We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Munich city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #103 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choice for Munich city center”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I've stayed at the Carat Hotel for 2 times already. One can state it's a very good option for staying near Munich city center, considering the price.
The Hotel is just 5 minutes on foot distance from Sendlinger Tor, and also very close to Marienplatz.
I definitely enjoy the Hotel clean and cosy environment. The staff is very friendly and they do care for the customer satisfaction. Once I've rented an appartment (not a room) and when I arrived, I've stated the appartment wasn't the best option - as it's located outside the hotel, on a separate building, and seemed to have a lower quality in general; thus, I asked the staff for the possibility to change my reservation to a room, instead; they've promptly accepted my proposal and I was able to be lodged on the same room I've been previously, some years before.
Oh, and also, the breakfast is amazing!
To sum it up, I do recomend the Carat Hotel, as it has a very good localization, nice staff, nice quality in general and a generous breakfast offer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    273
    138
    48
    15
See reviews for
144
197
61
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel is 5-7 min walk or 1 U-bahn station away from the Marien Platz, Breakfast is brilliant - local sausages, brad, cheese, juices, coffee - very nice. Rooms are clean and nice, especially considering the price. I can highly recommend this hotel whether you're in Munich for sightseeing or medical reasons (since LMU is nearby).

Room Tip: Apartment rooms include fringe, dishes, oven, microwave, kettle, coffee maker... basically everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgorKirillov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is definitely adequate. The rooms are not huge but the bathroom is a good size. The location is pretty good about 10-15 minutes to the main square. Only 2 minutes to a train stop. They have free still and sparkling water and coffee available at reception which was great to come back to after a hot day in Munich, boiling water (for tea) was also available on request. Reception had stamps and accepted post which was also very helpful. They also have free gummy bears, mmmm. We enjoyed our visit, it fulfilled our expectations, but we weren't blown away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Waimea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed in the Carat Hotel in for three nights in May 2013. The front desk staff were very helpful. The room was clean and nicely furnished. The U-bahn station is just a short walk away. Many other destinations (bahnhof or downtown) can also be walked in 10 minutes or so.

I would gladly stay here again. The hotel is not fancy or up-scale, but it does have very good staff, a decent location, clean and has a reasonable price.

The only negative was shortly after I checked in. A couple in an adjoining room were having a “discussion” in which I could here every word. Rather than complain, I turned up the TV until they got the hint & cooled it. I was fortunate everything was quiet for the remaining stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34isit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We booked the Carat through Expedia and accidentally entered 1 for number of people in the room and booked it. We tried to change it afterwards and contacted the hotel via email and they were unable to help us change it. When we got to Munich we tried again to change rooms and the staff was not very helpful. The room was very small especially for two people. The bathroom was also quite small and it gets pretty noisy at night. We did get a good price on the room which helped the situation and the location is good, but if we return to Munich we will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nschw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carathotel, Manager at Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for booking our hotel and your comments.
The following information for all the readers: The size of the room was written next to the room desciption and YES, 12 SQM are small but there was also a choice to book a room with 24 SQM for only (!) 10 EUR more. The rate was more than half the rate of the normal and among the cheapest available rates in the city! This rate was non-refundable and non-changeable. It seems logical and fair that you cannot expect the same flexibility (changing your booking) like a guest who has choosen to pay the full rate.
So please read everything carefully before booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a perfectly fine hotel within easy walking distance of the beautiful old Munich city centre, and easy to get to by S-bahn and U-bahn from the airport.

But, the rooms are tiny, and appear to have no sound-proofing. Was woken against my will by early risers next door at 5:30....

And they struggle to keep up if there's a rush on for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoffthewinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Pretty much going to echo what a lot of others have already said; not a luxury property, but well-kept, well-located, and comfy, with a friendly and competent staff. Got a good shoulder season deal, so no complaints there. The wireless internet worked very well for me and the breakfast was excellent with lots of selection and great homemade jams. Easy walk from the Carat to most everyplace you'd want to go, but the subway is just up the street if you're heading farther afield or are loaded with luggage. Lovely walk to Old Town and Marienplatz. When I first walked in my room facing Lundwurmstrasse, a busy street, I was concerned by the level of the street noise, but once I closed the modern 2-way window (what a concept), things were much quieter. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLeshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#112 of 382 in Munich
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.1 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#130 of 382 in Munich
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#18 of 382 in Munich
895 reviews
0.5 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Property: Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing