We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Drei Loewen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drei Loewen Hotel
Ranked #100 of 382 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We've stayed here many times in the last 23 years and weren't disappointed on our latest visit. It's a smart, clean hotel with large rooms, friendly & helpful staff on reception and a superb breakfast buffet. We had a couple of small problems with our room and these were sorted very quickly and efficiently. The location is just right - the main railway station is round the corner and it's an easy walk to Karlsplatz/Stachus and the main shopping area. Don't be put off by the odd comment about the 'red light' district - the occasional sex shop in the vicinity doesn't make it unsafe or undesirable, these things are always present near railways stations but Munich is a very civilised town and there's no bad atmosphere around the hotel whatsoever, just a bit lively when Manchester City fans are in town for a match with Bayern Munich!

One small criticism: whilst the wifi signal in the hotel was good, the broadband speed was not. During our stay it frequently cut out and speed was measured between zero and 1.5mgps.

This hotel is fully recommended and we will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basilfawlty826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    243
    130
    18
    24
See reviews for
70
174
44
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Salford, Manchester, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

As the title says ... Another excellent stay at the Drei Lowen :-)
Great quality hotel in a perfect position to explore Munich. 3 minutes from the Hauptbahnhof Central Station where the train from the airport takes 45 minutes to get to. Good quality rooms and great breakfast including omelettes made to order. Ten minute stroll to Karlsplatz then on to Mariansplatz. Third stay and never a let down. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coombsy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

On arriving at this Hotel we were disappointed to learn our requests were not granted. We asked for rooms on the same floor or near to one another as this was a special occasion. A surly man checked us in & never apologized for the fact one room was on the first floor and the other the 3rd. On arriving to our room on the 1st floor 3 bulbs were out in the bathroom one over the shower which made it very dark being a miserable December day. We reported this to reception & was told maintenance didn't work in the evening. The next morning we filled in the card provided to hang on our door if there was a problem that needed sorting & also reported it again to the miserable man on reception, who we later found out was the General Manager. Needless to say the problem never got sorted out as maintenance seemed non existent in this hotel, so we struggled on with no light. In an evening there were 2 young girls manning reception who were helpful & friendly, shame the GM can't take a leaf out of there book. All that said the Hotel is in a good location with the train station very near the hotel, also easy walking distance to all the attractions. Breakfast was just OK again unfriendly staff doesn't start the day well. Germans seem to have a real problem serving the public politely or is it just the English they struggle with?. Munich is a beautiful City & it is such a shame ignorance & rudeness spoiled our trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

We recently had 6 nights here to explore and see the Christmas markets. It was booked through the Avios scheme together with our flight. All staff were efficient and helpful. We asked for a room on a high floor and it overlooked the rear courtyard. A double door between our room and the corridor ensured quiet and the room was comfortable and big enough. No ceiling light did make the room a bit dim but the bathroom was bright with a individual lit makeup light. There was no safe in the room but I think reception had one if you needed one. Location was excellent, close to the main station and tram stops. Other reviews have commented on casinos and a strip bar which were opposite but did not cause any problems and were quite discreet anyway. Breakfast was great, hot and cold foods and plenty of it. Staff would bring coffee or tea to your table, incuding latte, cappuccino etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GizmoPeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Drei Loewen hotel in central Munich is exactly the average hotel to stay for 1-2 nights during a business trip. Not much, not less. The place is terrific. Everywhere around there are casinos, strip clubs, buy gold shops and lots of kebab or other ethnic food stores.
Inside the hotel is typical without anything to remember in the entrance when you will leave except the friendly persons at reception.
I booked a single room. It was in the first floor with a insensibly view to the inside atrium of the hotel. The room was small without enough closets, a small desk (there was space only for a lap-top), with no air-cod and just a heater well hidden under the curtains (you have to ask the reception to found it). The bathroom is bigger than the main room. Clean...
The breakfast buffet is above average with a variety of foods. Always when you have the opportunity to order your eggs and see the cooking in front of you is a good sign.
Not recommended for more than 1-2 nights

Room Tip: The main train station is just 3 minutes away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkar1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The hotel is 100 metres from the railway station and airport bus stance.
Yes the hotel is near sex shops/strip clubs but the whole area is full of hotels of all types including Sofitel and Best Western.
The bedroom was large and well fitted out with 2 armchairs, safe and flat screened tv. Good free wifi connection. Most bedrooms appear to face into the rear courtyard and our room was extremely quiet.
Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice, including eggs on demand.
The staff were very pleasant and friendly.
A warm spotlessly clean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helendc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Hotel is very nice and very clean when inside, looks a bit shabby from the approach to it though, rooms spacious and good for a one night stay, bathroom very clean. Room was quiet which was good as a red light district outside front of the hotel

Room Tip: One at the back of the hotel then your not overlooking the red light district!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanh194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Conrad Hotel de Ville
Conrad Hotel de Ville
#125 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europaischer Hof
Hotel Europaischer Hof
#64 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Stachus
Cocoon Stachus
#48 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#9 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drei Loewen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drei Loewen Hotel

Property: Drei Loewen Hotel
Address: Schillerstr. 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Drei Loewen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drei Loewen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Drei Lowen
Drei Lowen Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing