We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Ranked #57 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    906
    241
    66
    31
See reviews for
399
726
145
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel is located close to the Munich Hbf train station so is good if you are coming to Munich by train late or using the train alot. Its on a street with a number of other hotels and hostels - theres heaps around the station. There's a Lidl supermarket at the end of the street and another nicer one (Rewe) also close by.

We had booked directly with the hotel a room with two queen beds and had been assured that securing a quiet room away from the street (see other reviewers comments) would not be an issue. On arrival we were given a room which faced the street and was directly opposite renovation/demolition work (with those plastic bucket slides leading to big metal skip bins on the street). We were then offered a similarly positioned room on the smoking floor. Only after further discussion were we offered a room with a king bed overlooking the courtyard which we grabbed. This room was reasonably quiet though may have been near the cleaners supply room as there was a fair amount of noise from 7.30am onwards.

Rooms were a good size, beds comfy, blackout curtains ensured it was super dark, water pressure and shower were great. Decor was a bit boogie nightsish. Minibar was free (beer, juice, champagne and pretzels) which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was included in the rate and there was a good selection of foods offered (yoghurts, cereals, breads, eggs, some hot foods, juices, and various potted teas, coffee and hot chocolate.

While its convenient to the station and if you have a room overlooking the courtyard it OK, we'd stay somewhere next time.

Room Tip: Avoid staying on the street side at all costs. Rooms overlooking the courtyard are best. Also try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandB-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear SandB-Syd,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences during your stay in the Mercure Hotel Munich City.
We are glad that you enjoyed our room size and our copiuos breakfast buffet.
The renovation works across the street are only temporarly and we are in steady contact to the workers to keep the noises to a minimum.
We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next visit in Munich.

Sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed there for two nights from the 24Jan, the hotel is in a good location only 100 yards from the main train station the hotel is a 4 star and is to a very high standard and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room 302 was at the front of the hotel and the noise from the street kept us awake most of the night, below our room was a Turkish tea room which was open all night and next to the hotel was a Youth Hostel, the room had double glassed windows but with all the noise you would have thought that the people were in our room. Our friends had a room on the 7th floor and they did not hear any of the noise, if you get a room on a higher floor or at the rear of the hotel then you should be OK. I have rated this hotel as average but this is only down to our sleep quality all rest was excellent.

Room Tip: Book a high room or one at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seinajoki, Finland
Level Contributor
263 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Good location, carparking just "next door" and uder hotel, room was very good and big. Only morning 05.15 somebody moving loundrytrolleys and that was noisy,
Hotel side street on duty vague peoples asking cigarettes.

Room Tip: Ask room street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J11P33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear "J11P33",

thank you for sharing your experience concerning the Mercure Hotel Munich City.
We apologize for the early noise that you heard and already contacted the
Delivery in charge to not let this happen again at that time in the night.

We are looking foreward to welcome you back in Munich
sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife and teenage daughter from 12/23/13 thru 1/3/14. Room was large, especially by European standards, and accommodated the rollaway bed easily. Daughter (and I) appreciated the free wifi - good for basic tasks...heavy video users have option to purchase faster wifi, did not use. Free mini-bar - includes 2 beers, small wine, waters, juices, and pretzels. Refilled daily if consumed. Nice. Super front desk staff - especially the girls who were always smiling and helpful to needy American tourists like us - all with fine English. At check-in, you want to ask about included breakfasts - ours was b/c we joined the free accorhotels frequency program. Served until 11am (noon on weekends) and really good. Fresh eggs, fruit, salmon, breads, cold cuts, etc. Easy and fast for days you had somewhere to go - and a huge money-saver if included. Bathrooms are modern and spacious, inc. hair dryer. Full-sized grocery store is just a 1/2 block down the street (opposite direction from train station). If on foot, find the nearby places to go underneath the streets to emerge at the train station or city center. Subway is clean and frequent. One incident at the hotel was promptly resolved when brought to the attention of the manager, Ben Heydweiller. My impression of the hotel after 12 days was that it is well-managed and competently staffed - refreshing. Heartily recommended if you are visiting Munich for a day or weeks.

Travis Turner
Norman, Oklahoma, USA

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travisturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear TravisTurner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Hotel.
It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel and I would be happy to welcome you back as soon as you visit Munich again.
Concerning the incident I personally thank you for your friendliness during our conversation and I am happy that you gave us the chance to solve it.

sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#32 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Aloft Munich
Aloft Munich
#23 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Munich City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Property: Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Address: Senefelderstr. 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#46 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing