We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #77 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I was in Munich for business trip but extended my trip with 3 other colleagues. We were looking for somewhere near city center and booked this hotel because of the positive review in trip advisor. It was per expected, great location, great service, clean and roomy. Our reservation included breakfast; however as we arrived very early on our check in day and would be leaving very early on our check out day, we requested if we could have our breakfast on our arrival day. They were OK without second thought, and even told us breakfast may not be available too early, but we could request for coffee before leaving for airport.
I love the deco of the hotel too, very cosy; breakfast area is overlooking a garden. You can just sit around and enjoy the tranquility while enjoying the food.
The one and only not-so-good thing may be the location of the room. One of our rooms face the road, which was considerably noisy if the window was opened (vehicles, people talking could be heard clearly even at night;); whereas our 2nd room was facing the garden with a great view and was quiet.
Overall I enjoyed my stay in Admiral, and will come back again if I'm in Munich for leisure again, be requesting for room facing garden though :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    148
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
97
172
28
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This hotel does not have many extra frills but it does have:
1. Great location and neighborhood- central to Marienplatz and the S Bahn. You can arrive via S Bahn from the train station or airport, exit the the Isartor stop, and walk the one block to the hotel. Once at the hotel you can walk everywhere- no car or taxi needed and the S Bahn is only a block away.
2. Decor- clean and somewhat stylish- the owner put some time and effort into design. Great high-quality Orientalist prints in the halls and stairs. My mother would describe the hotel as "charming."
3. The staff was polite and professional. They have a skeletal crew but they get the job done. They treated me with genuine respect.
4. Good breakfast- first class. You could pay 20-30 Euros for this elsewhere.
This is a small, quiet, low-key neighborhood hotel: well-priced, centrally located and a good stay for business travelers or tourists, especially mature visitors. There were also several honeymoon couples there and they seemed very happy with their stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meatball68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

The location is quiet, and the hotel is charming, but small and elegant. Rooms very nice and spotlessly clean. Staff speaks good English, and was very helpful. Lovely little garden in the back.

The breakfast was picture pretty, and had a lovely array of anything one could want. Located about 10 minutes from the Marienplatz and the Viktual market, which was very interesting. Really enjoyed my stay there.

Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MsEnergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed three nights and were very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and there are little understated touches, like the high quality sheets, or the bowl of fresh fruit in the room, that make you feel taken care of. Robes and slippers were provided. There was a chocolate on our pillow every night. Good bathroom with quality amenities.
The hotel is situated on a quiet side street, two blocks from the S bahn and centrally located for sightseeing. Our room was on the street side and we did not have noise. We could hear the folks sitting outside at the café next door with the windows open, but not when the windows were closed. We did need to open the windows during the day as the room got a lot of sun and would warm up. There was a ceiling fan and by night it was fine – but in the summer it could be stifling. Our friend had a garden side room with a terrace and did not have this problem.
The breakfast has the most variety of any we have experienced in Europe – and a good amount of it was different kinds of fruit. It was an amazing display and we tried fruits we had never seen before. There are also the usual meats, cheeses, cereals, yogurt, rolls etc.
I should mention the mini bar is no longer free.
Service was very efficient and helpful, but they stay out of your way unless you ask. Then once you ask they will make sure you are taken care of.
My over all impression is of a good quality, old fashioned businessman’s hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Stayed 4 nights in June. The location is great but the service is horrible. The front desk staff was rude and seemed bothered by every question. No concierge so we needed to ask them. Each person was ruder than the next. Breakfast staff equally unfriendly. Towels in bathroom are very thin and we had to repeatedly ask for more towels as we were 3 people. No air conditioning so room was hot at night and noisy as we faced the street and were forced to have window open. Free WIFI is a joke as service is very hit or miss and when you can finally connect, it doesn't last. Nice breakfast but not the best I have seen in Europe. Upon checkout, handed a large bill and not even a "thank you for visiting" Will never stay here again nor will we recommend it to anyone visiting Munich.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I rang this hotel to make a booking and ask if the hotel was air-conditioned [it is not!]. The guy at reception who answered was so rude that I decided to go elsewhere. So --- beware. Not a friendly place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

An excellent hotel. Calm and yet central. Friendly and helpful in English. Description of hotel was very accurate and not at all disappointing.
Breakfast was not only included in the price but excellent. Superb coffee and a veritiable cornucopia of fruit, cereals, breads, juices, meat and cheese. Home made jams clinched this as one of the best hotel breakfasts I have had in the world.
Free wifi was also a bonus these days and worked fine.
I rarely leave reviews but this hotel merits one!
For the type of hotel and the location you cannot fault it!

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#103 of 382 in Munich
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#21 of 382 in Munich
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#13 of 382 in Munich
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
#44 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing