We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Each time - it's the Customer Service that makes me stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #52 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Each time - it's the Customer Service that makes me stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

In March I stayed again at the Westin Grand Muchen - another 5 nights - a little business and 2 Bayern Muchen Matches - fantastic service ! The front desk staff is always fast and friendly and the Concierge staff is fantastic - helping with tickets / reservations and recommendations. I probably stay in hotels over 100 nights a year- and I truly feel like 90% of the upscale business stay hotels are the same - but this Hotels Staff and Customer Service really stands out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake_B1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Blake_B1973,
Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear that you have once again chosen the Westin Grand Munich for your stay in Munich. Being a frequent traveler and knowing hotel standards, it is great for us to hear such feedback from you and I will surely pass this on to the team. Sometimes it really is the customer service that can make the difference. If you want to come for another FC Bayern Munich game, you can check the football packages we offer on our website. It contains 2 nights in a Deluxe or Grand Deluxe Room including our breakfast buffet, entrance to the match and a ticket for the public transportation.
Whether for business or for leisure we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    598
    186
    66
    42
See reviews for
175
350
133
660
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We check in and are told that the minibar has been emptied due to the requests of the guests that they prefer to put in the minibar their own things. Hence if you want to order a coke, you need to order room service !

Ok .. now here is the trick ... the coke is for EUR 4.30 ... however when ordering it from the so called 'express service' an additional charge of EUR 5 is added !!!! So one coke is almost EUR 10,- !!!

I have already sent a note to the EU Hotel commission and multiple webpages warning of this fraud. A five star hotel MUST have a minibar and should not charge these abnoxious charges. In addition, these guest requests should be requested in court.

Good luck !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I was in Munich for work and a two day conference at the hotel. It was disappointing to find that both the check in and check out process was so slow and that the front desk staff seemed to be unconcerned.

My room was 1018 and I found the WIFI charges excessive and the room to be rather dusty. I first noticed it when I picked up the phone to order room service.

You need to call Service Express for assistance and it takes them a long time to answer the phone.

All that said, the food was good both in terms of room service but also for our conference and at breakfast.

The hotel service left me feeling that the employee approach to guests is rather cold and slow - a bit of a shame really!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear MalachiWilliams,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Westin Grand Munich with us. Even though we always appreciate feedback from our guests, I regret to hear that you did not have a good experience and found the service rather cold than welcoming. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the concerned departments and let them double check the room again. We sure hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had two rooms for our family. Loved the breakfast. Thomas the concierge was great in arranging transfers, and taking care of our every need. Everyone was professional and efficient. The beds and pillows killed our backs. The pillows are so old they have no substance to them -- they are like pancakes. We asked for new pillows and they said all they could do is put two pillows in one case -- didn't improve things. After our first night my husband and I had horrible backaches. We love the Heavenly Bed so much we have it at home -- there was nothing heavenly about the beds at this hotel.
Ultimately, as nice as any hotel staff is, it's all about the sleep quality! Please fix the beds to make this hotel five stars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lalawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear lalawoman,
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at the Westin Grand Munich with us. It’s great to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast and that Thomas was able to arrange the transportation for you, but at the same time I regret to hear that you did not have a good sleep and that you backaches next day. As you mentioned, sleep is one of the most important factors, especially when you don’t sleep at home, but I appreciate the feedback you have given us and I will discuss it with the team.
We look forward to your next stay and we will do our best to provide you with heavenly sleep.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Westin Grand is situated to the East of the city, easily reached by tram, U-bahn or bus. It's situated in a business area but there are a few small shops nearby. Transfer time (by train and U bahn) from the airport was just over an hour. The hotel caters for large business functions and facilities are excellent, with friendly staff who are very knowledgeable and seem to have anticipated a wide range of traveller needs. Rooms are large, quiet and comfortable.
There is a formal Asian restaurant, a cosy bar and a beer cellar so plenty of choice for dining. The spa and leisure facilities are wonderful; a choice of saunas and steam rooms, good gym and even the opportunity to borrow gym kit! The pool was closed on the last day of our stay but we were able to use the nearby Sheraton spa (which was also excellent) free of charge. We were able to take advantage of a weekend package, which was very good value, and we will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear smferguson678,
Thank you for your positive review upon your stay at the Westin Grand Munich. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your weekend here and that you had such a good experience. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the team and we look forward to your next Westin Weekend in Munich.
Best regards,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is Hotel is Excellent and above the typical quality of a Westin Grand hotel. The location near (a 5 minute walk) a Ubahn (subway) station made it especially convenient to sightsee around Munich and surrounding areas. Munich's public transportation system is incredible but that is off the topic for this review. The rooms were immaculately clean and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoCarGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Paul C,
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you had a fantastic stay at the Westin Grand Munich and I hope that you liked Munich too. And even though we are not located in the city center, we are greatly connected by public transport. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, I’m sure we can still give you some sightseeing tips.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed one night before I flight back home. Room was very large and quiet, had some food at the bar on the 1st floor, service was excellent and very friendly. After coming back from Paris, I found the rates very reasonable

Would recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arramkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulPeters, General Manager at The Westin Grand Munchen, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Arramkim,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Westin Grand hotel Munich with us. I’m glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you recommend us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards from Munich,
Paul Peters
Complex General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#96 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
2.0 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#68 of 382 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing