severe winter weather.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aathony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#52 of 382 in Munich
2,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#80 of 382 in Munich
2,660 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,628 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#11 of 382 in Munich
855 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
#57 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and cocktails are available in the newly renovated open lobby. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. Important Information: Our pool is closed until further notice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing