We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Builders working at 7:30 in the morning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #110 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Builders working at 7:30 in the morning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Do not stay in the apartments at this hotel! They have builders renovating at early hours of the morning and "appartantly" have no control over this. When I asked for breakfast to be thrown in free of charge for the hassle they refused.

In all, we couldnt get to sleep before 11:30 pm because of noisy elevators and racket of guests, and couldnt sleep in after 7:30-8:00 am because of hammers and drilling.

If you need a decent sleep do not count on these apartments at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    242
    131
    47
    13
See reviews for
128
184
55
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our booking was a Hotwire find and it turned out well. The price was reasonable and the Carat is well located. A u-bahn and tram station is at the corner and it's only one stop away from the central station, which can also be easily walked to in about 15 minutes.

While the room was smallish, the bathroom was modern and all was very clean. The best thing: a really comfortable bed with TWO feather pillows each and those great European duvets.

We opted to eat breakfast there, even though it was not included in our room cost. It was a little pricey at EUR 13, but well worth it if you want to treat yourself. From sparkling wine to capuccino, eggs to muesli and everything in between, the variety was great and all was tasty.

Staff were universally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doyouski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Munich is an expensive city. The Carat chain aims to offer an attractive budget option with nicely appointed rooms. In some respects they succeed admirably.

Where they don't succeed: At this location, I saw two rooms, a large and an average sized room. Neither looked remotely like the photographs. Well - like an unremodeled "before" picture. I think their photographer has taken a bit of license with smart-looking accessories etc., things which are certainly not in the rooms (eg stylish pillows etc.). Overall my room was in average condition, quite small and in need of updating the furniture. My business partner had a larger room, for two. Very nicely sized but also tired looking. Just out of date, not in gross disrepair. But it's worth mentioning because the chain's corporate image is very (annoyingly) "young," "fresh" and "now." Um... this property is not really any of those things.

Ok, that said, there are several things that made this Carat Hotel property worth returning to on the condition that I could negotiate a price no greater than around 100 Euros or so. Those are...

1. Service: Well trained, genuinely kind, polished but not stuffy. They engaged me directly with good eye contact, confidence that was never overbearing, and an obviously genuine concern for guests' welfare. You can't fake staff who actually give a darn. They do. The woman who runs the breakfast room must be a secret propagandist for the Bayern Tourism Board. She's rushed offer her feet but never loses her grace or good humor - amazing woman with a tremendously sweet demeanor.

2. Breakfast: Oh how I wish I could have gotten a wee bit of room service, especially as I was on the 7th floor and horribly jet lagged and rushed. But, once downstairs in the light filled and comfortably furnished breakfast room I was coddled. Lovely strong coffee, plentiful pastries and high quality cereals, eggs, smoked salmon, meats, cheeses, and - yay - fresh fruit. Included with room. Five star for value on the breakfast.

3. Location: Quite good, safe (I walked at night once, in search of food - sorry charlie no food on premises after breakfast). Close to tourist stuff, and while on a major thoroughfare, not at all noisy. Street side faces a deep leafy greenbelt which is quite attractive. But it takes some work to find any corner of Munich that is seriously unattractive (I've heard some mention the neighborhood around the Westin is a bit seedy but this has to be the exception to the rule, I think, as it's near the Banhof).

4. Bed: Very comfortable. Firm, but soft on top enough to shape nicely to my aching, jet lagged frame.

5. Bathroom: Well designed, well lighted and contemporary with a nice magnifying mirror for shaving or grooming, as well as the usual essentials. Shower smallish, but I've seen way smaller in Europe. This one is okay even for a woman of 5'10".

How to make this property perfect? Upgrade accessories and curtains for a start (furniture can wait, although it's very dated, it's the soft furnishings that give it away). Give the rooms a bit of "pop," because right now they look dull to the point of old, and your corporate image is anything but. I kid not, place mats at breakfast feature a photo of a huge beaming 20-something blond chick drinking coffee. Like "see, I stay here so it must be really hip and smart, right?" Yeah... not so much. Need to work on bringing the rooms up to the standard shown in the photos. ;) But I forgive all this since the morning meal and its charming waitstaff lady (on rollerskates and speed maybe?) was pretty impressive. Gosh... I bet she could run up curtains and accessories in a month for the entire property. ;)

Room Tip: Warning: 7th Floor rooms require that you walk up a flight of stairs from the 6th floor elevator la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

best breakfast in my trip to Germany.
Everything you can think of was set in front of you. 8 different fruti juices, a wide variety of cheeses, ham and salami, 5 different kind of bread, salmon and really all you can think of. Good quality, room clean and confortable, good location, 5 min walking from center and 5 min from octoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
416 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Within walking distance of two train stations & only about a block from a U-Bahn stop. We stayed here for one night during Oktoberfest. Staff was polite & helpful, room was a little small but we had gotten it somewhat last minute & with the Oktoberfest, there weren't a lot of rooms available. Wifi is free-just get a password from the front desk staff. Breakfast is not included, but apples, chocolates, water & coffee in the lobby are complimentary, & there's plenty of little cafes in the area. Worked perfectly for what we needed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heywood417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed for four days at the Carat hotel recently. The room was quite small and basic,but very clean and the bed was very comfortable. There was air con. and a mini bar, but no safe in our room. There was a safe behind the reception desk. We got our room at a very good rate on the hotel website. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is in an ideal situation,within walking distance of Marienplatz with a subway and tram stop close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lava1dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

In our opinion what defines this hotel it's position. Indeed very close to city center (Marienplatz it's only 10 min. very relaxed walk), U-Bahn is also very close. We've stayed in a double room which was comfortable and clean. Very friendly staff at front desk. Breakfast is good (variety, freshness). What more can we say? A safe stay near City Center.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moruzic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#134 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.1 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#123 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#52 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Property: Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing