We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel option for Munich”
Review of Eden Hotel Wolff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eden Hotel Wolff
Ranked #42 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Directly across from the train station. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean, and quiet. Location is close enough to get to tourist areas but far enough away from them to avoid all the noise. Hotel staff was very helpful. On our last day there, we decided to take a day trip to Salzburg and the hotel staff stored our bags for hours. Very professionally run. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here 1 night at the beginning of our trip and then 2 nights at the end. Even though they said all of their rooms have air conditioning, our room the first night did not. It was hot and difficult to sleep that night. Also, the bed in that room was so hard it felt like we were laying on the floor and the pillow was about a half an inch thick. The room was dirty (there was hair on the bed) and seemed like it hadn't been updated in at least 20 years.

When we stayed 2 nights at the end of our trip we had a much better room. That room had air conditioning and it looked more modern. It was also clean. While the pillows still were paper thin, it had a much more comfortable bed.

Positives:
-Friendly staff
-Excellent location; directly across the street from the main train station

Negatives:
-No internet access at all unless you use their computer in the lobby. Their computer has a German keyboard (which makes since, considering the hotel is in Germany) that may be difficult for non-Germans to figure out. They only allow 15 minutes per day on the computer. I'm fairly good with computers and it took me almost 15 minutes to send a 1 paragraph e-mail (with tons of typos because of the keyboard).
-Not all rooms have AC
-Not all rooms are clean
-Paper thin pillows
-Very hard beds in some rooms

Room Tip: Plan on going to Starbucks with your laptop for internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Directly across from the Central Train Station and a short walk away from Marienplatz. The single rooms are ridiculously small but the doubles are spacious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelnomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The location, across the street from the Central Train Station (Hauptbahnhof) and an easy walk to the Marienplatz, leaves Munich at your doorstep.

This was my first trip to Munich and my flight arrived at 6am. It was so easy to take the train in and simply cross the street to get to the hotel. I made it to the hotel before 8am and my room was ready for me. After a quick shower, I was back in the train station and meeting my Radius tour group. It could not have been easier or less stressful. I spent the rest of the trip walking to and from the Marienplatz or hopping on the U-bahn.

The room, while smallish, never felt small. There was even a lounge chair for watching TV. The bathroom gleamed. Even though my room was across from the busy station, I never heard any outside noise. It would be a problem though if you wanted to keep the window open, but with both heat and air conditioning in the room, you can sleep comfortably with the window closed.

The staff were kind, welcoming and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. Lots of cold and hot food to choose from. It's easy to eat enough so that you can skip lunch and have a large dinner at a brauhaus.

I'd definitely stay there again if I go back to Munich.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindargtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

A functional hotel with an excellent central location which allows you to walk to all the sights in Munich. Eden Wolff is located right across the street from the train station which gives you access to tours (Radius was wonderful!), shopping, airport transportation.......The buffet breakfast was great. Our room, a triple, gave us each our own bed. We had a large bathroom with a bathtub. It was an easy walk to Marienplatz and all the sights. Hotel staff were very helpful. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twenty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel has a really great location for tourists. Its opposite of the main train station. The hotel is not new but its clean and the people are friendly. It's a old fashion hotel. The bed in a single room is very small and not very comfortable! The rooms are really small and not great for business traveler. The breakfast is ok and fresh.

Room Tip: Get for a double room on the upper floors and on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

One thing hotels often fail to recognise is how important the reception staff are. The welcome here was cold, unwelcoming, sarcastic at times and offered no information on essential items like where the lifts were (I wandered aimlessly around the maze-like reception for ages), breakfast arrangements or hotel services. Worst of all was the rude response I received when I politely questioned why the needed my passport (unusual for Germany) and a book's worth of personal data. I was told it's the rules - who's rules?! The reception guy? German law? the hotel's rules? He wasn't interested in explaining, and dismissed my concerns about what they would do with the two photocopies they took of this important and personal document.

In addition:

1. The room was tiny, and hideously decorated with fake limed wood effect cladding up to the ceiling, fake beams and deer skulls (!!!) on the wall. It was like a cheap holiday cabin.

2. The air con just switched off overnight (presumably for energy saving) but couldn't be switched back on and the room stayed 25 degrees as a consequence = no sleep

3. The door has no lock or chain, reducing security for guests and increasing the possibility of housekeeping or other guests just letting themselves in at the worst possible time!

4. The wifi is excluded from rates, and logs you off with anything more than 5 minutes of inactivity (I've had to rewrite this review as it logged me off and consequently lost my work - not good if you're working on that vital presentation!!) It's provided by a third party and the staff are neither knowledgeable or interested in it.

5. I'm used to German hotel pillows being way, way too soft, but the one supplied at the Eden was the size of a postage stamp and flattened to pancake proportions when used, making it wholly useless. No second pillow supplied either.

On the positive side, the room service menu is excellent and the minibar is reasonably priced, plus it is well located for the centre of Munich and the train station opposite. But it's flawed, unfriendly and poorly thought out, so a stay here for me was far from comfortable, welcoming or suitable for me as a business traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank examino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#7 of 389 in Munich
1,158 reviews
0 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#54 of 389 in Munich
1,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#44 of 389 in Munich
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Hotel Wolff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Hotel Wolff

Address: Arnulfstr. 4, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Munich
#23 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#36 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#49 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £99 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Hotel Wolff 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its foundation in 1890 the Eden Hotel Wolff has been managed privately. If you are searching more than simple functionality, we are sure you will feel at home in our First Class Hotel. We offer you a variety of differently designed guest rooms whose flair and cosy elegance allow you to relax after a busy day. Our 214 hotel rooms and suites offer designs to suit everyone's taste, whether you prefer the classic hotel room style, a rather modern but elegant atmosphere or the unique Alpine style. Of course, all rooms have an individually controllable air-conditioning, mini bar, in-room safe, free WIFI-Highspeed internet access and flat-screen. Eight individually styled conference rooms provide the surroundings for any event. Our event planning team will draw up an individual offer to suit your needs and will assist you in every respect. After a long day enjoy the special atmosphere of our Kaminbar and lean back in front of a crackling fire in an open fireplace. One of the specialities from our cocktail menu, a glass of red wine, a draught beer or a fresh juice, will help you relax. Our restaurant Zirbelstube offers you culinary delights that please both the native of Munich and the international guest. The quality of the food is always the focus of attention. Our chefs place great emphasis on products of the local agriculture and on the use of seasonal ingredients. Even our draught beer is a speciality and is brewed in the Tegernsee valley. Visit our spa to recharge your batteries and take away the stress of traveling. Use our gym, sauna, steam bath, solarium, and roof terrace. Its pure relaxation with a breathtaking view of the Munich skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Hotel Wolff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing