We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location Large Room”
Review of Hotel Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Daniel
Ranked #194 of 383 Hotels in Munich
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location Large Room”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was better than I expected. The location is great, a 10 minute walk to the Marienplatz. The parking ls located on the block before the hotel, and the garage was fairly cheap, 6 euros a night when we were there. The rooms were clean, and large for Europe. I would compare this hotel to a Comfort Inn in the US. The breakfast was extra, 9 euros per personand not worth the money I thought. There is a McDonalds right around the corner. Within walking distance to major attractions and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: choose a room on the back side, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_D_M06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    139
    119
    41
    17
See reviews for
78
124
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our trip to Munich coincided with a large equipment manufacturers exhibition and despite booking 2 months in advance space in hotels in the city centre was very scarce and hotels were charging at least twice the normal rate. Never the less we booked a double room at Hotel Daniel due to it's proximity to the main train station and the central pedestrian area. Upon checking in (and we did not check in late) we were told the only room they had was a small twin room. This turned out to be no more than a broom closet, the windows "looked" out to the corridor. Despite temperatures in the mid-20s the air conditioning in the hotel was not working. The broom closet windows had shutter for privacy that simply added to the claustrophobic feeling to the "room" and killed any potential air circulation. It is beyond comprehension that they have the gall to rent this "room" never mind charging $300! The receptionist was somewhat apologetic and promised to move us for our 2nd night. She duly did and for our 2nd night we got a very nice, recently renovated room on the 2nd floor that looked out over the very busy Sonnenstrasse and the Karlsplatz transit station. The air conditioning still was not working so we had to open the windows and put up with the noise of the trams, cars and 6am street cleaners.

We got not explanation of why our booking of a double room was not honored and we did not receive any price discount. Why is it if the guest does not show they get charged the full rate of the room but a hotel can fail to provide the room booked with absolutely no consequence??

Breakfast was the typically German fruhstuck of bread, cheese and meats. The juice was out of a machine, not fresh. The fruit was old, poor quality and limited selection.

If we had got the room booked, I would probably rate this hotel as a "3". It's location is excellent and the renovated double rooms are decent. Breakfast is marginal. But I cannot recommend any accommodation that lacks respect for it's guests.

Room Tip: renovated double room away from the front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank al500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

There's just no denying that this hotel is in a fantastic location. Right next to Karlsplatz, and a super short walk to Marianplatz, everything you could need in Munich is right at your doorstop. I was in Munich for only a few days, mainly to take a tour out to Neuschwanstein and even the pickup and dropoff location for the tour was close by!

The thing that prevents this from being a great hotel is the quality of the rooms. I found them very old fashioned and musty smelling. Despite being in a non smoking room, the entire floor reeked of smoke which was disappointing. The 'pillows' were lumpy and flat, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The only noise I had an issue with was a very large group of Italian boys on vacation who didn't seem to care about other guests in the hotel. The bathroom was fairly clean, but small and tight. While there was a shower attachment on the bath taps, there was no curtain or partition to stop water soaking the rest of the bathroom!

The breakfast room was clean, spacious and more modern, and the spread was fairly basic, but sufficient.

The staff were really lovely, I had a few conversations with one of the ladies on the front desk and she was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the city and helping me find what I needed. I would love to say I'd be back, but probably not unless I heard the rooms had been renovated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leam312002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for a weekend in December to visit the markets. The location is ideal just minutes walk from the main pedestrian area which leads to the Marianplatz. We walked everywhere and didn't use the train at all. It's quite compact and we booked two walking tours at the Tourist Info office and they gave us a good idea of where everything was.The tours were both very good and we would definitely recommend them. The guides were very knowledgeable and most entertaining!
Food and drink were very good in all of the places we went to. The Hofbrauhous is an experience not to be missed!! Manically busy and you need to be very patient to get a table and quick of the mark if you see somebody leaving! Munich is a great place to enjoy a more traditional feel for the Christmas season.
Wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Daniel. Very clean and staff most pleasant and helpful.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnHMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

the location was great. next to the train station and all the major attractions but It was very noisy outside because it was next to a busy street. No breakfast was included and it was very expensive. The wifi was not free. It cost me 12 euro per day and since there were 2 people in my room and the wifi only worked on one device, we had to pay 24 euro for one night.

Room Tip: don't pick one next to the street. You wouldn't be able to sleep at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I spent a week in this hotel in January and was completely satisfied with its location close to the beggining of the main central street of Munich. The room was very warm but not enough clean and comfortable. I had a single room - it was very dated and small with a small bed. My friends had a larger room for two with a safe-box. There are no any special facilities in the rooms but it's OK if you want to spend the most of time outside.
At first I found the box with someone's lunch leftovers on the window sill. No soap in the bathroom (but some days later it appeared). Only few German TV channels, highly payed Wi-Fi. Other disappointment was the breakfast. Bread, yogurt and slices of sausage. That's almost all. Because of awful coffee and a juice with a taste of water I decided to have breakfast outside. There are a lot of good places with a remarkable coffee and tasty cookies outside.
You can find restaurants, supermarket (working hours from 7 a.m. till 8 p.m.), McDonald's and a lot of shops behind the hotel. And it is very nice. All places of interest and transport is near.
Don't drink €0.80 coffee from coffee-machine on the ground floor - it is just water with a coffee flavor.
The main pro for this hotel is it's reasonable price for its location. Because of it I can chose this hotel in my next visits to Munich.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at Hotel Daniel 3 years ago with the family & enjoyed our stay then so had no hesitation in re-booking again for this trip.
We had a long journey to get here from Australia so the friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms, great location to walk to get a beer and have an early dinner made the long haul worth it!
Breakfast was included for us & good range available.
Very central for all shopping & activities.
Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel in Munich for any travelers.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacqMD3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#46 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wallis
Hotel Wallis
#216 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asam Stadthotel
Asam Stadthotel
#227 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stachus
Hotel Stachus
#164 of 383 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#61 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel

Property: Hotel Daniel
Address: Sonnenstr. 5, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daniel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is steps away from the Karlsplatz (Stachus) square in central Munich and only a 6-minute walk from Munich Main Station. It offers large rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. All rooms at the Hotel Daniel include satellite TV, internet and a private bathroom. Wi-Fi is available in all parts of the hotel. Hotel Daniel is near the Old Town and the shopping streets in Munich's pedestrian area. The Marienplatz town hall square is a 10-minute walk away. The Karlsplatz (Stachus) S-Bahn (city rail) and underground stations are a 2-minute walk from the Hotel Daniel. This provides fast links to Munich Airport and Munich's Neue Messe exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing