We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, but clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Ranked #52 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
407 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Disappointing, but clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel was part of a tour package. It is booked as a 5 start hotel. Let me tell you, by American standards, it is not. It was a nice enough hotel and if we hadn't been expecting so much more, it probably would have been fine. We didn't enjoy the food at the restaurant there, but in all fairness, we're not that fond of German food. The rooms were clean and the beds were okay. You could do better, but you could certainly do worse. This was in a safe part of town and centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c685710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander_Bieber, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear “c685710”,
Thank you for your stay with us and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
I am very sorry to hear that your expectations could not be met as you were expecting to stay at a 5 star property. The Sheraton Munich Westpark Hotel is a 4 star property and should not be sold as a 5 star hotel through tour operators. Would you kindly get in touch with us and let us know how you had booked your stay? westparkmuenchen@sheraton.com This would give us the chance to follow up on this matter in order to prevent further guest being disappointed solely by the fact of expecting something different.
Looking forward to further feedback from you.
Warm regards,
Alexander,
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    522
    134
    29
    14
See reviews for
196
372
72
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great location in relation to Oktoberfest, it is about 20 mins walk. The rooms are clean and spacious. We really enjoyed being able to spread out a bit especially after staying in 2 boutique hotels in London and Paris. The staff was very accomodating and we had no language barrier issues as all hotel staff speaks excellent english.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWestpark, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear “Houston_traveler”,
Thanks a lot for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Munich Westpark Hotel for your Oktoberfest visit.
Glad you had a fantastic time.
Warm regards,
Patrizia, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

the hotel has been build in the 1960's/70's and the management tried to boost it a bit with modern design tricks, which are not really convincing.

Hotel is situated in a business district with direct metro connection to the centre.

Rooms are noisy since ours was facing the railroad passing next to the hotel. Blinds could not be opened obstructing the view.

No room service at night which is inconvenient knowing in other Sheraton hotels it exists.

Bed too narrow and no heavenly bed like in other SPG hotels

Room Tip: take a club room to get free breakfast and drinks with snacks In that case you can avoid also th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenTravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWestpark, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear “BenTravels_12”,
Thanks a lot for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at the Sheraton Munich Westpark Hotel.
I am sorry that you didn´t like the exterior of our hotel, the building itself is a little older and I understand your comments. But we are very proud to receive plenty of positive feedback complementing our bedrooms, as well as the look and feel of Sheraton Fitness and the conference area, all of which are recently renovated.
The blinds are controlled electrically from within the room (next to the bed). We would like to check the blinds in the bedroom you stayed in and therefore would be pleased if you could drop us an e-mail with further details westparkmuenchen@sheraton.com Please don´t hesitate to contact our Guest Service Centre already during your stay as we always try to make your stay as delightful as possible.
All our beds are Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. Each of Starwood’s 9 distinct brands has a slightly different version of the same bed. Sorry to hear you did not like ours, it would help to get more specific impressions from you.
We look forward to welcoming you back and being of service to you on many occasions.
Best regards,
Claudia, Housekeeping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We had an executive room. Free wi fi in room and lobby. Good size room, complimentary water in room, which sounds like a small thing but we appreciated it. Bed large and comfortable. We always find hotel rooms too hot and this one was no exception. Big windows to open but couldn't get quite enough cold out of air con. There is a tube station right next to entrance and it takes about 10 mins to get to Marienplatz in city centre. Nice bar and all staff are helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Livibird16
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SheratonWestpark, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear “Livibird16”
Thanks for sharing your comments, delighted the team looked after you well.
So sorry that the air con did not cool down to your satisfaction. Our engineering team is always on hand to help. Please don´t hesitate to reach out to our Guest Service Centre during your stay.
Warm regards,
Patrizia, Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

While this hotel is not located in the heart of old Munich, it is only about a 5-10 min. subway (U-Bahn) ride away from central station. The hotel was literally located outside a subway station - no need to even cross the street. As well, we rented a car for our trip and parking outside the hotel on the street was never a problem and cost much less than the hotel parking (6 Euros for 24 hours on the street versus 20 Euros for the hotel parking). The highlight of this hotel was definitely the very pleasant and accommodating front desk staff and service. Our trip started and ended in Munich so we checked in to this hotel twice, at the beginning and end of our trip and both times, they accommodated early check-ins. As well, upon check-out, when I complained about a very high local call charge that I made from my room, the front desk staff apologized and kindly offered to waive the fee (30 Euros for about 8-9 minutes to a local mobile number). While the exterior of the hotel looks somewhat institutional and the floor hallways could use some updating, the rooms and bathrooms themselves were very clean and modern. As well, the wireless internet signal from our room was also excellent. While the hotel is geared to more of a business traveler, it was just fine for our leisure stay, particularly from a price versus quality perspective. It is also located very close to a beautiful park (WestPark) that was perfect for afternoon runs or walks. There is also a decent coffee place across the street.

Room Tip: We stayed on the higher floors and the rooms were very modern. Not sure if this is the case througho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWestpark, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Travelover007,
Thank you for your post!
It’s great to read that you had a good time here. The front desk team was delighted to receive your positive feedback – many thanks for that!
Our location is pretty good indeed, thanks for pointing that out – as you said, literally on top of the underground station and close to both the city center and the West Park just around the corner.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Greetings from Munich,
Sebastian, Director Guest Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here 3 nights after the Octoberfest. We choosed the hotel for its good TA recommendations, good location also for its being a Sheraton. I can list our disappointments here: 1. Check-in procedure took a while by the new-beginner receptionist. The experienced receptionist should not have forwarded us to her. She should have noticed that we looked very tired and exhausted after a 9 hrs of trip. (But, that was really not a big deal). 2. After the check-in, we have been given the key, we happily went to our 9th-floor room. Then something we have never experienced before has happened. The room was some other customer's room. It's been already occupied! there were luggages of some other customer. First I thought this was a camera joke. What if something were missing in this lucky customer's belongings or we used his toilet harsly ? We just called the reception and waited for the new key. Our new-beginner brought us a new key with her kind appologies. Was it a big deal? To us, yes. Our room's key also would be given to somebody else by mistake. 3. Our new room seemed very comfortable and fine and we almost forgot the wrong-key situation, just until I noticed the broken glass pieces on the floor! We were stepping the carpet with our bare foots, we were lucky that we missed them! (Photos are available).There were no slippers in the room, by the way. 4. The next morning we told the hotel personnel about the glass pieces and ask for a good vacuum cleaining. She said okey. After we back to the room, we saw that only bigger pieces have gone, the tiny ones were still there! We didn't told anything, just avoid not to step on the glass. (Note: During our long check-in procedure, we've been asked if we prefer our room not to be cleaned every day in exchange for a 5-Euro coupon, we said we want cleaning, not the coupon). 5. We used the tea and cofee offerings in the room the first day. Tea were not replenished the next two days. Coffee were replenished only on the third day. Something good: 1. The breakfast was really good, just as in the recommendations. 2. There is U-bahn station right in front of the hotel, the location is very good to reach the city center. 3. The room was large enough. In summary: I think we had expected a higher quality of service from a Sheraton, that could have been the reason why we dissapointed that much. Our level of expectation is now much more lower. We don't want to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: During check-in: Make sure that the room was not some other customer's room and it is well clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gulpern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonWestpark, Manager at Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear gulpern,
First of all thank you very much for staying with us during your recent visit to Munich. We genuinely value our Guest´s comments which allow us to constantly improve our service. I am grateful that you took the time to share your detailed feedback with us and the TripAdvisor Community.

I sincerely regret your unfortunate experience. We followed up internally to figure out how it was even possible that you were sent to a wrong room, especially with the high security standards we have in place. Regrettably two incidents came together at the same moment. The luggage was wrongly placed in the first room by a member of staff and unfortunately wasn´t changed before you checked in, therefore the room looked as though it was taken. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience occurred to you during your stay due to a succession of unfortunate happenings.

Did you know that Starwood developed a program for all guests who want to refuse room cleaning and even get a thank you gift for it? The program is called “Make a Green Choice”. You can participate on 3 consecutive nights and on the 4th day the room will be cleaned. Thereafter it starts again and it`s not available at day of departure. That means if you stay 4 nights you can participate for 3 nights and will get vouchers for these nights. With these vouchers you can chose between 500 SPG-points, 5 Euro for food and beverage or you can donate 5 Euro to UNICEF (amounts are per night). If you want to participate you can either speak with the Front Desk or you can put the “Make a Green Choice”-hanger at your door. I am very sorry if the trainee who checked you in missed the opportunity to clearly explain this program to you.

Please allow me to follow up personally on your stay. To do so, I would like to talk to you, so if you would be so kind to write an e-mail to westparkmuenchen@sheraton.com and tell me how I can contact you, as it will be my pleasure to return your message with a personal call or e-mail. May I take this opportunity to assure you that our hotel always seeks to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service and it is my sincere hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting a Sheraton Hotel during your next travels. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Munich Westpark Hotel in a not too distant future and this visit hopefully leads in an overall better experience for you.

Warmest regards,
Heinrich Dominici
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Centrally located hotel in Munich, ideally located for sightseeing or the Oktoberfest. Only 2-3 underground stations away from the city center. The hotel isn't that nice from the outside but looks recently refurbished inside, including the rooms. I spent my last birthday at the Oktoberfest and was staying at the Sheraton Westpark at that time and as SPG Gold member even got a personal note from the manager (which I do not need!) and a small birthday cake. I would always come back here if looking for a stay at around 100€/nights in Munich. For a budget >170€/night I would always prefer the Sofitel at the main train station.

Room Tip: Higher floor probably always nicer because of the view, but I guess all rooms are pretty the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senator_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
1.2 mi away
K+K Hotel am Harras
K+K Hotel am Harras
#24 of 383 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
angelo by Vienna House Munich Westpark
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Muenchen Arabellapark Hotel
3.9 mi away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#65 of 383 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel

Property: Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel
Address: Garmischer Str. 2, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Munich
#29 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#40 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#51 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Munchen Westpark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Munich
Munich Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing