We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #68 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My company send me to Munich every few weeks for a business.
And they book me in this hotel many times.

The service is very basic, you do not feel very welcome there.

Any extra service will cost a non reasonable money, like 24h Internet for 16€.
But the worst thing here are the beds.
I have been coming to this hotel every month for the last 5 years and the beds mattress are very old and uncomfortable, when you sleep on them you feel that there is a hole under your back, and you wake up with backaches.

Absolutely not the five star hotel.
If it was my choice I would never stay here.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank saheris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Deas Saheris,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Grand Munich with us. I regret to hear that you did not have pleasant stay the last times you were here. If your company allows you to stay in one of our Executive Rooms, you would get free internet and also access to our Club Lounge. Please feel free to send me an email with your reservation details to see what we can arrange for your next stay so you do not wake up with aches again.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Paul.Peters@starwoodhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here in June and it was everything we expected. The room on the club floor was fine and the food and service in the club lounge was excellent. The location is excellent to get anywhere via the underground which also is very good.

Room Tip: join Starwood preferred guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Tim H,
Thank you for your positive review upon your stay at the Westin Grand Munich. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was as you expected it to be. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Check-in on June 17th, 2014 and Check-out on June 21st, 2014. Reservation for a Deluxe Room # 725
After the check-in procedure there was no one to take the luggage to the room.
Deluxe Room with empty Mini Bar. When asked to turn it on, they replied in a very polite manner:Yes. The Mini Bar was never turned on.
The Deluxe room was not supplied with a luggage rack. When asked, twice, for once more their answer was positive, that they would bring. The luggage rack remained in the hotel's basement, unless they didn't have in stock.
There were no slippers. Asked for and they brought them.
When had dinner on the patio, in the -1 Level and asked for a bottle of mineral water, the waiter informed us that since he was not serving us, he could not bring it. We had to ask from our waiter...A friend of ours, asked a French very polite waitress and she finally brought it. In Westin Hotels in other countries, the employees bring chocolates, ask if the customer needs towels, in the asigned rooms, around 07:00 pm
At the entrance of the hotel there were some sofas and armchairs with coffee tables. Always full of leftover coffee mugs, glasses, and plates.
The worst surprise came when we noticed boxes thrown in the dustbin, in the same area.
The best surprise came when Mr. Jonathan Stewart (employee) noticed them and picked them up, very carefully and took them away.
During those dates there was an international meeting: Cochlear Implants 2014, with 2,300 participants from all over the world. Therefore, security had to be upgraded!!!
In all European countries when there're meetings, as such, security is the first priority. Dustbins are checked on a regular basis.
Owner(s) or Manager(s) should make inspection in other Westin facilities, to understand what I mean. I think that this Westin is understaffed (much less personnel). The existed number tried their best but this is not enough.
This is not a 5* Westin Hotel.
An advise to the Owner(s): You have to give money, when you want to take back...
CJX Athens

Room Tip: Higher floors (17th) have chilled full mini bars. That's what I heard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJX2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear CJX2014,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Grand Munich with us. Even though I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this we use to improve our service. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay and it seems couple of things went wrong. Like you mentioned, we are a 5-star hotel and we work in the service industry and certain things just shouldn’t occur.
As we do not have insight to your booking through TripAdvisor, it would be to receive an email with your booking details. I would like to track down what has gone wrong and therefore be able to speak to the concerning departments. I would appreciate if you give us the chance to learn from the mistakes and that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Paul.Peters@starwoodhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Westin and had a great experience with friendly front desk staff and a good service all round. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Although out of the main city centre, the subway is close by and only 10 minutes away. Train tickets can be purchased through the concierge at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToneSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear ToneSab,
Thank your for the great feedback upon your stay at the Westin Grand Munich and for recommending it. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the stay and had such a great experience with the front desk staff, I will most certainly pass on the feedback to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I can't relate to the strong positive reviews. This is a hotel that has seen its best days, with outdated and used furniture in the rooms that did not at all convey a five star appeal. The TV is relatively small and the picture quality very pixelated. The mini bar was empty and un-chilled. Wifi in the rooms charged at ridiculous prices, 16€ per day for slow 512k speed, broadband speed costs even more.

At departure, I waited 30mins for a taxi. There was a long queue of people waiting, but strangely no one from the hotel to help or coordinate.

On a positive note, staff are friendly and supportive, and the breakfast buffet is very good, albeit expensive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Dubaier_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Dubaier_2012,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin Grand Munich online and for sharing your experience. Although I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that helps us to constantly improve our service for our guests. However, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had to face during your stay and I will definitely discuss the mentioned points with the team.
As the hotel was built in the 70s, we are constantly renovating different areas of the hotel. Just recently we have renovated our Lobby café and restaurant “Grapperia”. We are also looking for a solution with the internet, as we know a lot of guests have been facing problems with the speed. I also understand your frustration about the taxi chaos at your departure, as usually we have a staff member standing outside assisting guests with the cars and taxis.
Nevertheless, I will speak to the team and I hope that for your next stay we can provide you with a better hotel experience.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

No surprises, this is a top hotel, great lobby, restaurant, bars etc. Breakfast with lots to choose from. Spa, exec lounge, etc. Nice gift store with some very nice watches ! Bedrooms are perfect, above some other Westins. Bed sheets and blankets international style (not the German style). Paid near 200 € incl breakfast. Discounts for autoclub members on arceurope.com

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jprbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Jprbrussels,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Westin Grand Munich online. I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay throughout and that you provided us with such positive feedback, which I will definitely pass on to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are international travellers and have used the starwoods and hyatt and similar hotels extensively for leisure and business around the world. Unfortunately the Westin Munich suffers from being rather dated both room decoration wise and atmosphere. The hotel feels that it caters only to those staying and that 'no one' from outside the hotel comes to visit or eat there .... a leaf should be taken from their hotels elsewhere in the world

Our two night stay was ok at best though again with these chains in europe everything is 'penny pinching' charge for this, charge for that (when it should be just included for guests) few amenities provided in room - again vs starwoods elsewhere and especially vs asia

Worse is the breakfast. The customer has NO choice. There is only a buffet. Unfortunately from our view for a hotel restaurant to only have a buffet is unacceptable - there should be a choice given to the guest (excluding room service) and a restaurant should 'cook fresh' for those ordering breakfast off a menu ............. having only a buffet is the same as having a 'canteen' .. you do not stay in a supposed 5 star hotel and then be offered only a 'canteen' for breakfast

If your travelling privately choose a boutique hotel in schwabbing area and skip this OR if you travelling for business stay elsewhere

I had complained at check out and have also subsequently completed the SPG questionnaire on how awful this place is ...... its management needs to spend time at a westin in Seoul, Singapore, Bangkok etc and bring that level to europe

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Noe666,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit at the Westin Grand Munich. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. However I will share your feedback with the team. If you have any further suggestions, please feel free to contact me.
I wish you a great week and best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Paul.Peters@starwoodhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.8 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#96 of 389 in Munich
2,675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#58 of 389 in Munich
2,081 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#2 of 389 in Munich
721 reviews
2 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#76 of 389 in Munich
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £92 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing