We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, terrible internet”
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #177 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Good location, terrible internet”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The location is great, the facilities are fine, for a 4 stars hotel could be better, but it is ok. The problem is the internet: it is terrible, useless. If you are going for leisure it is fine, but for business will have a bad time with their terrible internet.

Helpful?
Thank Rafael M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Rafael M,
thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry for the inconveniences with the internet connection. Normally, our internet works without any problems. We would be delighted to welcome you again in our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    265
    170
    66
    31
See reviews for
117
211
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is located in a dirty, run down area in Munich. The hotel is located around sex shops and store front casinos. There are so many beautiful, clean areas of Munich, this is not it. We did not feel safe walking to and from the hotel. Anywhere in the city center, east or just south are perfect areas to stay (clean, nice, and beautiful).

The Internet connection is either non-existent or too slow to even work. I am technically savvy and could not get the connection to go any faster or work.

The hotel itself is clean, although the room had some minor issues (the sink would not drain & carpets could use cleaning).

When we stayed there was construction on the street in front of our second floor room, so it was noisy early.

Front desk staff was good and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigjoe777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Bigjoe777,
thank you very much for your rating. Munich is one of the safest citiies, so you don’t have to be worried. The area around the mainstation is multicultural und varied. We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

maidstone
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Not sure it deserves a four star rating . On 3 occasions had to contact reception as refreshments tray had not been made up. Many of the rooms face a noisy street, when the night noise dies down around midnight, it is not too long then around 5.30 am the building and road repair noise starts up. Breakfast though good is very expensive ,The area is full of hotels and a better bargain can be found.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toofrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear toofrab,
thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry for the inconveniences with the refreshments. Our breakfast is varied and delicious, so in our opinion the price is reasonable. It would be nice to welcome you again at our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is located within 10 minutes of the München Hauptbahnhof (train station) and is only 5 minutes from the heart of the city. We passed by some other hotels in this area and the Hotel Cristal was definitely the better looking of them all.

The lobby was well decorated and we were greeted with smiling faces. We had very little German, but the staff were happy to speak English to us. There was a bar and restaurant beside the reception but we did not use either during our stay.

Our room was on the third floor facing the street. The perfect size for 2 people. Our bed was two twin beds side by side, each with its own matress and neatly folded duvet and pillow. I would have preferred a double bed but still found it very comfortable. There is a flat screen TV in the room with roughly 10 channels. Sky movies are available to rent on the TV too. When we first switched it on, our names appeared with a big 'Welcome!'. I thought that was a nice touch. There are tea/coffee making facilities, WiFi access for a fee per night, telephone, and a minibar stocked with beer, soft drinks, chocolate, water and nuts. There is a flat rate for restocking the minibar, so take as much or as little as you like for the same price. The ensuite bathroom was perfect. Great bath/shower, hairdryer, free toiletries (shampoo, soap etc). The room was spotless on arrival and contained modern furniture and lovely furnishings (comfy pillows, nice carpet, stylish wallpaper).

The area itself contains various shops as well as some bigger supermarkets. There is definitely a variety of nationalities living and working on the street. Some reviews on other sites saw this as a negative thing but we weren't bothered by it. The only negative things to say about the area is that it is still active late at night. We often heard loud motorbikes and car horns beeping while we were trying to sleep. Should be okay if you're not a light sleeper. Also there are a couple of casinos and some adult shops near by. But they arent too 'in your face', and I wouldn't at all call it a 'red light' district as mentioned in a previous review.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room that is not street-facing as the area is still active at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squigggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Squigggles,
thank you very much for your rating. We are very pleased hearing such a nice feedback from our guests. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just a short walk from the main station and easily walkable into the old historic town centre of Munich. Though it's not in the best area of town the hotel was like an oasis amongst the kebab shops and casinos. Our room was clean and reasonable size with bath and shower. Be aware there are 2 levels on each floor, so make sure you use the correct lift or you may have to climb stairs to get to your floor level. We slept well in our room on 5th floor at the back of the hotel, so no street noise, but no view. Air-con was quiet and worked ok. Note - air con switches off if the window is open. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast with a range of hot and cold food, fruit, yoghurt etc. It was very good, but expensive at 16.5 Euros each. We ate hotel breakfast on 2 out of 5 days. Other days we got better value breakfast at Kaufhof department store in Karlsplatz just 5 minutes from hotel, but only opens at 09:30am, so no good if you want an early start. This was our first trip to Munich and we made a good choice and would definitely stay at Best Western Hotel Cristal again when we come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Simon554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Simon554,
thank you very much for your detailed feedback. That sounds like a great stay in our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in our hotel. You can visit lots of sights in and around the Bavarian capital.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed in this in the hotel on short break and found the hotel to be really quite nice.
The breakfast was excellent and the staff I came across were excellent although the barperson did seem to get a bit flustered when a few customer ordering drinks bless him.
Hotel is in fairly good location near to metro and central train station 10 mins walk away.
The room was comfortable tea/coffee facilities in room which was nice, only gripe with room was that no shampoo etc in bathroom and plastic beakers which are really not good in my opinion.
Overall a nice place with friendly helpful staff and very clean, if I were to visit this part of Munich again I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear cliff48,
thank you very much for taking time to write a review of your stay in our hotel. We are very happy to read that you had a good time in our house. We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a family vacation and booked Best Western Cristal through Hotwire. The location is good, just few minutes walk from train station. However, the hotel is located at a almost red-light-district-like area. There are at least 2 adult shops around the corner (with pictures posted outside) . Moreover, they have local casinos flashing neon lights inside and out. With these kinds of vendors around, you can imagine what kind of people are walking in the streets. We heard loud noises down in the street throughout the night.

The lobby is small and the elevator that is mostly available can just accommodate 3 people with luggage. The pillows have only a layer of cotton inside. No shampoo is provided.

Last but not least, the staff charged us extra money for my kid's bed regardless of Hotwire quoting me $121 for 3 people online.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hosipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Hosipes,
thank you very much for describing your experiences you made in our hotel. We apologize, if some of your expectations were not fulfilled. Moreover, Munich is one of the safest cities, so you don’t have to be worried. Of course, adult shops are in nearby every big city in this world. Munich only has a few. It would be nice to welcome you again in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#114 of 383 in Munich
932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#254 of 383 in Munich
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 383 in Munich
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#120 of 383 in Munich
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor Hotel
Astor Hotel
#267 of 383 in Munich
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Property: Hotel Cristal
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing