We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fit my need”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #139 of 382 Hotels in Munich
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fit my need”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Basic, clean...and a great location. This hotel was a great value for my solo sight-seeing needs. Only a couple of minute walk to the train station...and a nice walk (10 minutes) to the heart of Munich. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thejeffpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    309
    78
    21
    9
See reviews for
116
192
101
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a group of 3 friends who spent 3 nights at this hotel. Location was perfect being a short walk from the Haupbahnhof station and minutes from the centre of Munich and the main sights. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and around the hotel were lots of local bars, cafes and shops. We were late risers so we used the Pipasa restaurant for breakfast which was good value and had lots of locals patronising it. The local café/bar Millenium was great for cheap food and drinks and was open till 2am. the area felt very safe though the ladies form the local table dancing establishments after 11pm could be a pain for some visitors as they banged on the windows as you passed by. Overall we would recommend the hotel for others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my colleagues stayed here end of 2012. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to from the station and good choice of restaurants around. It doesn't look much from the outside, but inside looks very nice. Will stay again if visiting Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigspencer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in Munich for 5 nights at the end of October 2013. We were very happy with the hotel. While the location seems a bit seedy, Munich is a VERY safe city and we never had any issue with anyone near the hotel. The hotel is a very quick walk (less than 5 minutes) from the central train station, which makes it very convenient. It is also a quick walk (less than 15 minutes) from the Glockenspiel and the main part of the center of the city.

The rooms were updated and very clean. We had a double bed, that I was pleasantly surprised with. My experience in hotels in Europe is that to make a double bed, they push 2 singles together. That was not the case with our room. Also, the mattress was much thicker and more comfortable than I expected.

Our room was on the top floor, so the only issue we had was that the lift did not go up to the top floor, and we had to walk up a few stairs to get to our room. Not a big issue normally, but a little difficult during check-in and check-out when we had to take our heavy suitcases with us.

Our room was facing the street. When the windows were open, there was definitely "typical" street noise, but nothing out of the ordinary. However, I was very impressed of how well insulated the windows were. When they were closed, the street noise was not noticeable at all.

The hotel served breakfast every morning that was very good. It had some American selections - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage - as well as more typical European breakfast foods like meats, cheeses, salads, etc.

All in all I really liked the location of the hotel and the quality for the price was very good.

Room Tip: If you don't want to do any steps, make sure you don't get a room on the top floor. The lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMRieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Well, it wasn't that much of a surprise of course, I had read and seen many reviews about this hotel before actually booking a room. I knew I wouldn't go wrong. I stayed for three (3) nights at this hotel and I was very satisfied with it. My room was very clean and although basic, it had everything that I needed. It was very comfortable.

Staff was warm and friendly, definitely a plus point for this hotel. Breakfast was great! Location was just perfect - a mere 5 minutes walk to Hauptbahnof (Main Station in Munich).

My only gripe - if I have to think of one - would be the fact that the lobby/reception isn't on the ground floor. But, who cares :) I would be back, surely.

Room Tip: As the hotel is located right smack in the city (so near to the Main Train Station, no less!), some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narrowband2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This Hotel was very basic as i traveled on my own i had a single room with en-suite and was my first time in Munich.
There was no elevator in the building and i was on the forth floor,The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful they directed me to see places in Munich they were great.
The room was a single bed shower and toilet very clean and changed and serviced everyday, I loved the location very close to the main train station and main mall and all transport.
I enjoyed my 3 night there as it was the start of my trip and a big thank you to the staff at the service desk.
There was no air con but they told me they were looking at installing it soon I was supplied with a fan. helpfull

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. it's clean, simple , located near the main station and serves good breakfast...few things: try to get a room on the higher floors and since the hotel does not have air-con the rooms tend to get hot during summer months and to make the room cool one has to open windows. little traffic noice comes in when windows are opened. we stayed at this hotel during september, opened the windows during day time so that rooms get cooled and closed them at night..for night we got a pedestal fan...apart from this washrooms r clean, beds are comfortable, will definetly stay at this hotel again...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#164 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#124 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#49 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#125 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing