We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Europa during Oktoberfest”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #39 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great location, convenient to tram which connects to all of the major sites and attractions, including Theresienwiese, where Oktoberfest is held. We were in the back building, newly renovated, nice quiet area with a neat and charming little garden. Breakfast is outstanding and was included in our room rate. Note that rates are in fact considerably higher during Oktoberfest. Room was large by European standard. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Lowenbrau Keller is just a short walk away on the same street as the hotel and is a wonderful place to experience an authentic German beer garden.

Room Tip: The rear area of the hotel has been renovated recently and is quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Europa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, nice room & superb breakfast. Five of us stayed here for four nights during Oktoberfest. It's located within walking distance of the festival and the BMW museum/Olympic park. About €70 in a taxi from the airport, 45 mins travel time. Quite noisy, but we didn't care.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here last week on a business team visit to the Oktoberfest. The hotel is immaculate and looks as if it has been refurbished recently. Very comfortable and clean bedroom, efficient free wi-fi, friendly staff and a lovely buffet breakfast. I was particularly impressed by the value of drinks and coffees ordered at the bar - way lower than the equivalent hotel prices in England.

Only improvements would be to offer tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom and also to offer additional English language TV channels. Otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVMCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

really nice hotel. free wifi, clean rooms,200mts from tram stop. very close to central station.nice breakfast.very friendly staff.small lobby. there is a pizza corner close by, close to bmw welt.rooms are a little over priced.perfect for tourists.receptionist speak english n german

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naaim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I rate properties based on their star rating. This one does not live up to 4 star level. If someone told me it was 3 or 3.5 stars, I'd have given it a better rating. The rooms are small, the beds are small, and the bathrooms are just "meh". I hate a big spot on my carpet as well.

I heard our company got this hotel for a very good rate, however, so I do think it has good value if you can get a great rate. It wasn't horrible at all and had a restaurant with decent breakfast (included in the rate) and a bar. It just wasn't 4 stars. Curb your expectations and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Top floor has slanted ceilings (less space), so cool if you like that sort of thing and not so cool...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATLconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

An excellent hotel located a few mins away by tram from the centre. Rooms were clean, luxurious, modern and with all the necessities included for no extra charge. The breakfast was good and plenty. And if you are feeling upto it there is a beerkeller with excellent food and drink a few minute down the road :) reception staff eally helpful and assisted in planning our stay by recommending and organising tours for us. Highly recomended

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank WillyGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed for 8 nights whilst at a conference at TUM university munich (about 20 minutes work). Was easy to get the train from the airport and only a few minutes walk to the hotel from Hbf station/central station (which has trains go to italy and other parts of germany).

The hotel itself is modern and really well styled. Great cafe downstairs and lovely breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. I shared with my mother in a twin room, the bathroom has a separate shower and toilet behind glass doors and the mirror/basin area does not have a door on it but is open to the rest of the room. The shower was a large rectangle, but had no hook for the towel so you had to open the glass door to get a towel, which could be awkward if you were a colleague not a family member sharing twin, you could get changed privately either in the toilet (large rectangle) or in the shower area, but again no hooks for clothes/towel and risk of things getting wet.

Other than this, loved the quotes on the wall, the kettle (rare in europe!).

The neigbourhood was interesting, I expected the casinos/sex shops based on others reviews. The area has many migrants (and provides an interesting insight to the migration patterns of munich), and it was not so much of a safety issue but they did stare a bit at westerners and 'hang out' smoking on the street quite a bit. A few beggars around as expected so close to the train station. The area is not as 'pretty' as other areas in munich but it was very functional and central. We did find a nice beauty place to get some threading done (hair removal) at a very low price, and there were supermarkets nearby and cafes. If you do not get breakfast at the hotel, there is great food (fruit juices, fruit, museli and pastries) at the central station at all hours. Highly recommended.

I would stay at Eurostars again, staff were friendly and helpful and happy to print out travel documents etc for us. The beds were super large and comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inkypinkgizmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#31 of 385 in Munich
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arthotel Munich
Arthotel Munich
#34 of 385 in Munich
860 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#43 of 385 in Munich
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Dachauer Str. 115, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#38 Business Hotel in Munich
#49 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £86 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern four-star hotel EUROPA is located close to the city center of Munich. There are fast and direct traffic connections to the main train station (1,2 kilometres), the city centre and the famous Bavarian sights. The Pinakothek galleries as well as other important art museums are just a brief walk away from the hotel while the world famous "Oktoberfest" and other sights of Munich, such as the "Marienplatz" can be reached within a few minutes ride by public transportation or by cab. The hotel features 162 comfortably, non-smoking rooms divided up into a Standard and Superior category, two meeting rooms with business facilities, a restaurant with international cuisine, a delightful garden terrace in the peaceful inner courtyard of the hotel, a modern bar and a parking garage for 70 cars. The rooms of the Standard category with a size of 22 squaremetres are furnished comfortably, in a contemporary style with warm colours. The style of the Superior rooms is design oriented and clear cut, they are all facing the quiet courtyard/garden. They measure between 26 and 35 squaremetres. All 162 guest rooms are equipped with an individual adjustable air conditioning, writing desk, safe, minibar, flat screen television and telephone with voice mail. Additionally, the Superior rooms have wooden floors, a Nespresso machine, large king-size beds, rainshowers and high-quality amenities from ELEMIS SPA. In the entire hotel, WIFI access is free of charge. Each morning, from 06:30 am to 10:30 am, the restaurant awaits you with an extensive breakfast buffet. For dinner, from 5.30 pm to 11 pm, regional and international food is being served. The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing