We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #140 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well situated”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This 3 star hotel is an easy 5 block walk from the main train station of Munich, and not far from good places to eat. The staff is friendly if inexperienced, and the rooms are nice, clean and moderately priced. This is probably the most expensive hotel I stayed at on my 30 day budget trip of Italy, Switzerland and Germany, but I booked it later than the other's so my choices were limited. No regrets though as it's nice and close to the station.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    314
    82
    22
    9
See reviews for
118
193
106
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

3 of us stayed here for just a single night to watch Arsenal play in the Champions League in Munich.

The hotel was clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. It may not be in the most desirable area, but we felt safe walking around this part of town very late at night. Pretty close to the centre of all the action, plus as with all major european cities, the transport links were excellent.

Oh and they had a lovely powerful shower!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We visited Munich for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hotel. We walked easily to the hotel (with quite a bit of luggage!) from the train station and friendly staff checked us in for our stay. Staff provided us with "must-see" attractions within walking distance of the hotel and we spent most of our time out and about enjoying the city.

The room was clean and the view from our room looked over to an italian cafe/pizzeria on the corner that we went to often to enjoy capuccinos and vino tinto. Although breakfast isn't free here, they did give us free coffee...which we consider breakfast anyways!

The hotel is located above a (strip) bar and there are other late night places nearby so it can get noisy at night if you're a light sleeper. Besides the ladies smiling at my husband when we passed by, it really wasn't a big deal. Getting around the bed to close the window was a bit difficult but that was the only real downside.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjmcquitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

10 minute walk from hotel to right into centre. Hotel is clean, comfortable and has breakfast with all you need. We went in a group and hotel flexible with last minute changes.
Tip for travel is to get train/bus travel card which we got (group of 5) for 13 euros each for 3 full days.
Worth noting that airport is about 30 min journey into city so need some sort of travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gino079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

With only a few minutes walk to the railway station, Hauptbahnhof, this is an excellent choice to avoid having to use a taxi or further public transportation. You can easily walk to the city center (area around Marienplatz) from the hotel. As I visited the hotel as part of a cross-Europe train-journey it was ideal.

Room was not big, but adequate and very clean. Safety deposit box was a bit on the small side, could not fit a 10" tablet. Floors were hardwood and a bit on the cold side. Beds were two narrow cots, but comfy and had no problem sleeping there.

Schillerstraße is in Munich's red light district and the hotel is surrounded by casinos and strip-clubs, but also a lot of hotels and I never felt unsafe walking there, even at night.

Breakfast was not included, as is standard in Germany, and it'll run you 9 euros/day. I had breakfast every day and it was ok, if the price ain't too steep for you I'd recommend trying it.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a room with windows to the courtyard. The maid will prob. leave a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoffer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel will not likely awe you with a splendid location, a sumptuous breakfast buffet or an extravagant room but this place earns credits in that it is honest. You get what you pay for basically. While rooms are simple and small, they are clean and what more can you ask for? The location is in a somewhat dodgy part of central Munich and though sights are within easy reach, making your way back to the hotel, alone on a dark night might give you shivers.

I stayed here two nights in business and for that purpose it was well up to my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Starbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

My partner, father and I stated in hotel royal for 1 night in January 2013. We had a double and single room, and were fortunate enough to find the single room was actually a twin room. Whilst nothing fancy, the hotel was clean, comfortable and good value for money. It was also fitted with a lift which was convenient for us. We had rooms at the back of the hotel so didn't experience any noise. The bathroom was also suitably equipped and the shower was hot and strong. Whilst other reviews have noted the unfavourable street, we never felt awkward walking in the area (perhaps it was the short stay). The reception staff were great and the free lollies and tea/coffee machine was an added bonus. I recommend this hotel, particularly for the ease of access to the main train station. 

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#50 of 382 in Munich
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#126 of 382 in Munich
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 382 in Munich
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#182 of 382 in Munich
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#44 of 382 in Munich
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Blue Hotel
Belle Blue Hotel
#148 of 382 in Munich
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing