We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #39 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for four nights with my wife for the Munich Marathon. Good location, ten minute walk from a u-bahn station (one stop from the Hauptbanhof) or a 10 euro taxi ride away. From the outside the hotel looks very ordinary and perhaps very uninviting. However once inside the hotel decor is very modern, clean and stylish. Rooms are a good size with a nice bathroom and there is an absolute lack of outside noise despite been on a busy street.

Ate in the restaurant on the first night - food is very good with plenty of choice and a good selection of beers and wine. Breakfast is good, though on the first morning it seemed over busy and was a bit of a bunfight. This didnt reoccur on any of the next three days. Small, but very comfortable bar area.

All the staff were very helpful, especially on reception who guided us to various parts of Munich and advised us on what tickets to buy. I emailed the hotel in advance to ask for some restaurant recommendations and this worked brilliantly. I also asked for flowers for my wife as it was our anniversary and they were in our room on arrival.

Definitely worth a visit.t.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KevM16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    363
    79
    19
    12
See reviews for
110
249
38
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights during Oktoberfest. As mentioned, the tram is right outside and easy to take to get into the main city. We like walking, so we walked most of the time. We stayed here because it was the most reasonably priced hotel during that week and breakfast was included. My husband didn't like the breakfast, but I thought it was okay. Rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue42K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great location, convenient to tram which connects to all of the major sites and attractions, including Theresienwiese, where Oktoberfest is held. We were in the back building, newly renovated, nice quiet area with a neat and charming little garden. Breakfast is outstanding and was included in our room rate. Note that rates are in fact considerably higher during Oktoberfest. Room was large by European standard. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Lowenbrau Keller is just a short walk away on the same street as the hotel and is a wonderful place to experience an authentic German beer garden.

Room Tip: The rear area of the hotel has been renovated recently and is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, nice room & superb breakfast. Five of us stayed here for four nights during Oktoberfest. It's located within walking distance of the festival and the BMW museum/Olympic park. About €70 in a taxi from the airport, 45 mins travel time. Quite noisy, but we didn't care.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OrkneyIslandsTerrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed here last week on a business team visit to the Oktoberfest. The hotel is immaculate and looks as if it has been refurbished recently. Very comfortable and clean bedroom, efficient free wi-fi, friendly staff and a lovely buffet breakfast. I was particularly impressed by the value of drinks and coffees ordered at the bar - way lower than the equivalent hotel prices in England.

Only improvements would be to offer tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom and also to offer additional English language TV channels. Otherwise perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVMCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

really nice hotel. free wifi, clean rooms,200mts from tram stop. very close to central station.nice breakfast.very friendly staff.small lobby. there is a pizza corner close by, close to bmw welt.rooms are a little over priced.perfect for tourists.receptionist speak english n german

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naaim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I rate properties based on their star rating. This one does not live up to 4 star level. If someone told me it was 3 or 3.5 stars, I'd have given it a better rating. The rooms are small, the beds are small, and the bathrooms are just "meh". I hate a big spot on my carpet as well.

I heard our company got this hotel for a very good rate, however, so I do think it has good value if you can get a great rate. It wasn't horrible at all and had a restaurant with decent breakfast (included in the rate) and a bar. It just wasn't 4 stars. Curb your expectations and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Top floor has slanted ceilings (less space), so cool if you like that sort of thing and not so cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.0 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 382 in Munich
1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
Hotel Erzgiesserei Europe
#125 of 382 in Munich
208 reviews
0.6 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Schiller5 Hotel
Schiller5 Hotel
#10 of 382 in Munich
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#38 of 382 in Munich
1,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Property: Hotel Europa
Address: Dachauer Str. 115, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#38 Business Hotel in Munich
#49 Family Hotel in Munich
#76 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern four-star hotel EUROPA is located close to the city center of Munich. There are fast and direct traffic connections to the main train station (1,2 kilometres), the city centre and the famous Bavarian sights. The Pinakothek galleries as well as other important art museums are just a brief walk away from the hotel while the world famous "Oktoberfest" and other sights of Munich, such as the "Marienplatz" can be reached within a few minutes ride by public transportation or by cab. The hotel features 162 comfortably, non-smoking rooms divided up into a Standard and Superior category, two meeting rooms with business facilities, a restaurant with international cuisine, a delightful garden terrace in the peaceful inner courtyard of the hotel, a modern bar and a parking garage for 70 cars. The rooms of the Standard category with a size of 22 squaremetres are furnished comfortably, in a contemporary style with warm colours. The style of the Superior rooms is design oriented and clear cut, they are all facing the quiet courtyard/garden. They measure between 26 and 35 squaremetres. All 162 guest rooms are equipped with an individual adjustable air conditioning, writing desk, safe, minibar, flat screen television and telephone with voice mail. Additionally, the Superior rooms have wooden floors, a Nespresso machine, large king-size beds, rainshowers and high-quality amenities from ELEMIS SPA. In the entire hotel, WIFI access is free of charge. Each morning, from 06:30 am to 10:30 am, the restaurant awaits you with an extensive breakfast buffet. For dinner, from 5.30 pm to 11 pm, regional and international food is being served. The restaurant is closed on Sunday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing