We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the heart of the city”
Review of Hotel Admiral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Admiral
Ranked #85 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Had a great stay at Hotel Admiral in Munich. Fantastic breakfast with a huge selection available. The staff are very friendly and gave me lots of recommendations. Rooms were big and clean, although a little old fashioned.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstyWyllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

A little hard to find but in an ok location. Most attractions within 10 mins of walking.
Rooms are spacious although bathroom very small - hotels should be banned from issuing small towels and I am not a big person! Good size bath towels would be good.
Breakfast was fine with every type of fruit you could wish for and the dining room albeit small, is very nicely presented, almost like having afternoon tea!
Staff were friendly and helpful but did feel it was quite pricey for facilities.
Very clean but could benefit from providing tea/coffee making facilities, really missed not having this option in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minniemoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It seems to be overpriced. Rooms are good enough, breakfast could be better. The only pros is location - 10 min walking distance from the center. Cons. Private parking is ok if you travelling on Smart, otherwise you'd better go 200m to a public place or just leave a car on s street. If your room will face the street, it would be very noisy with open windows, so if you travelling in hot summer, you'd stay away - no a/c! For EUR200+/night you'll easily find conditioned room.

Room Tip: No A/C! Try to take a room facing backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PavelZhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent four nights here over New Year's 2013/2014. I had a single room on the 3rd floor. The hotel is a 12-15Euro cab ride from the train station and sits several blocks south of the Viktualienmarkt in the old city. Walking to Marionplatz takes about 10 minutes. Overall the location is good, not great, but very quiet.

Check-in was very prompt after which I went to my room. Note: this hotel is very grandma. It hasn't be redecorated or renovated in probably 20 years. It's very, very clean but sort of sad in it's dated-ness. The hallways are dark and depressing. I had a good sized room overlooking the garden with a balcony, There was a ceiling fan which I appreciated. The bathroom was very small and the shower, when the curtain is closed, is too dark. Please install a light! Are these reasons not to stay at this hotel? No. they are just here to prepare you.

Breakfast was in a lovely setting and consisted of a vast variety of fruit, breads, cereals and cold cuts. No hot food was offered. The staff in the breakfast room couldn't have been nicer.

Wi-fi was absolutely awful. You need a password for each device and you need to log in after being idle for 10 minutes. Additionally it was super slow. It fit in with the grandma decor.

So why did I rate the hotel as high as I did? I felt very comfortable there and once I figured out the neighborhood the location turned out to be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This little hotel is in the perfect location for downtown. You are about 10 min. Walk to the center and 2blocks from the Deutscheres Museum
which takes a week to look at it all. The breakfast in this hotel is included and is absolutely great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jrotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's not going to win any design awards, it's not hip, it's not trendy but it is a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfy and the breakfast is good. The pub round the corner (Königsquelle) is great and it's an easy walk to the centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightyshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is apparently a purpose built hotel, so all of the rooms we saw were of similar size and shape. We had a double room on the second floor overlooking the street. It had a sitting area with two chairs and a table, and a double bed. It contained everything we needed for a very comfortable stay, and all was extremely pleasant. When inspecting other unoccupied rooms, I noted with pleasure that the single rooms were quite large, as I'm used to seeing minuscule rooms for singles. Therefore, if you are travelling alone- book here! The room had plenty of storage and places to put things. The bathroom was of a nice size with a shower over the tub. The water pressure in the shower was a dream. The toiletries were also very nice and floral scented. Although I would have been thrilled with a room overlooking the lovely garden, we had a view over the street. Even though we had a street-side room, at night, the room was quiet, and I could open the window for fresh air. At the moment, work is being done on the building next door, and deliveries were made at a ridiculously early time in the morning, which I did not fault the hotel for. When the noise began, I simply closed the window, and all was quiet again.

By far, the absolute best thing about this extremely nice hotel was the breakfast set in a beautiful room adjacent to the garden. Even in early November, when we stayed, the garden was lovely. I started my birthday with my first breakfast at the Admiral. What a way to start! All of the tables are laid with pristine white linens. Small flower arrangements grace each table along with home-made jams.The china and silver are delicate, and give an extra fillip to the sense of luxury and refinement. The spread of fresh fruits was amazing. Along with the fruit, which I count as an essential for a great breakfast, were dried fruits, rolls, breads, cereals, ham, cheeses, yogurts, etc., etc., etc. Even though we came down at the tail end of the breakfast period, all of the offerings were fresh and full.
As usual, I disagree with Mr. Steves (who can tell you how to tour 4 cities in one day), and describes this hotel as "boring" (per another reviewer who bothers to read him) Rather, it is filled with blue and white china pots, framed art or art posters, and the little details that make one feel that one is not staying in a chain hotel, but rather a very well cared for small hotel.

The location of the hotel is great. Per the receptionist, you take two rights and then a left onto the Tal, which will take you right to the heart of the Old Town. Just after you pass through the Isartor, you will come to the Tal and almost immediately a gorgeous bakery, which had people lined up outside to ogle their wares. We were in the Marienplatz within 10 minutes. There is also a metro stop nearby, which will take you to the Hofbahnhof, so public transportation is close and handy.

The staff was equally as charming as the breakfast. We arrived early, around 10:30, and without asking the clerk found us a room, and sent us on our way. Every day we met with the same kindness, and were thanked most graciously when we left for staying with them. I highly recommend this hotel for those who wish for space, comfort, friendliness and a fabulous breakfast.

Room Tip: Try for a garden room, if possible. If not, no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berkeleytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 385 in Munich
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#113 of 385 in Munich
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
Hotel Deutsche Eiche
#95 of 385 in Munich
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isartor
Hotel Isartor
#134 of 385 in Munich
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 385 in Munich
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Admiral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admiral

Address: Kohlstr. 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#32 Business Hotel in Munich
#47 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £116 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admiral 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Admiral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing