We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Type A Location”
Review of Ambiente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambiente Hotel
Ranked #192 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The facilities were okay and breakfast was good as well. The rooms though are big which is really a big plus. The greatest thing about this hotel though is its location. It is near to the main train station and walking distance to the Alt Stadt, Marienplatz and most of the must-sees of Munich.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joahnna1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Yearly visit to the Oktoberfest. Hotel is in a great location for the Oktoberfest. I use this hotel because it is clean, comfortable, great location and reasonably priced especially during the Oktoberfest. Rooms are very spacious, clean and well lit. Smallish bathroom offers a shower/bath and was again very clean - shower ge/shampoo is dispensed via a wall attachment. TV does not offer UK channels - mini bar well stocked. Breakfast is of a very good continental standard - only hot food consists of bacon/scrambled eggs. Reason I sue this hotel is that all the staff make you feel very welcome and it seems a happy ship to work for.

Room Tip: A room at the back is much better during the Oktoberfest and front rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDeQuincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We were only there for 1 night but the stay was good. Location is close to the Hauptbahnoff which was perfect for us since we had an early train. Easy walking distance to the main areas like Marienplatz. Rooms were big for a Euro hotel, clean, and excellent breakfast (better than the standard North American buffet breakfast). Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor - may be more quiet up there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel in July with my husband and my mum. We loved it - here is an overview:

Location - Great! It's only about 10 minutes walk from the train station, where the airport bus dropped us off (from a Ryanair flight). It took around 15 minutes to walk to Marienplatz and was close to the offices for the hop-on/hop-off tourist buses. There are quite a lot of 'girly' bars in this area, but even at night we never felt unsafe or uneasy. There were also some good bars, cafes and supermarkets/convenience stores nearby. We would stay in this area again.

Staff - Fantastic! I can't praise the staff highly enough. Marie was on reception when we checked in and for most of the other days we stayed. She was really helpful, friendly and welcoming. In the evenings (up to around 10pm) there was a gentleman on reception and I can't remember his name, but he was also very helpful and friendly - there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room (common in a lot of European countries) but he gladly provided by mum with a kettle, teapot, cups, tea bags and milk for her room, for no charge. The breakfast staff were also polite and very efficient.

Breakfast - a good range and tasty. There was plenty to choose from including cold continental items (meat, cheese, pastries, rolls, etc), cereals, hot scrambled egg, boiled eggs and sausages (very tasty!), plus lots of juices, jams and fruit. We were very pleased with breakfast and it was the perfect start to a day of sightseeing.

Rooms - We had rooms on the 4th floor and I had requested for them to be close to each other, which they were. We had a single (which was actually a double) and a double (which had 2 double beds) and both were really comfortable and quite spacious. The only thing we found was that the rooms were really warm. There wasn't any air con but fans were supplied and they worked pretty well. My mums room was facing the road and on the Saturday night you could hear some noise, but it wasn't too bad. The double room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard and it was really quiet. The bathrooms were spacious, had good showers and were well equipped.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and it was really good value for money (I booked directly with the hotel). I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dizzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel is very close to the Munich Central station. However, the street is full of some weird people, casinos, etc. Once you are out of the street, you will feel much better. It is within walking distance to the Marienplatz.

The hotel's is clean but has no A/C. You have a fan to cool down and circulate the air. Room's size is considerably big in European standard. You have to close the windows to minimize the noise. The breakfast buffet is fine with hot food, 3 kinds of juices, water, etc.

Room Tip: head over to the Marienplaz for meal or any of the nearby beer gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel. Had a room in the back away from the street - it was quiet, clean, large and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was nicely done. The front desk staff were always there and willing to answer any questions. It was raining one morning as I left and the staff asked and made and sure I had an umbrella before leaving. Very thoughtful. Would definately recommend to anyone looking for a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiesGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Hotel is On Schiller Street 5-8 minute walk from Rail Station. I go 2 times a year to Munich and always stay in this area because the many choices of hotels and the good connections for S and U Bahn and easy walking to where I want to go. That means to Restaurants since there is not a decent Restaurant in the vicinity unless you eat in any of the hotels with overpriced food. Other Streets with hotels here are Goethe and Sennefelder Strasse.
Schiller Strasse and side streets have maybe 20 2 to 4 star hotels and must be the worst street in Munich and maybe in all of Germany. Strip joints, pawn shops, jewelery stores, call stores, cell phone sales etc all run mostly be Turks or other foreigners. Worst of all man standing on the sidewalk in pairs or more smoking and talking. All foreigners seeming to come from North Africa, Turkey, Rumania, Bulgaria, Albania and other Eastern countries. One has to wonder how they make a living, probably by a generous German Government. No, they bother nobody but sometime you have to walk around them. If it was not by the tourist coming to the Hotels it would be a slum street altogether.
Hotel Ambiente is a nice 2-3 star hotel with a small reception area with a sofa, most rooms are in the back of the building and quiet, single rooms are small like in most hotels here and clean, the hotel serves a good breakfast and has a Laptop you can take to your room to check E - Mail.
I have been to many hotels here and most all had breakfast included now many charge extra,
and if you book one without breakfast it could run from 10 to 25 Dollars or even Euros a day more. In the rail station you could get pastry, juices and more for breakfast.
There are many Restaurants walking towards Stachus and continue towards Marien Platz and then to Isar Torplatz a walking street about a kilometer long. there is the Augustiner on the right side coming through Gate. Has a lout beer joint with food and a nicer more expensive restaurant next to it. At the Donisl Restaurant on Marien Platz you can eat a German meal like Schweins Haxen, Pork roast, Schnitzel, Goulasch etc, for around 11,- Dollars. What you should not miss is the Rathskeller in the basement of City Hall, a large Restaurant with many rooms and nooks for " Romance" and a Winecellar at the end with music and singing if you want to. My favorite since it has small plates to eat and a 1/4 liter wine costs from 2.80 Euro up.

Room Tip: up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank erniep747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Praesident
Hotel Praesident
#143 of 390 in Munich
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#155 of 390 in Munich
283 reviews
0 mi away
Germania Hotel
Germania Hotel
#147 of 390 in Munich
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Munich City Olympiapark
0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#17 of 390 in Munich
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiente Hotel

Address: Schillerstr. 12, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambiente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Ambiente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiente Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing