We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a city visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #104 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I used to live in Munich practically around the corner from the hotel. So I am biased when it comes to location.

Yet, if you want explore the city center and go shopping the hotel is an excellent base as it's 5 minutes from the metro station 'Sendlinger Tor'.

Further to this it's great value for money. I caught a heavy cold just before travelling and did not want to drop that bomb on my friends with kids right before Christmas. Booked a single room online while waiting for my luggage and stayed for 3 nights with a queen bed and enough space for a single person. The room was on the 6th floor facing the inner courtyard = very quiet for such a central location.
The staff was polite and helpful and breakfast offers a broad choice.

Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hello-Ms-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

I booked my whole Munich trip on a whim for the Christmas holidays of 2013. By the time I got around to booking a hotel, all the ones that were reasonably priced and in the city centre were full. I don't have a huge budget as I am a student, but location was a huge factor for me as I am travelling alone and have never been to Munich before.

The hotel is perfect for what I was looking for. It was reasonably priced, the breakfast (included in the total cost) is absolutely delicious and has huge variety, the room is small but extremely clean, and location is practically across the street from where the city centre begins. It is also right across the street from the subway, streetcars, and buses. Not to mention a 10 min walk to the central train station. Perfect!

The staff is quite friendly with good English, and the housekeepers did a great job of tidying the room. When I was here the hotel accommodated a lot of families, so it's a great choice if you're travelling with children. Hallways were never noisy (at least not on my floor) and there wasn't any crazy partying going on. I never had to worry about not getting a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mleuchanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. The pros of the hotel are its location and sensible price and the simple generally clean rooms. I only had 2 little problems. Firstly, there was a little spider and a spider web on the wall of my room. Secondly, I booked 1 night at this hotel and added a second night 2 days after that but they hadn't matched these requests and on the second day when I came back to my room at 3:00 in the afternoon, the cleaning lady was in my room and wanted me to get my stuff out of the room because it was past checkout time. I had to call the desk and tell them about the second booking to get her out of there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kianoush A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed there for a Thursday and Friday night in mid-April. The single room I was accommodated in was pretty small, very simple, but spotless and practical, with view to a main street. Internet connection was available and properly working. Soundproofing was really efficient, I was never disturbed by the traffic or any other noise. Location seemed safe and quiet, about a 20 minute walk from city-center (Marienplatz). Metro station was only 3 minutes away with easy connection to Munich airport. Breakfast was great, well competing the quality and variety most 4-star hotels offer. Special tribute to the breakfast room ladies, always attentive, willing to help and, most important, wearing their best smile. Overall, it might not have been the most unforgettable stay, but would recommend it. Prices are reasonable, considering Munich is an, anyway, expensive city.

Room Tip: rooms are soundproof, ask for a room with view to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Drazen1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel multiple times during the multiple business trips to Munich. I love the location, it's central, easy to find with the metro and train station nearby and central station not far away.
Loved the fact that I had free WiFi, the breakfast was great (lots of choices), clean, personnel was friendly. The appartments were quite large and here you also have a kitchenette which turns out to be very helpful during longer stays.
The rooms in the main building are quite small and could get uncomfortable if you stay longer.
All in all I recommended this hotel to other colleagues and friend and would come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cri1909_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

These apartment-style rooms close to neighborhood eateries and the walled city, make this hotel a smart place to stay. Prices are reasonable and the staff is helpful. There is a small coffee and cocktail station near the front desk if you are "in" for the evening, but want a hot tea. Make sure to check out the neighborhood "behind" the hotel, but outside the walled city for some cozy, interesting shops and bakeries. From the hotel, you have a five-minute walk to the walled city and 20-minute (fast paced) walk to the DB train station if you opt for the exercise vs the tram.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiS97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very courteous and helpful hotel employees.
Convenient location at walking distance from most touristic attractions and old city center.
Convenient room prices.
Breakfast buffet with more than what you can eat. Very good.
Room, bathroom and all related items: i.e. towels, bed linen, clean and/or new.
Hotel parking available at a convenient daily rate.
Free Wi-Fi.
Renting a bike will add flavour to your stay in Munich. Rentals in the north side of the main train station.
September was chosen due to comfortable and mild climate. Room windows could be kept closed those reducing street noise as we were assigned a ground floor room facing the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#110 of 387 in Munich
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#153 of 387 in Munich
336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#42 of 387 in Munich
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Aparthotel Munich
City Aparthotel Munich
#194 of 387 in Munich
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £63 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing