We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Ranked #100 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Well located with trams and UBahn very close by. Easy walking into the main tourism zone. Attentive front desk staff. The property could use some sprucing up with paint chips and scratches in rooms and public areas. Very nice wait staff in breakfast area, and also a great selection of items. Room was of a good size and condition. I am using this hotel again so all things considered it did pass the test!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street out the back are noisy, ask for a room facing the courtyard. Ground floor r...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yyjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Good hotel, good value, great location, very clean - What more would you need! Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a central location close to tram and train. 10 mins walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BernieCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is excellent value and well located near a U-bahn station and walking distance from the main city square. For the price, we found our room and the facilities at the hotel generally, to be excellent value. Although overlooking the road, sound proofing meant this wasn't an issue and there's also air conditioning available if you need it. Our room was very clean and although on the small side, did the job - the beds were very soft though. We opted for the breakfast buffet twice during our stay and this offered an excellent spread of hot and cold food, healthy and not so healthy options. The staff serving breakfast were charming and couldn't be more helpful - what a contrast with many of the staff on reception.
We booked our room through hotels.com and specified a twin room on their site - on arrival the man on reception made a great fuss about this and said that hotels.com didn't pass on special requests and we might not get one. In the end we did, but I felt this scene was unnecessary and rather than taking it out on us, the hotel should take this up with hotels.com. Several other reception staff were rather unfriendly and one lady with glasses refused even to look up when we handed our key in, let alone say hello!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the Carat Hotel and apartments during our Germany vacation in January 2014.

Easy to find the hotel.A few minutes' walk from Sendlinger Tor U-bahn and close to most of the famous tourist sites in the Altstadt.People might think the area is a bit run-down,but we felt safe all the time.
Checked-in in the early morining.Thought we had to wait until 2 pm,but we were fortunate enough to have our apartment ready and waiting.It was very nice after a very long flight. The check-in staff was friendly and very helpful throughout our stay.A big big plus!

We stayed in one of the apartments.It's a bit old and lacks a little bit of personality,but it was clean and served it's purpose.Big enough for 2 travelers and their big luggage.A small kitchenette with all the necessary crockery and utensils.The beds were very comfortable.I slept like a rock, another plus for me.The bathrooms were nice and clean.

The breakfast was lovely,although a bit expensive for a 3 star hotel.We thought that was the only negative point.

All in all a nice,clean and quiet hotel which served it's purpose.Excellent location and very nice and friendly staff,just a pity about the expensive breakfast.

We had a nice stay,thank you.

Room Tip: Do get an apartment,the kitchenette helps a lot!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnofTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked an apartment to stay for 2 nights. The apartment was really smelly and totally cold when we arrived. No one cared to switch on the heating before our arrival, we had to do that ourselves! The room was really poorly decorated and not totally clean. As if this wasnt enough, when we left we forgot in the room an iphone charger and a big musicball from our 2 years old son. We called the hotel right away but no one could give us an answer. As we were sure that we left these 2 items there and we had to return to Munich the week after, we went there personally and no one could even give us a proper answer about if they have found or not our items They asked us to come back later. We did come back later, next day, and again no one care to even to give us a proper answer. so be aware that if you happen to forget something at this place it is lost forever and they wont even bother to apologise. At this place never more!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The room was too small, but cosy and clean. The bed was so comfortable, that I couldn't convince myself to get up in the morning:). The location is perfect, near the metro statin and the City Centre. The breakfast was great with lots of choices. Free WIFI.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Котофеич К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed at the Carat Hotel in Munich for 3 days. The location is great right next to the Metro station so easily accessible from the airport and main train station. Staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. We got there early so had breakfast at the hotel which was amazing - best breakfast I've had in ages! They let us store our luggage at the hotel and we talk a short walk into the Marienplatz to discover the Fasching festival was on. If you are going to Munich in early March try and match in with this celebration. The streets are full of food and drink stalls and everyone is dressed up, bands playing on various stages and everyone having a great time!
Got back to the hotel and they had our room ready early. Good beds and facilities, very comfortable. Some street noise in the morning from the side street our room was facing(we were sleeping in as a bit jet lagged) which wouldn't normally be a problem. Great stay, very comfortable and helpful friendly staff. Couple that with the location and value for money and you've got a great base for your holiday!

Room Tip: Try and get a room above or away from the side street - not a problem if you don't but you do ge...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#112 of 385 in Munich
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
0.1 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#129 of 385 in Munich
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Buddy
Hotel Buddy
#42 of 385 in Munich
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#19 of 385 in Munich
919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen

Address: Lindwurmstr. 13, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £79 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel And Apartments Munchen
Carat Hotel Munich
Carat Hotel Apartments Munchen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing