We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, simple, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #101 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed there for a Thursday and Friday night in mid-April. The single room I was accommodated in was pretty small, very simple, but spotless and practical, with view to a main street. Internet connection was available and properly working. Soundproofing was really efficient, I was never disturbed by the traffic or any other noise. Location seemed safe and quiet, about a 20 minute walk from city-center (Marienplatz). Metro station was only 3 minutes away with easy connection to Munich airport. Breakfast was great, well competing the quality and variety most 4-star hotels offer. Special tribute to the breakfast room ladies, always attentive, willing to help and, most important, wearing their best smile. Overall, it might not have been the most unforgettable stay, but would recommend it. Prices are reasonable, considering Munich is an, anyway, expensive city.

Room Tip: rooms are soundproof, ask for a room with view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drazen1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel multiple times during the multiple business trips to Munich. I love the location, it's central, easy to find with the metro and train station nearby and central station not far away.
Loved the fact that I had free WiFi, the breakfast was great (lots of choices), clean, personnel was friendly. The appartments were quite large and here you also have a kitchenette which turns out to be very helpful during longer stays.
The rooms in the main building are quite small and could get uncomfortable if you stay longer.
All in all I recommended this hotel to other colleagues and friend and would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cri1909_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

These apartment-style rooms close to neighborhood eateries and the walled city, make this hotel a smart place to stay. Prices are reasonable and the staff is helpful. There is a small coffee and cocktail station near the front desk if you are "in" for the evening, but want a hot tea. Make sure to check out the neighborhood "behind" the hotel, but outside the walled city for some cozy, interesting shops and bakeries. From the hotel, you have a five-minute walk to the walled city and 20-minute (fast paced) walk to the DB train station if you opt for the exercise vs the tram.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very courteous and helpful hotel employees.
Convenient location at walking distance from most touristic attractions and old city center.
Convenient room prices.
Breakfast buffet with more than what you can eat. Very good.
Room, bathroom and all related items: i.e. towels, bed linen, clean and/or new.
Hotel parking available at a convenient daily rate.
Free Wi-Fi.
Renting a bike will add flavour to your stay in Munich. Rentals in the north side of the main train station.
September was chosen due to comfortable and mild climate. Room windows could be kept closed those reducing street noise as we were assigned a ground floor room facing the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

With this hotel you are minutes from lots to do in Munich. The WiFi is strong and good not just in the lobby, but on top floor, outside, anywhere (not the norm at many other hotels). This meant i could plug in magicjack and make business and personal calls with no dropout - a huge plus for me and again, usually not an option at other hotels. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. People talk about the rooms being small but to me this is the norm in many downtown hotels in Europe - no smaller than most others and fine for our purposes. Clean, functional room and bathroom in a very good location. Left a fan at the front desk so if you need one, just ask.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATL-RES-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed for five nights in mid-September 2013. The staff were really friendly and helpful; the wifi was free; the breakfast buffet was very good, and the location was excellent. The city centre Marienplatz was about 15 minute walk, but there were also tram and metro stops about 200m from the hotel.
The room was clean and ok, but really rather cramped: I had about 20cms of space between the foot of my bed and the wall, which made opening or closing a window hard work.
The 'bar' turned out to be drinks served by the front desk staff- but it worked fine.
Overall, a decent 3* hotel. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VamosaValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2013, to attend a professional meeting. For a small hotel, it really is just aboout perfect. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, my room, although small as one would expect, was very clean and nice. The buffet breakfast was great, and well worth the price. The location is really excellent, about 100 yards from the Sendlinger Tor metro stop, so you can get just a about anywhere in Munich very quickly. One caveat: It can be a bit noisy at night, so be sure to bring earplugs. By the way, most of the restautants in Munich want you to pay in cash rather than credit cards, so stock up on Euros before you go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFT56067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#110 of 388 in Munich
401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#155 of 388 in Munich
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#42 of 388 in Munich
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#189 of 388 in Munich
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 388 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £61 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing