We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night sleep on the heavenly bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Grand Munchen
Ranked #63 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great night sleep on the heavenly bed”
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Although this hotel is a little bit out of the way, it was still a great hotel to stay in in Munich. If you fine with taking the underground (U-Bahn) then you really aren't that far away from the center city. The hotel is about 2 blocks away from the arabella park exit. If you go up the right escalator there is a sign that points you in the direction of the hotel. There is also a large grocery store right as you enter the plaza after you exit the U-bahn if you need to stock up on anything. We got a 3 day pass for up to 5 people for 22 euros and had no problem getting to where ever we wanted to go.
The hotel itself was quite typical of a Westin. The staff was very nice and professional and helped us with whatever we needed. The rooms were large with large bathrooms. The heavenly amenities were the same as other Westins which was very nice after 3 weeks of traveling to have a super comfortable bed.
They have a spa down stairs which has a pool and it is free of charge for hotel guests. There is also a paulaner biergarden down stairs which is good if you need something to eat and don't want to go out of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    626
    201
    72
    46
See reviews for
193
367
136
692
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Only stayed there for one night, got the rooms through priceline for a great price. The staff was friendly and helpful. Don't worry about the location. You are minutes away from the train station and just few stops from the Munich City Center. If you do not want to take the train, the taxi ride is around 12 Euros or so. Breakfast was expensive at 27 Euros, however it was very good and service was top notch. There was a conference of some sort the morning and the staff in the restaurant was on top of serving everyone. Very impressive to say the least. I would definitely stay there again for the right price. If you're paying the rack rate, I would definitely look at the hotels closer to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegre8t550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

For anyone who is worried about the location of this hotel (like I was), there is nothing to worry about. It is a peaceful 5 minute walk to the Arabellapark U-barn station and a 10 minute trip into the city.
Breakfast makes a brave attempt at living up to its very hefty price tag (EUR 27).
There is a small shopping centre at the u-barn station for an alternative.
My only complaint is a EUR 6.50 charge for FREE-to-air TV. It also be nice if "business" type hotels such as this included wi-fi instead of charging for it (EUR 17 per day).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzzieBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Recently stayed here for three nights and had a good experience. It was what you'd expect for a 5-star hotel - nice rooms, slick lobby, etc. The rooms were very comfortable (the heavenly beds really are!) and nicely appointed, but nothing out of the ordinary or super-luxurious. The hotel itself is about a 15 minute ride on the U-Bahn from the city center but it was easily navigable and there is a stop close by the hotel. If you're staying out late in the city (which we did a few times) you should count on taking a cab back - the only drawback.


I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaltimoreFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I was in the mood to go see Christmas markets, so I booked and completed a three night stay at the Westin Arabellapark at the end of November, 2009.

The most important question (or worry?) that I had regarding the property, after reading all the other reviews here, was Arabellapark's remoteness and how easy it was to get to & from the center or town and how long it would take. So here's that question answered straightaway: the Westin really IS out in the middle of nowheres (i.e. there's a few shops & cafes in the office-type buildings that surround you as you do the 5-10 minute walk between the U-Bahn station and the Westin), but to get to town on the U-Bahn takes only about 20-25 minutes, if everything is running normally. It'll be two trains to get to Marienplatz (with two places where you can make a transfer).

As for taking the train between the airport and Arabellapark, that's more like just over an hour (but again, only two trains.... the S-Bahn line from the airport transferring to the U-Bahn line that goes to Arabellapark). Judging from the number of uniformed flight crew I saw at the hotel, I think the distance to the airport can't be all that major and so I wondered if it would've been smarter for me to just have taken a cab (since the train basically takes you into the center of town when both the Westin and the airport are in the same general direction).

I paid a bit extra over the regular room rate in order to book a "executive club" level room which ended up being on the 19th floor of the tower. The benefits for booking in this level included free Internet (which I've found to be extremely expensive when purchasing ala carte in upscale hotels in Europe) and lounge access. Turns out the lounge was closed when I arrived (more on that in a bit), but instead they threw in breakfast and appetizer hours in the evening in a side bar off the Asian restaurant. Other non-published benefits for "Executive Club" level rooms include free overnight shoe shine and free dry-cleaning and/or pressing of a single shirt each day, which I did use one night (the dry cleaning and pressing saved me over 10 Euros right there). For those people who stay at Starwood properties too often (i.e. "SPG Elites"), my SPG Gold membership did not add on any obvious special benefits.

Now, about the room itself:

As with most modern tower type hotels I've seen, my room wasn't super big, but it did seem well appointed. A nice work area, minibar fridge hidden behind one panel, glasses hidden behind another panel. The closet had a nicely sized room safe (with a power outlet inside it to charge your laptop or mobile phone). All the plugs in the room were European style. The coffeemaker in this room was a Nespresso machine, which I've never tried before. Looks super easy to use, though.

Windows on the 19th floor can be opened, slightly. Which was really welcome because the climate control kept the room extremely dry & stuffy and the "cool room down" setting didn't seem to actually do anything, regardless of which level (low, high, etc.) we set the fan at.

Bathroom had two sinks, a bathtub and a separate shower stall. Shower stall has curved glass doors. Very nice to look at, but not big enough for two (in the practical case you want to save water :-). In-room hair dryers were very frustrating to use, as they are't really very strong and they also require a strong thumb to keep the button pressed on to keep the thing powered and drying hair.

A complimentary larger bottle of water was provided in our Club level room and was replaced each day. Staff arrived on the evening of the first night to drop off a welcome gift of some fruit and they cheerfully provided another bottle of water for the evening when asked.

Newspapers left outside some rooms were all Deutsch. Even though my confirmation e-mail specified "daily newspaper", there were no English papers delivered to guest rooms from what I could tell. The only English newspapers I saw in the entire hotel were downstairs right inside the door at the restaurant where breakfast was served.

Spa was booked solid on the Sunday morning we arrived (apparently this newly renovated place has become very popular with both guests and non-guests). I had sent an e-mail to the spa a few days prior but didn't get any response (may have been because they were already very well booked). We did manage to secure a 30 minute massage appointment at the last minute, but we certainly didn't have our choice of availability & treatments. So if you want to do something at the spa, I'd recommend booking ahead of time and if they don't e-mail a response promptly, I'd suggest calling in.

The club level lounge has been under construction starting this past October and will be relocating up to the 23rd (top?) floor. Wish I had known this before I booked the Club Level room with Lounge access. They made up for this by offering Lounge type tidbits and drinks in a side bar next to the Asian restaurant from 6 - 10 p.m. Different hot & colder items each night (miniature salads, desserts). Like every other Westin Lounge I've been to, traffic comes and goes in cycles and it can become very crowded and the serving plates can sometimes take what feels like an hour to get refreshed. Breakfast buffets (also included in my rate since the Club Lounge was being renovated) were very thorough. A station for fruit, another station that has different kinds of cheeses & fish (Salmon & Herring), breads & cereals, and the kitchen has a serving area from where one can get hot items (Vegetarian Samosas & Spring Rolls, Broccoli, Sausages, etc.) and also custom made items (omelets, eggs prepared your way, etc.)

There's scaffolding up the length of one side of the hotel tower. On the day I departed, two of the four guest elevators in the tower were out of service, making going up and down the tower extremely slow and crowded. One afternoon there was exceptionally loud drilling happening somewhere next to my room. I asked at checkout time when construction will be finished and they said "1st Quarter" of 2010. Not sure of exactly what date they had in mind, but this is just a F.Y.I. for anyone considering a stay.

I spent 250 € per night for the room (where I think the cheapest room available via the hotel's website was maybe 180 €) and felt that what got included for us was a relatively good value. Of course it makes me a bit jealous to see people reporting room rates of 99 € from discounting/wholesaler websites, but the extras that were offered in the club level (food, water, free internet, extra amenities) made up for feeling burnt about the rate.

Ah, another helpful hint for getting around Munich: I bought the 48 Euro three day "CityTour" card (which allows transit rides for a whole family) at the airport (there is a transit kiosk right before the S-Bahn escalators). In retrospect, it might have been smarter to buy single ride tickets and/or day passes. The value of the pass goes up the more people you have in your family (it's borderline with only two people) and the more often you ride on the trains & buses.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Fulfils everything a 5 star business hotel should in a business like way. Not a true 5 star hotel for luxury or service, but is very adequate for a weekend away or business trip. Booked via priceline for $99 and for that price it is good value. Is not up to Meridien or Sofitel standards though.

Location is OK, subway is 3 mins walk away and takes 10 mins to get to downtown Munich. Would stay again for the price.

Did not try restaurant or

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_sky_thinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

The Westin is quite a fancy hotel with easy access to the Subway - U4 I believe, the Arabellapark stop. The walk to the Subway is under 5 minutes and the subway goes quite regularly so you are in the centre of town in 10 minutes. The hotel is quite fancy and modern looking. The pool area is gorgeous to look at but the water is too cold for an indoor pool in winter. The Paulaner restaurant is great. We ate there several times. Not the cheapest, but good food. Breakfast is pricey if not included in your package. At over 20 Euros I don't think it is worth it. Just grab a coffee and bun somewhere else. Internet is unreasonably expensive - 10 Euros for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#62 of 382 in Munich
1,941 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Munich
Le Meridien Munich
#100 of 382 in Munich
2,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muenchen Palace
Hotel Muenchen Palace
#5 of 382 in Munich
685 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Munchen

Property: The Westin Grand Munchen
Address: Arabellastr. 6, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Munich
#27 Family Hotel in Munich
#35 Business Hotel in Munich
#36 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#58 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Munchen 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a new passion at the Westin Grand Hotel in Munich. Located in the district of Bogenhausen, the world-famous city with a heart awaits you on the doorstep. With excellent transport connections from your Arabellapark hotel, you reach the city centre in just a few minutes and enjoy the very best Munich has to offer. 627 comfortable rooms & suites as well as the Westin Club invite you to stay a little longer and forget your usual day-to-day routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Grand Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Munchen Hotel Munich
Westin Hotel Munich
Westin Grand Muenchen Arabellapark
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing