We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really impressed”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Don't be offset by a strange exterior (I was initially)...
Tha place keeps up the Westin standard - the interiors are amazing, rooms are specious (by European terms) and everything is there just to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
But more than anything I would rate the service - the receptions desk was really friendly and willing to help, not to mention an early check in and a late check out free of charge.
The staff in the bar is great, so is room service. All together the service and care they take of your are good enough of a reason to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ztrel0cK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    611
    196
    70
    44
See reviews for
182
359
136
679
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a three night say here. All of the processes such as check in and out and housekeeping went well. The room was pleasant and well looked after. We arrived well before a time you could reasonably expect a room to be ready and the front desk staff helped us out with luggage, maps, and train tickets into town. What you would expect of a hotel of this grade but not always done well - they did it well and happily. We could have had breakfast then but opted for a tea and coffee in their onsite cafe. We only had breakfasts there during the stay but these were also done well.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gonefishingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After visiting this hotel for more than 28 times over 9 years and they still manage to impress me with keeping their standards higher than ever.The overall experience from check in to rooms, outlets, and other facilities are all exceeding customers expectation.. Friendly and cheerful staff... You can really enjoy your stay and have a peaceful sleep In a very clean and hygienic environment...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were excited about staying at this hotel until we checked in. The process took almost an hour due to the fact that they couldn’t find our pre-paid reservations for 2 non-smoking rooms. One room had smoke smell in it and we were met with hostility when we asked to exchange it. We were met with even more hostility at the executive lounge claiming that only two members in our foursome were permitted to use the facility due to their SPG Starwood hotels status. Most other hotels permit guests that are accompanied by qualified members!!

The rooms were clean and of average size and décor. The in-room coffee maker did not work and did not get replaced as promised, even after 5 days!!!

Housekeeping service was the very good. The front desk staff was sometimes rude and efficient at saying “NO” and “Can’t do”. Not hospitable at all. There are many other hotels in Munich, so stay somewhere else. Very disappointing.

A copy of this rating was send to the hotel manager who has not responded.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bariatricrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel lifts up to the Westin standard. Clean, warm and decent sized.

The location is peaceful, away from the busy city but nearby trains get you to the popular tourist areas in less than 20mins including walking to train station.

Supermarkets, local eateries were plenty. And a big plus is they have a Sixt car rental kiosk right at the hotel. So renting a car and getting around is so much easier.

If you have a few more euros to spare, go for club. They have a nice exclusive club at the top floor. Pretty cool. You should explore.

Visited May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYangTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel is very good, rooms are large and confortable and the breakfast is delicious. Not a luxury hotel, but a very nice business one!
For me, the only "negative" side of the hotel, but not it's fault at all, is that I was in town for the Oktoberfest and the hotel is far from the park! But we took a cab and it was fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillaBuzaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Where do I start - modern hotel with great front desk staff. Excellent room decor, extremely clean and efficient bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is quite a mouthful (pun intended). It's my choice of hotel when visiting Munich in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblyMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 383 in Munich
1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#97 of 383 in Munich
2,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 383 in Munich
670 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#16 of 383 in Munich
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing