We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near the train station and excellent reception”
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #184 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location near the train station and excellent reception”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Literally a 5 min walk from the main train station and within 10 min from Karlsplatz as a gateway to the old city. The reception was friendly, professional and went out of their way to help us with city sightseeing queries as well. Rooms are really well appointed for the price. (Had booked Hotel Dolomit earlier but was 'transferred' to this for some reason. No complaints!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kier02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Kier02,
thank you very much for your review, that sounds like a pleasant stay in our house. We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel!
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    268
    175
    68
    33
See reviews for
123
214
43
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Wish I had spotted this hotel before.
Very nice welcome and efficiently run hotel.
About 3 minutes walk from the station, although not much of a neighbourhood.However did not encounter any problems whatsoever.
Received a quiet room overlooking the courtyard.
Highly recommend this hotel. Bar area nicely laid out with a brilliant in-house restaurant.

Room Tip: I presume the rooms facing the courtyard would offer peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKNorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Norsemanuk,
thank you very much for your feedback, we are very happy to read that you had a good time in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again in our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Average pretty much says it all.

I stayed in a remodeled "comfort" (i.e., more expensive) room which was large, but as it was long and skinny the space was not really very usable. The bed, desk, and TV were all placed at the far end of the room by the window.

The first room I was given had a heating problem; the heat would not turn off. The second room I tried was better, but still too stuffy. I'd have opened the window but it was about 0 degrees C outside.

The bar prices were exorbidant. And don't bother with the overpriced breakfast in any Munich hotel. There's always cheaper food to be found outside. If you're near the Hbf simply pop over there for numerous inexpensive options.

See my other reviews for more preferred Munich hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcfrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear fcfrag,
thank you very much for your feedback. In our opinion our prices are ok, because our breakfast is varied and very tasty. Our drinks are also delicious. We also have comfort rooms, especially for longer stays. We hope to welcome you again in our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I left my hearing aid on the nighttable, and went for a short walk. The hotel staff did turn-down service during this time, and when I returned, I noticed the right hearing aid was missing. I alerted the front desk staff immediately, and requested the room be checked carefuly when I checked out in the morning. I have stayed at this hotel at least 6 times since 2003, and management did not even follow-up or give me an "das tut mir leid". I will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janiceboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Janiceboo,
thank you very much for your comment. As you know, our staff didn’t find your hearing aid in your room and the room maid was asked for the hearing aid as well. Of course, we strive to ensure that our guests will get back their lost property as quickly as possible. Unfortunately, we could not give a positive feedback to you, but we did our best. Our reception staff also informed you about that fact. We only had contacted you if the hearing aid would be found. We do not want to lose a loyal guest and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A group of 8 just enjoyed a great 3 day city break staying at Hotel Cristal and all agreed that we would not hesitate to stay there again. I have 2 minor complaints, more of which later but on the whole this hotel offered excellent value for money.

Reading previous reviews people complained of a dirty hotel, poor neighbourhood and dodgy people hanging around at night. Nothing of the sort ! The hotel is in a Turkish neighbourhood - why would anyone be surprised to see people of Turkish origin hanging around ? Not once did we feel threatened or oppressed, we were not hassled in anyway and felt completely safe at all times. Five minutes walk and you are at the start of the main entrance into the city with everything that goes with it.

The hotel was very clean, the staff excellent, friendly, welcoming and efficient and for the money we paid it represented excellent value for money. We did not have breakfast there as we felt it sounded quite expensive so I cannot comment on its quality but what I would say is that there is plenty of really good, cheap breakfast options within a minute or two of the hotel which we opted to use during our stay.

Now the two minor gripes we had. Wi-Fi ? Not that good and we were charged €4-90 a day for access, why ? Not just this hotel but quite a few others as well should not be charging for Wi-Fi these days, it is a basic and not difficult or expensive to provide so stop charging and make it available to paying guests. And secondly, every member of staff we encountered was excellent except for the female bar tender who could not have been more unfriendly, surly and unprofessional. We would wait and wait to be served and when we were it wad has if she was doing us a massive favour. Minor gripes and certainly not enough to tar our stay.

Good hotel and great value for money. I suspect those that have criticised it are those travellers that want 5* facilities and treatment but don't want to pay for it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear AlanFS,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We can recommend the breakfast at our hotel, it’s delicious and varied. In our opinion the price for Wifi is ok. We are very sorry for the inconveniences with our female bar tender. But we hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Munich is especially for winter time worth a visit.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 7 - 10 August this year. It is quite hard to find a good eating shopping place near this hotel. But...I have pleasant stay in this hotel. It is in easy walking distance to munich main train station that link to major european city. We booked triple room and the room is spacious enough from european standard. The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Erny T,
thank you very much for your review. We also have a very good restaurant (1912 Restaurant & Bar) in our hotel and some eating shopping places around. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

excellent location for beer fest, breakfast very expensive at the hotel, but go across the road and get excellent breakfast food for a fraction of the price.
Rooms ok, staff excellent and very helpfull.
10-15 min walk to all the tents, with a couple of bars along the way.
highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanjar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear beanjar51,
thank you very much for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Munich and at the Oktoberfest. Let’s come again next year and try our restaurant – it tastes delicious.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#255 of 382 in Munich
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#117 of 382 in Munich
986 reviews
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#116 of 382 in Munich
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#37 of 382 in Munich
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Property: Hotel Cristal
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing