We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #108 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were in the apartments (not the hotel rooms), for a long weekend with two of our teenage kids. The beds were wonderfully comfortable, and everything was spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly and especially helpful with advice, maps, an umbrella the day it rained... The hotel is well located for visiting the city, an easy 10-minute walk from the old town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lola_in_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

I slept here four nights with two friends. The room was very clean, comfortable, big enough. Clean towels every morning.The hotel is 2 minutes far from the metro and 10 minutes by foot from Marienplatz. Little disappointment: breakfast was good but a little bit expensive and pillows were not comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

When I walked into my room at the Carat Hotel, I had to laugh -- it was so small! I have stayed in Japanese Businessmen's hotels and this room was just as tiny. BUT............. it was spotless, the bathroom (also small) was new and also spotless, the breakfasts were HUGE and the staff was incredible. They were truly friendly, fun to talk to, helpful and always delightful. The location was ideal for getting on and off trams and subways, and the importance of a large room faded away because of all the pluses of this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back so you don't have to hear the noise of the street. Also, the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The rooms were very small and furnishings were worn and tired.
Clean and great staff helped with e short comings. Breakfast was fabulous!!!!
Great location for markets and travel connections.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fashionperspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Just back from a 3 night stay here. Got an online deal for 210e for 3 nights for 2 without breakfast (we prefer to eat out and its def cheaper). Reception was ok, staff were friendly enough, tiny lift to our floor then onto our room. It was ok, not at all like the pictures in their website!!! The bathroom was the nicest part, really modern and bright.

Our room faced the back which didn't matter to us as we didn't intend staying in our room for long. The walls are paper thin making it difficult to sleep if you are a light sleeper. There was some noise from the builders outside around 8am but we were getting up then anyway!

For me, the worst part was the pillows!!!!! They were the worst I have ever used, ever! They are the reason I would never stay here again and wouldn't recommend the place!

Hotel is fairly central, 5 mins walk from underground and about a 10min easy walk from Marionplatz. There is lots of cafes around for coffee / breakfast.

Munich is amazing, beautiful city. The Christmas Markets are great, we loved the Christmassy atmosphere around the city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I'm not a budget traveler, nor am I a habitual huge spender, BUT I spend hours looking through hotels and reviews and deals to find the best case scenario, sometimes paying a little more, sometimes paying a little less and am typically very happy with my choice.

That being said, I stayed at Carat for 5 nights in August. I paid $118EU a night. Everything was fine. Yes, fine. And that's it. I say that to encourage you to keep looking although that's not to say there is anything wrong with Carat. For $118EU, it's literally just fine.

Front desk is fine, but one rude concierge, one really nice one.
Breakfast was fine, but $13EU extra.
Location was fine. Close enough to everything but on a busy street.
Room was fine. Tiny. Clean but outdated in a not-interesting way.

That's it. SO, keep looking if "fine" isn't exactly your desire. If you're looking for something a little more quirky, or newer, or more personable, or whatever. If you can't find something with a better deal and a better location, Carat will do. But I found several other better, cheaper options while walking around so I know there may have been something better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlakeS1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Do not stay in the apartments at this hotel! They have builders renovating at early hours of the morning and "appartantly" have no control over this. When I asked for breakfast to be thrown in free of charge for the hassle they refused.

In all, we couldnt get to sleep before 11:30 pm because of noisy elevators and racket of guests, and couldnt sleep in after 7:30-8:00 am because of hammers and drilling.

If you need a decent sleep do not count on these apartments at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#102 of 389 in Munich
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#148 of 389 in Munich
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#46 of 389 in Munich
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#30 of 389 in Munich
907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#128 of 389 in Munich
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £65 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing