We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #61 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
SPAIN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We liked very much this hotel. It is small, in a nice neigborhood, very convenient to pay visits to many places, The Deutches museum is close to it.
Rooms nicely decoratede with chocolates and fruit.
Breakfast is great. We will go back

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    142
    36
    6
    6
See reviews for
93
166
28
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We picked this hotel based on other reviews and we were not wrong.Peter and his staff are brilliant they could not have being more helpful to us. We will definitely return to this beautiful hotel, its location is very good not far from the Deutsche Museum and the city centre.Overall we had a great time in the Hotel and will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flemo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. The location is good and the neighborhood is nice. The staff was very kind and attentive. The breakfast was delicious - the food selection was incredible - we had the option of eating inside or out on the garden patio. The furnishings were a little old fashioned for our taste, but we enjoyed nonetheless!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This small 22 room hotel is about a 12 minute walk to Marienplatz (the center of things) in Munich. Very friendly staff with good suggestions for restaurants. Elevator nice after days of lugging our luggage up flights of stairs. Room was good size for Europe standards at 190 Euro per day, although bathroom a little small but modern fixtures. Refrigerator in room. Near Parliament, Deutches Museum and Isartor subway stop about 5 minutes. Breakfast buffet was huge--fresh fruit, rolls, meats, cheeses, cereal and a sense of fine dining. Neighborhood restaurants were close and area feels safe. We did have a room that overlooked the street but it was not noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madisongirl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I attended a conference in Munich in the last week of August and chose the Admiral based on TA reviews and the fact that it was a little out of the way and appeared to reflect a lot of the local character. This was indeed a very pleasant stay for 6 days. Very comfortable room and although it overlooked the street noise was not a problem. The breakfast room is quaint and the food itself superb. Staff were always very helpful and communicating in English not a problem.

The hotel is exquisitely furnished and paintings adorn the stairwell and entrance foyer creating a sense of opulence without being overbearing.

It was a 10 minute walk into the town or 5 mins to the nearest underground train station which could then take you anywhere .

The only possible concern is if you were there at the height of Summer and in the warmer nights you might struggle with the lack of air conditioning. The windows do not open very wide and if there were a lot of activities out on the street this might also be disturbing. As mentioned elsewhere asking for a back room looking out over the garden might be partictularly worth while at that time of year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardioKiwitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was a rather sophisticated place after having been "on the road" for two weeks. I was relieved to have the comfortable room and a friendly welcome from a nice young lady who sounded to be American when she spoke in English, after barely scraping by with my minimal-tourist-phrasebook German. Breakfast was a quiet/hushed affair with alot of well-dressed people and a breakfast bar that was overflowing with plump, perfect fruits and berries, a fancy shrimp-in-cream-sauce dish, very good cheeses, little pastries, etc.

The hotel is fairly close to Marienplatz and although I've seen some gorgeous sights in my travels, I wasn't prepared for Munich's Rathaus......overwhelmingly beautiful in the sunlight and there were violinists playing Pachelbel's Canon in D in front, and later, musicians playing high above the streets in a bell tower. The hotel is also fairly close to the Isartor metro station.

One thing to be aware of related to this hotel is that on Sundays in Munich in this area, it's very difficult to find a restaurant open. By then, I had pretty well had it with going around and around in circles all over Munich trying to find medical care on the weekend in (almost impossible due to the lack of services on weekends and made worse by my lack of facility with German and seemingly very few English-speakers in the medical system). When I returned to the hotel in that afternoon, having found nothing closeby open and with a rapidly worsening cardiac arrhythmia (lost heart medications that cannot be stopped abruptly days before) I asked the staff on duty, very frustrated, where specifically I could find someplace to eat, and was told in a rather rude/exasperated way that there were restaurants "in that direction".......I'd already scoured the area and after going back out again to "that direction", there were none except one place that was literally locking their door as I entered.

On the other hand, the kindness and professionalism of night manager Mr. Shahoud Chandry in helping me when the cardiac situation worsened was deeply appreciated. He's exactly who you would want around when you really need help. My grateful thanks.

Room Tip: Mine overlooked the courtyard and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crepes4Suzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a one night layover in Munich. Knowing nothing about Munich I searched TA for reviews. I settled on Hotel Admiral - great choice. Location is wonderful for walking to see the sights. It is located on a little side street, so it is very quiet. We arrived and left by taxi and that was very easy. The bed was very comfortable and room very clean. We had an early departure and we still able to have breakfast. Great set up for breakfast and the marmalade was delicious. If you want to be in the center of Munich, this is a great choice. Staff was friendly and there is a great neighborhood bar right down the street. Full of Munich Olympics memorabilia - we loved that place.

Room Tip: enjoy breakfast and visit the bar a few doors down from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MADforTravelItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#12 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#95 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#16 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isartor
Hotel Isartor
#152 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
#35 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing