We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Ranked #96 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The brand would suggest this is a solid and reliable hotel, and the 4* rating would also imply a certain level of quality. Sadly, this hotel disappoints on a number of levels. The lobby is dated and small, the staff are too few in number (always a queue at the front desks whetehr for check-in, check-out or to make an enquiry). Despite having large luggage nobody asked whether I'd like help, and to go to the 10th floor only to find your room card doesn't work is irritating - especially on the 3rd occasion during a 24 hour stay (especially when you then have to queue again to be assisted!).
I booked a double but was given a twin room. Not a major drama, but shows a lack of attention to detail. Internet access is available but at a (substantial) price.
On the plus side, the bar was pleasent and well staffed, the breakfast was substantial and well presented in an attractive dining room. It looks as though some money has been spent recently, but it's wasted without decent staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

Location is slightly out of town although the city is easily accessible by U-bahn.
Exterior is bland but rooms are fine and have balconies.
Breakfast was a good selection although is rather expensive.
There is a pool but I didn't get to use it
Fine for a short stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently on a business trip and expected a bit more from a Sheraton Hotel. Overall the service and the interaction with the staff was cordial. The room even though it it appears that it had been rennovated in the last two years and therefore seemed very modern was not very clean and looked very used. It was nice to have a room with a balcony though, which is a rare feature of business hotels in major cities in Germany.

The fitness center and the excercise equipment was in good condition and provided a nice view over Munich. Although I did not use it myself, the pool area appeared to be a bit antiquated and not a pleasure to spend time in.

The hotel is located in a close vicinity of a subway station which connects you to all of the major locations in Munich. There is a shopping center nearby which is useful for the needs during a business trip. However, this hotel is located in a rather remote location in Munich and it requires time to travel to the main locations by subway or taxi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redwrangler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

This is a Sheraton with no soul. While it looks like other Sheratons the service here and the staff are terrible. They act like the guests are there to serve them rather than the other way around.

Also beware -- this is not what is now called the Westin and used to be called the Sheraton at Arabella Park. It is a much nicer hotel and Sheraton is not making it clear on their website that they moved the name to this much less nice hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 713BizTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Grand_Munich1, Manager at Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your assessment on tripadvisor; we highly appreciate every comment on our hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize - also in the name of all employees - for the situation you were faced with at our hotel. The service you experienced does naturally not correspond to our high standard. The Oktoberfest which is taking place at the moment always entails a certain hectic rush - which is of course no excuse for your negative experience. However, we would be very pleased to welcome you again in Bavaria's beautiful capital, giving our hotel and its staff a second chance the next time you are in Munich.

Best regards,
Management of the Sheraton Munich Arabellapark Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I just spent 3 nights at the Sheraton. The stay was not entirely bad. I was with my brother visiting for Oktoberfest and just needed a place to sleep. I used points and figured how bad could a hotel be if its free. Well I barely slept the entire stay.

The room was a decent size. It had a balcony. The bathroom was nice with excellent water pressure and great overhead shower. However, the bed and pillows were by far the worst I have ever slept on. I have stayed at alot of hotels and have never slept that poorly. I actually slept better on the 10 hr flight to Munich. The pillows are way too soft and the mattress is terrible. This is why I will never stay here again. Also, the TV is probably 20 years old. Its ancient, but they have a new refrigerator mini bar that automatically charges you when an item is moved.

The good part of about this hotel was the location for Oktoberfest. The U4 (Munich Subway) goes from the hotel at Arababellapark Station to Theresenweise in 10 minutes direct which is where Oktoberfest is. Unless you have business in Arabellapark, this is not the best location. The Westin Grand is across the street and is much nicer and has the Heavenly Bed. It takes about an hour to get here from the Airport by public transit. Take the S8 to Karlsplatz and transfer to the U4 to Arabellapark. A Taxi is 55 euro or more.

Did not order room service. The hotel does have a club level with breakfast. The pool was nice and I did go swimming. Also had a small fitness center.

The staff was very accommodating even with all the people checking in and out for Oktoberfest. They all spoke perfect english. Also, I was never once woken up by the housekeeping staff, but room always was clean.

This hotel would have been fine except for the horrible bed and pillows. Unfortunately not being able to sleep is a big deal.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPMGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Like another reviewer mentioned, there's no luggage service, and the bad first impression continued from there. Lobby decor is dated, a bit cluttered and small for a 400+ room hotel. The check-in personnel was harried and had wrong information that made me almost switch from my Executive Room to a standard (good thing I didn't - read on...). Elevators are cramped; they're at full capacity with 2 skinny people and 1 piece of luggage.

Then there are the details, or lack thereof: no robes or slippers; no wi-fi in rooms (and the LAN charge, at 19 euros a day, is nearly double what I paid at a less pricey Munich hotel); TV is the old, analog type; stains on carpet; torn drapery and upholstery; and the balcony, while spacious, has ugly netting over it and lacks any seating. The photos on the website of the sleek and trendy room were probably accurate about 10 years ago.

On the upside, the bathroom is cool and modern, and the bed is comfy.

All in all, this place needs a major renovation and join the 21st century, especially if it's catering to business travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretha-Burchard, Manager at Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear guest,

Thank you for your assessment on tripadvisor. We are very sorry for the inconvienience you had to endure at our hotel and would like to apologize most sincerely for the situation. The service you experienced does naturally not correspond to our standard. We hope that you are willed to give our hotel and its staff a second chance the next time you are in Munich. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in Bavaria's beautiful capital.

Yours faithfully,

Management of the Sheraton Munich Arabellpark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed twice one night. The outside does not look good. The inside is ok. The lady at the front desk was very fruendly and welcoming. This hotel is in Arabella park, so quite far away from Munich center. There is no real atmosphere in this place, but it is ok for a couple of nights on business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjouve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westin Grand Munchen
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 389 in Munich
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#76 of 389 in Munich
1,267 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#57 of 389 in Munich
1,532 reviews
3.3 mi away
Eurostars Grand Central
Eurostars Grand Central
#44 of 389 in Munich
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel

Address: Arabellastr. 5, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Munich
#51 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#55 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £66 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing