We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal
Nearby Hotels
US$124
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
US$159
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$294
US$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$301
US$260
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
US$190
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
anna hotel(Munich)
US$307
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$440
US$409
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
195
323
86
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
323
86
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main train stationstreet noisesingle roomstrip clubfree wifired light districtconvenient locationroom faced the streetno air conditioningtop floorcoffee machineminute walkcold meatsmunich hbfbudget hotelyogurtcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Close to the main railway station (Hauptbanhoff) in Munich and about 5-10 minutes walk from Marienplatz ( main town square) this is a great hotel is use as a base in Munich. Rooms are simply furnished, beds are comfortable and water is hot. We would recommend and will use again when we return to Munich.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Basic, clean...and a great location. This hotel was a great value for my solo sight-seeing needs. Only a couple of minute walk to the train station...and a nice walk (10 minutes) to the heart of Munich. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejeffpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a group of 3 friends who spent 3 nights at this hotel. Location was perfect being a short walk from the Haupbahnhof station and minutes from the centre of Munich and the main sights. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and around the hotel were lots of local bars, cafes and shops. We were late risers so we used the Pipasa restaurant for breakfast which was good value and had lots of locals patronising it. The local café/bar Millenium was great for cheap food and drinks and was open till 2am. the area felt very safe though the ladies form the local table dancing establishments after 11pm could be a pain for some visitors as they banged on the windows as you passed by. Overall we would recommend the hotel for others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my colleagues stayed here end of 2012. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to from the station and good choice of restaurants around. It doesn't look much from the outside, but inside looks very nice. Will stay again if visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigspencer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in Munich for 5 nights at the end of October 2013. We were very happy with the hotel. While the location seems a bit seedy, Munich is a VERY safe city and we never had any issue with anyone near the hotel. The hotel is a very quick walk (less than 5 minutes) from the central train station, which makes it very convenient. It is also a quick walk (less than 15 minutes) from the Glockenspiel and the main part of the center of the city.

The rooms were updated and very clean. We had a double bed, that I was pleasantly surprised with. My experience in hotels in Europe is that to make a double bed, they push 2 singles together. That was not the case with our room. Also, the mattress was much thicker and more comfortable than I expected.

Our room was on the top floor, so the only issue we had was that the lift did not go up to the top floor, and we had to walk up a few stairs to get to our room. Not a big issue normally, but a little difficult during check-in and check-out when we had to take our heavy suitcases with us.

Our room was facing the street. When the windows were open, there was definitely "typical" street noise, but nothing out of the ordinary. However, I was very impressed of how well insulated the windows were. When they were closed, the street noise was not noticeable at all.

The hotel served breakfast every morning that was very good. It had some American selections - scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage - as well as more typical European breakfast foods like meats, cheeses, salads, etc.

All in all I really liked the location of the hotel and the quality for the price was very good.

Room Tip: If you don't want to do any steps, make sure you don't get a room on the top floor. The lift does not go to the top floor.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMRieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews