We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel away from tourist traffic”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #74 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel away from tourist traffic”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Location is a bit far (15-20min walk) from the city centre and hence, it is quieter and away from the tourist traffic. The lady staff at the front desk were friendly and were eager to serve us throughout our stay. Although we stayed in the suite, its lift only brought us to one floor below our room and there was no porter service to help with our luggage. It would be nice if we were offered some help with the luggage given the steps that we had to climb to our room. We enjoyed our room, which was clean and spacious and very nicely and tastefully decorated. Good breakfast spread in the restaurant that has an outdoor area for enjoying the cool morning breeze.

Room Tip: The suite was a good choice for us as we were traveling with our 9-year old son.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YSLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    149
    39
    6
    6
See reviews for
97
173
29
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

stayed for 3 nights and the hotel is very centrally located. though not on a crowded street. Staff is very helpful , though like any other 4 star hotel in Europe , the hotel is thinly manned, but even then they meet all your requirements promptly

Room Tip: rooms facing the road have a good view, not sure about the rooms on opposite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay. Our room with the balcony was perfect. The breakfast was outstanding especially when we were able to dine outside on the terrace next to the garden. The staff was friendly and out-going. We highly recommend. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyfishingfoscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I agree with what people say about this place.

It is in an extremely nice and safe area. Lots of restaurants a block away. It's about 100m to the river and maybe 200m to the Deutsches Museum. The famous Marienplatz is less than 1km. And there is even a great laundromat 2 blocks away.

A real bright spot is the staff. Simply wonderful and friendly and helpful. Whenever we had a problem, they were extremely proactive in solving it, even if it had nothing to do with the hotel.

I also liked the feel of the hotel. We're not modern, antiseptic big-box hotel fans. We prefer a smaller hotel with character. But we also really like things like WiFi. Could a couple of things in the room be updated? Yes, of course. That's almost always true. But I definitely would not call this place tired.

The breakfast is very good. I'm not a jam person, but the jam they make (yes, they make it) is really, really good. And if you watch the staff closely at breakfast, you can see the level of effort they make in details that many people wouldn't even notice. And I think it's this level of detail that makes this a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuansooJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

If you are looking for a Moderately priced hotel in the perfect location for sightseeing, restaurants, and transportation this is the place. First of all I can not emphasize enough the excellence of the staff. On top of that the rooms are good sized and very clean and comfortable. You also get a wonderful breakfast included in your stay. The only thing they don't have is a Spa. :-). There is a beautiful garden out the back of the hotel and literally you are 5 min. from most things you will want to see in the city center.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 205 and 206 both were great although 206 is slightly smaller but has a balcony over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirchberg, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel has Been a family classic for some 7 years. There is everything you need- parking, quiet lounge/ library for working with great wifi access, luxury, top-end breakfast, 10 minute walk from the Philharmonie, where world- class performances can be enjoyed. A small, French garden gives kids space to run around. Restaurants close by and good and varied. This hotel should be part of every visitors little black book.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street. When traveling with children, the 6th floor suite is ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is a very nice small hotel very near the Munich Science and Industry Museum. The service was excellent, the room was large and comfortably furnished, and the breakfast buffet was lovely. We walked throughout the city very easily from our location. The train station is a good 20 minute walk so I would suggest a cab from the station if arriving with any significant luggage. The streets and walkways have uneven pavers throughout most of the old city and it might be a little rough wheeling a suitcase for any distance. There is an excellent restaurant around the corner called the Konigsquelle. I was quite pleased with the selection of the Admiral.

Room Tip: We were in a room for two which was quite large by European standards. I did hear someone say they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flomap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 382 in Munich
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#104 of 382 in Munich
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.8 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#126 of 382 in Munich
476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isartor
Hotel Isartor
#132 of 382 in Munich
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Property: Hotel Admiral
Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing