We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location & Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cristal
Ranked #178 of 381 Hotels in Munich
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location & Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have been to Munich a few times in February so this was our first time in May and what a different city when the beer gardens are open. The hotel is 5mins walk from the Haupthbahnhopf and 10mins walk to the new Town Hall. We have stayed in the Cristal about 3-4 times and is always good value. The breakfast choice is plentiful. Small negatives are hotel rooms look same as first visit, wi-fi extra & awkward & the small bar. However, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinPeadar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear DublinPeadar,
thank you very much for your kind review. There are lots of sights in and around Munich which are perfect for hiking for example, especially in summer and autumn. We would be very happy to welcome you again very soon in the Bavarian capital.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    259
    166
    61
    31
See reviews for
114
204
43
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Well I really enjoyed the four days I spent in the hotel. It provided all the basic amenities one would expect. The area is perfectly safe; it is an ethnic, built up area near the main train station. It is therefore very convenient for transport, and there are an abundance of bars and restaurants nearby. For some reason, several of the reviews fault the area on here, and to those reviewers, I say that two strip clubs within four blocks of each other hardly constitute a red-light district, and I've been in some of the finest red-light districts in the world. Also, the people that usually loiter in the streets are mostly of foreign extraction, which does not in anyway mean they should be regarded as dangerous or sleazy. In fact, many of them seem to have some affiliation to the businesses in the area. I explored Munich on foot both night and day while I was there, and never experienced any trouble. Even at three in the morning, people will not jaywalk across empty streets. Lastly, if anybody really wants to fault the hotel on the merits of the cleanliness of the street around it - it isn't exactly Fifth Avenue, in fairness - may I suggest they take it up with the Munich Chamber of Commerce.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank El_Enfermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Michael F,
thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and a good time in the Bavarian capital. It would be nice to welcome you again in the BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Excellent location, friendly helpful staff. Rooms were clean and there is parking attached to hotel. Getting around the city was easy, plenty of places to eat as well. Aove the lobby was a quiet area that the family could meet prior to the days event. All and all nothing to complain about. Wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Michael S.,
thank you very much for your nice feedback. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel. There are lots of sights in and around Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, null, Serbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed in comfort triple room 4 nights. Very large and spacious room,street view(very noisy) Large bathroom,comfy beds. Great staff. Very clean. Walking distance 10 min to pedestrian zone. Tricky area with lot of suspicious shops,but nothing to worry about. All recommendations!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DraganaBlagojevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear DraganaBlagojevic,
thank you very much for your review. It would be nice to welcome you again soon in our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salo, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed 8 nights, travelled as a couple. The location is good for those arriving by train and for those who want to stay close to the city center but don't want to pay too much. The main railway station is close enough to drag your bags from there on foot. We took the S8 train from the airport, hopped off at the main railway station and walked to the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and spoke good English. The rooms were tidy and quiet even though our room was facing the street. Beds were wide enough but very hard. If you have back or neck problems like I do, ask for an additional thin, soft mattress. That helped a little. The breakfast buffet was the usual: different breads, bacon, sausages, eggs, fruit, yoghurt, sweet pastries, coffee, tea, juice etc. The price was high (16,50 eur per person), but if you can eat a lot in the mornings, you won't feel hungry before late afternoon or early evening. Those who can only eat a little in the mornings, can buy their breakfast from a bakery just accross the street. There are also two grocery stores (Lidl and Aldi) on the street. The walking distance to the old city center is bearable, about 10-15 minutes. The hotel has a big parking garage, which was useful, because we rented a car for three days. If you want to rent a car, you can do it easily at the main railway station and park in the hotel garage. The parking fee was 14 eur per day. All in all a good, quiet and tidy hotel. The only minuses were the hard beds and the costly breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PulcinellaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear PulcinellaF,
thank you very much for your detailed review. In our opinion our breakfast is varied and you can taste lots of different things, so the price is alright. It would be nice to welcome you again soon in our hotel. There are lots of sights to visit in and around Munich.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Worst location - right in the red light area of Munich. Too noisy.
One has to prepay on check in, should tell you of the location !!!
Very poor customer service - unfriendly, not helpful.
Rooms not cleaned properly.
Rooms not ready in time - had to wait for 2 hours - unprofessional.
Parking garage small - minivans can't enter. And you only find this out after you arrive !!!! They don't help you in finding alternate locations - just suggest nearby hotels which charge 25€/day !!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratyush N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. N.,
to your comment here at TripAdvisor we state again the last time as follows:
Your complaints were already handled several times. Among other things we also stated personally in a communication with you and already excused some described situations.
You have your impressions and your opinion. That’s right!
Finally, however we insistent clarify, that we were very friendly, politely and gracefully trying to explain you the situations, especially the situation with our CarPark.
We will not leave our good behaviour and our high level of friendliness, whatever happens and which concern it could be. Which level generally the client’s is, is not our problem. Please note this!!!
Yours respectfully,
The Team of the Best Western Hotel Cristal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights in a double room. The hotel is an easy walk from the train station and really easy to get too even with suitcases etc on board! The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs, we found our air con didn't work in the room even when turned up to full but when we returned that afternoon after talking to the reception there was a fan set up in our room which looked brand new! We had breakfast from one of the many stands at the train station most days but the last day we had the buffet. Lovely food with lots of selection and on par price wise with most European hotel breakfast costs. While the area around the train station is a bit sketchy we still felt safe and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abbey712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear abbey712,
thank you very much for your detailed review. We are very happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon in our house.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#252 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#30 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Munchen
Maritim Hotel Munchen
#104 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
0.2 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#123 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Property: Hotel Cristal
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing