We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #71 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Westin.

Finding your way to the hotel from Munich Airport is relatively simple and takes around an hour. There is a direct train line to the main station in town and then a simple transfer to another train to the hotel.

There is a short but, easy walk to the hotel.

The train costs around 10euro p/p. We priced a taxi when we checked out and were told it would be between 50-60euro and depending on traffic would take between 30-40mins. We recommend taking the train.

Check in was quick and hassle free. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

We were in a standard room on the 8th floor. The room was a good size with plenty of storage and a king size bed. The bed was comfy and allowed a good night sleep. There are only a few English speaking TV channels, which wasn't an issue for us because we didn't spend a lot of time in our room.

There is a large spacious bathroom with a stand-alone shower, a his and her basin and bath. Our only complaint with the bathroom was the shower leaked rather badly around the seals and the tear drop shower head was faulty and sprayed water everywhere.

We didn’t use the internet but this is available at 12euro per night. There is a business centre in the basement and costs 3euro per 10mins.

The gym and spa is also in the basement. The gym is a good size with modern life fitness cardio machines and weights. The spa is next the gym where you have access to several saunas and an indoor pool and lounge area.

There is a supermarket, several very nice bakeries and a laundry mat nearby, which we found very useful.

There is also a selection of restaurants at the hotel and nearby. We chose to eat in the city centre. There are lots of traditional Bavarian cafes/pubs/restaurants, which we highly recommend.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Westin. The distance from the city didn’t bother us as it was only a 10min train ride to centre of town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

We only spent one night here but wish we could have spent a week. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly, the rooms are spacious, quiet and spotless, and the location turned out to be perfect. While it is not near the downtown area of Munich, the hotel is conveniently close to the Underground stop of Arabella and in 10 minutes you are at Marienplatz. We had a car and paid 20Euros to use their parking garage...although pricey, it cost the same in Amsterdam, Vienna and Salzburg. We also booked a Club Room and enjoyed the Club Lounge on the 23rd Floor offering a panoramic view of Munich.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerwinds59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We booked this hotel for the last 2 nights of our vacation--we wanted a quiet place to relax that wasn't too far away from the airport. I hate to admit it, but we never left the hotel--which is not like us. But it was so relaxing and had every convenience, that we really didn't need to. There are a few food options but the favorite is the restaurant in the basement level--great selection and nice staff. The pool is gorgeous, we must have stayed down there for hours. Our room was a great size and the staff was very nice--down to an ex-pat working as a doorman. They arranged airport transportation for us and provided a perfect, relaxing end to a great European vacation. One last tip, this is out of the city center but I believe close to public transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myra405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I spent two lovely nights at this property and was really impressed by the grandeur of the hotel. The front desk agents were very friendly and helpful. My room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. I ate at the Paulaner Wirthaus and was most impressed at the quality and variety of food. There was a great atmosphere in the hotel and Ducktail's Bar was a great place to enjoy a German beer or two! The hotel is a tube journey away from the centre of Munich but the trains were regular and the station is a short stroll from the hotel. I will most certainly stay at this hotel again should I stay in Munich again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

As most of the other reviews say, the hotel is very nice. The location is not downtown Munich - but the Ubahn is close and convenient enough to get you where you need to go.

My favorite part about our stay here was visiting the local market right around the corner before we checked out on the day we left - definitely worth a quick look. Amazingly fresh strawberries and all sorts of other fruit, veg and meat!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt987321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Front Desk associates recognized me by name when I checked out. Rooms are very unique.
Close to Tram.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Was here last week on business and was very impressed. From the drive up, to the front desk, to the rooms. All was top knotch. Room was good size, modern. Rain waterfall shower and a fantastic soft bed. Would highly recommend.

They have two nice restaurants and one good bar and hey we're all excellent. They also had a decent bar and gym

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishCreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#98 of 387 in Munich
2,659 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#56 of 387 in Munich
2,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#3 of 387 in Munich
712 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#40 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £107 - £454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing