We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Hotel Amba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amba
Ranked #344 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights when visiting Munich's amazing Christmas market. Handy location near train station and city centre. Hotel was cheap and cheerful. Rooms were small but adequate. One euro mulled wine in reception was a treat. Chose this place because as we were on a budget and not because we wanted a glamorous room and it fitted the bill.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here with family for a couple of days. The room was quadruple and this just meant that in a regular "double" they managed to squeeze four beds. After that, walking around the room (actuially as any other movement) was practically blocked.

Add to this shaby interior, abcense of shampoo amenities, absense of bar in-house or at least tea/coffee station in rooms. To have some coffee or tea or even water, you have to dress up and go to the street.

Our room was faced to the street. As the windows are not sound proof, it made us clearly hear various noises from passing trams and operating Hauptbahnhof (Main Railway station) all night long.

The breakfast variety and food was good though (was paid separately 9 Euro/person, kids up to 12 y.o. for free). Internet (Wi-Fi) is charged some symbolic 1Euro per day or so.

The only and really serious advantage of this hotel is definitely its location, which allows you to rich old town area, metro station or Main railway station within few minutes, I believe, for someone, this advantage will outbalance all discomfort.

Take care

Room Tip: Look for the room faced to backstreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilyas03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Title says it all! Stayed the last week of May 2013 for 6 nights. The room was small, but the bath was modern. Wi-fi was a small, reasonable charge through paypal and accessible in the room. Breakfast was included and had a very nice variety of fruit,yogurt, muesli, cheeses, cold cuts, great coffee, juices, toast, pastries every morning. The main train station, Hauptbahnhof, is located across the street and from there you can go anywhere. Car rental was also within 3 blocks.
We booked a day tour of Ludwig's castles and the meeting area was within the block for the tour buses.
You can view our room here: http://youtu.be/qEUAsiSWiF0
Americans.. Ice is not an option! We ended up buying ice (4euro/3lbs) at the Rewe grocery in Karlstadt along with drinks and water for the room. There is not a mini fridge in the room. A good excuse to shop for food souvenirs, too! Great candies and condiments in tubes. Also, a huge selection of liquor and wine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for just one night during the Oktoberfest - reservation was possible even on short notice (lucky us). The location is fantastic, right beside the main train station, but unfortunately walls and doors are slim, so some talkative Frenchies let us participate early in the morning in their talks. The room is rather small (barely space for the bed) and a mirror is missing in the room - bathroom on the other hand was a very positive surprise, clean, modern, nicely designed (no shampoo amenities though).
Cannot judge F+B as there is a bakery right outside and we got to go. Check-out was fast BUT: we booked special fare online (which was on the bill), but paying by credit card the lady charged me the regular price (20€ more) - which I did not realize before being long gone. Shall not be any assumption to a trick - the next day we went back and they promised to book it back to the credit card. Should hopefully be alright.
I guess for such an event we'd come back due to the great central location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chliinihex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location with decent rooms. Location is the best as it is opposite the Munich railway station[HBF]. Karlstadt is on walking distance and shopping areas are in close proximity. Rooms are small but comfortable and Wi-Fi is accessible only in the lobby. Well connected by Tram and buses and of course the metro.

Room Tip: Select any room. all are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked three nights during our Europian vacation, but ended up coming back for two more on the way home. Great location. Close to everything you want to see. Across from the main train station if you are taking "side trips". Very helpfull stuff. Hop On-Off bus stop one block away. 5-6 large breweries within walking distance. Hotel could use some renovation, but is very, very clean. There are bakeries, restaurants and fast food places all around. We traveled with three children and we would definatelly recommend this place. Great value for your bucks. Even with kids (5 of us) the room was comfortable. Hoping to go back. Would definately use the same hotel. Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Hotel Amba is a 3 star hotel in the heart of Munich just opposite the main train station. You can also walk to the important sights very easily. So i can say that the location is perfect. İt is also a very clean and comfortable hotel. İt is not a luxury hotel at all. The furniture is really old fashioned. But still it is very comfortable. İ slept like babies which happens very rarely when i stay at a hotel. The personel was perfect too. They were very helpful and friendly. They said hello to us whenever they saw us. They always smiled. İ can also say that the breakfast was very good because in Europe you can rarely find such a good breakfast buffet at hotels. So yes, i recommend this hotel without any doubts. İf the price is ok for you, dont hesitate to choose hotel Amba..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Muenchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#202 of 388 in Munich
551 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#171 of 388 in Munich
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Westend
Hotel Westend
#288 of 388 in Munich
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dolomit
Hotel Dolomit
#267 of 388 in Munich
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#124 of 388 in Munich
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amba

Address: Arnulfstr. 20, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £39 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amba 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Amba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amba Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing