We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel in Convenient Location with AC”
Review of Ibis Muenchen City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City
Ranked #93 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel in Convenient Location with AC”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in June 2013 and thought this hotel was a bargain. It is a 5 minute walk from the main train station and has been recently updated. The rooms were on the small side and don't much storage space, but as a base for a 2 night city-break it was all I needed. The bathroom was clean and new and had a good shower.

Most importantly for a stay in Munich in the summer, the room had proper air-conditioning.

We also had breakfast there which was to a good standard, although the only hot food was some scrambled eggs. For 8 euros, it wasn't amazing value. You can find breakfast for 4.95 in the restaurant on 4th floor of Karstadt by the station.

I would defnitely stay here again for another trip to Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    925
    461
    78
    26
See reviews for
254
727
267
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belmar, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very clean room and public areas. Bathroom small but functional. Room size was adequate, especially for Europe. Best of all is the location--only a 8 minute walk to the main railway station. There are also three tram lines that stop almost in front of the hotel. They do serve a very limited menu. One night it was raining and I didn't feel like going out so I ordered a pizza at the (small) bar. I wasn't expecting much, but it was quite good. My room rate didn't include breakfast which is 10 Euro extra. I ate breakfast once and it wasn't worth it.
Since the last time I stayed here, about five years ago, the neighborhod has gone down hill with "gentlemen clubs" and gambling store fronts. I never felt unsafe, but there are a lot nicer areas in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RobertBelmar_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Ibis offers clean rooms, a good internet connection, and a good morning buffet. The compromise is a "ship's cabin" of a room -- just enough space to turn around in the bathroom and shower, and a sliver of space for hanging clothing. Fine for one night for a business traveler. Convenient to two U-bahn stations and to the main railway station. Street slightly seedy, but so what.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel was nice for the price. But one problem - I could not connect to my business email server from my room. I had to go downstairs to use the free wireless to connect. It is critical for me stay in touch with my business and it was inconvenient to do it at unusual hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mike083157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Reception staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is located close to downtown. Beds very comfortable. Very clean linen. Good breakfast. Perfect for a couple of days in Munchen. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Nothing to comment, a very good budget hotel, very good location, helpful staff, breakfast is good. If there is a free wifi provided in the room will be great. As I know, other ibis have provide free wifi during the stays. I hope ibis Munich City will do the same in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I always choose Accor hotels because they have never disappointed me. Ibis Muenchen City is no different. Room is comfortable, clean, not really pricey. Staff is very friendly. 5 minutes walk from Central Station. 10 minutes walk from Marienplatz. Breakfast is good too. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaomiCampinas_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#53 of 382 in Munich
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.1 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#34 of 382 in Munich
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 382 in Munich
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City

Property: Ibis Muenchen City
Address: Dachauer Str. 21, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 air-conditioned rooms with bathroom/shower and separate WC, hairdryer, cable TV,telephone and modem connections, some fittedwith W-LAN2 disabled-friendly rooms172 non-smoking roomsLocation:300 m from Munich’s main railway station, placesof interest and the centre are within easy walkingdistance, 15 km to the Munich Trade Fair Centreand the Allianz Arena.Only available at IbisBreakfast between 4amand 12pm every dayGet off to a good start withour sumptuous breakfastbuffet – from 6:30am to 10amon Mondays to Fridays anduntil 11am at weekends. Earlybirds and night owls willappreciate our small breakfastfrom 4am to 6:30am andfrom 10am to 12pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Muenchen City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing