We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Grand Munchen
Nearby Hotels
US$865
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$206
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
LOUIS Hotel(Munich)
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen(Munich)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,708)
Filter reviews
1,708 results
Traveller rating
681
666
223
85
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
666
223
85
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaulaner restaurantzen restaurantthe club loungearabella parkstarwood hotelsbusiness hotellarge hotelhigh floorsteam roombavarian stylecity centrean upgradeenglish gardenbeer gardenlobby barbusiness tripbreakfast buffet is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 1,708 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2011

One of the few luxury hotels that was good from start to finish.

Loved their beautiful rooms (loovvveedd the bed), their bath, service. everything. It was the last of 8 days trip to Germany/Austria and we were heading back to India so tiredness set in & we really needed some pampering & boy did this hotel make our last day in Germany worth while.

I can never ever forget the elaborate tasty breakfast spread. My oh My. Wish I could've had the time to click pics and upload em here! From Seafood to all varities of sausages, salamies, 20 kinds of fruits, 10 kinds of juices, all kinds of bread and 5-6 live counters -it was truely a hard to forget fond memory. :)

Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter-Saabrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Your first Kiss like your First Love are often the ones that seem to vanish before you truly appreciated them.

In passing, the Westin in Munich was like that fond memory, truly wonderful and lingering but one you truly appreciate only when you come to your new love and realise what you're truly missing out on.

Having passed on the Westin for my second trip to Munich since its not as centrally located, I truly appreciated what the Westin truly offered. FIVE Star service in a city where most hotels couldn't be half as bothered.

The drawbacks of the Westin were its location (quite far off from the city centre), the quiet (a little too quiet in spite of Oktoberfest) and the lack of Buzz around the hotel. Whilst the Hilton gave me all of that in extreme, I truly realized how bad a decision I had made.

I truly yearned for the wonderful front desk at the Westin, the smiling staff, the personalized touch, the attention to detail, Westin Heavenly Beds, Shower, Spa and everything that makes the brand bespoke.

If you are visiting Munich and are at Crossroads between location and comfort, I would suggest Comfort and nothing beats the Westin on that account.

Kudos to the team at the hotel for making me realize how much work you put in on so many levels that most hotels in Munich simply choose to ignore.

Room Tip: When in Doubt, seek a Westin out!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank il0ve2travel005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

On the face of it there's nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, but I just had one too many disappointments during a two night stay to really feel this was anything but an average 4 star.

Positives: Good breakfast - the only thing that reminded me I was in Bavaria, with some local juices, breads, jams and honeys alongside all the usual extensive buffet breakfast items you would expect from a top end hotel. Room itself was generally comfortable with good storage, decent sized safe and workspace.
Negatives: Non-smoking room requested was not available, sink in bathroom was blocked (though fixed promptly upon reporting it), king bed requested was not available, offered twin instead, Interet cost EURO 16 a day for the 'economy' service, no free-wifi even in public areas so you are forced to pay this, and worse still having paid for 24 hours of wifi on my last day of the conference, it was cut off as soon as I checked out the room after 3 hours (as wifi acess linked to room number). Service in the bar was a little slow but at least friendly when it arrived. I tried to access BBC via the TV and it wanted 6.50 a day to watch it (was later told that is was availabe for free on the 'local channels' selection, but TV menu is set up to make you think otherwise and rob you unncessarily. Bottle of mineral water in the restaurant was apparently EURO 9.50. Given the rooms weren't cheap at 144 a night (for one of the cheaper rooms on a group rate) they don't miss a trick to charge you for anything they possibly can, which I always feels can take the edge off a good hotel.

Room Tip: The have lots of floors of regular rooms, a few SPG floors and a few Westin Club floors. I would get as high up that list as you can. Not a lot going for the cheap rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here for a conference, looks like a 1970's car park from the outside, decor inside was better but it dispelled the stereotype of German efficiency. Tap in the room leaked, the wifi didn't work and the reception staff just kept saying it would be fixed in half hour - it wasn't. Remote control on the tv didn't change the channels it just came up with a message saying the battery in the remote was fine! Dinner for 1 (2 courses & a bottle of water) was over €50, the water was €9.50 for the bottle! Most of the staff were very curteous and the gym & pool were nice

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinkyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The Westin Grand Munich is a fine 4-star hotel with a large lobby sporting a few classic cars and frequented by airline crews. The front desk can be both friendly and efficient and sometimes just efficient. I had a larger room, comfortable bed, six pillows, two bottles of water, and coffee service on a non-smoking floor. The bathroom was nice, with two sinks, tub and separate shower, but a little cramped (there was a small amount of mold in the shower but that is inconsequential); amenities included the standard three + conditioner, but were not replaced on the second night. It has a large flat screen TV, with a larger number of English channels. The price for the internet is ridiculously high and you will be better off getting it free at Starbucks or at nearby internet cafe's. This hotel is a comfortable high-end American style hotel, and, if you get a good rate, you will like it.

The hotel can be best reached by using the U4 to the end at Arabellapark. When you learn the correct exit next to the bus bays you will walk up the steps to the shopping arcade, and walk through it until you see the Westin to the right of the Sheraton. This is about a three minute walk. The hotel is not near any tourist attractions, but is only 15 minutes on the U4 from Odenplatz, which is. There is free street parking on the side streets.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyguyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews