We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #136 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Close to main train station and only a 5 min walk from Pedestrian Mall area. The negative is that you do have to walk past about two blocks of casinos and strip clubs to get there - but I never felt unsafe. Once you enter the hotel it's very inviting. Nice reception area. Our room was very large for Europe and very clean. The bathroom and shower were tiny though. Our room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The breakfast was free (book on their website) and great. Included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, meats, cheeses, wide variety of fresh breads and rolls, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, coffee, juice, etc. They also had a deal on their website - stay 3 nights, get the 4th free. It would have been a value without the promo, but with it, it was by far the least expensive, nice hotel within walking distance of the Altstadt. And it is completely non-smoking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back-side of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfreitag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for a pre x mas break.
The location like many near railway stations is more practical than out of choice. However The Royal hotel does buck the trend.
Its two minutes from the train station and not in the best area.
The rooms are clean warm and a real comfy mattress is appreciated. Lift accesses all floors cctv is over the entrance and there is no unpleasant smells like you get in many entrances.
We read other reviews and booked because we both love our food and numerous reviews mentioned the breakfast.Im happy to report it was excellent in terms of the quality and variety.
We would have no hesitation in staying here again.
One note why charge for for a hot water at 10pm at night?
Would stop again though. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsDamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

When arriving at the hotel, my feelings were mixed. Like iin most larger german cities the redlight district is situated round the railwaysatation. As this hotel is near the railway, it was in the middle of the redlight district. The area was safe, though, no one disturbed at all when just walking the street.
The entrance to the hotel is small and gives no good feeling for the one arriving,
BUT! The hotel itself is very clean, very well taken care of. The other guests were normal (business) travellers and "no business from the street" could be noticed inside. The breakfast gets 9 points of 10. Very good, Very fresh. Everything from cereals to bacon, egg, cheese and fruits etc. Fresh bread (as allways in germany!). Very friendly and english speaking staff!
Perfect situation, if you do not get offended by the reldight bars, I can recommend to any businss traveller!!

Room Tip: Noise from the street can disturb on that side of building those who sleep light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karppa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Close to the main railway station (Hauptbanhoff) in Munich and about 5-10 minutes walk from Marienplatz ( main town square) this is a great hotel is use as a base in Munich. Rooms are simply furnished, beds are comfortable and water is hot. We would recommend and will use again when we return to Munich.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Basic, clean...and a great location. This hotel was a great value for my solo sight-seeing needs. Only a couple of minute walk to the train station...and a nice walk (10 minutes) to the heart of Munich. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejeffpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We were a group of 3 friends who spent 3 nights at this hotel. Location was perfect being a short walk from the Haupbahnhof station and minutes from the centre of Munich and the main sights. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and around the hotel were lots of local bars, cafes and shops. We were late risers so we used the Pipasa restaurant for breakfast which was good value and had lots of locals patronising it. The local café/bar Millenium was great for cheap food and drinks and was open till 2am. the area felt very safe though the ladies form the local table dancing establishments after 11pm could be a pain for some visitors as they banged on the windows as you passed by. Overall we would recommend the hotel for others.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Me and my colleagues stayed here end of 2012. The hotel is in a great location, very easy to get to from the station and good choice of restaurants around. It doesn't look much from the outside, but inside looks very nice. Will stay again if visiting Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigspencer1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Monaco
Hotel Monaco
#191 of 389 in Munich
516 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#125 of 389 in Munich
884 reviews
0 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#147 of 389 in Munich
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#144 of 389 in Munich
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#59 of 389 in Munich
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Schillerstr. 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £56 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing