We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good... My FULL review -”
Review of Ibis Muenchen City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City
Ranked #95 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Quite good... My FULL review -”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There are lots of hotel choices in all of Munich, so to choose one with regards to location and price becomes a tough task. There are also many Ibis hotels in Munich itself, so I simply picked the one with the best location and price... My full story here -



Booking -



I booked on the official website of the Ibis Hotels, about 2.5 months before our stay. The prepaid rate was much cheaper than the pay-on-arrival rate, so I just went ahead and prepaid for our 4-night stay. Euro 70 a night including taxes was a very good deal for middle of May.



Arrival -


its a short walk from the main Munich HBF. With luggage give yourself about 10 minutes, but its do-able. Exit the main entrance of the station, take a left and keep walking straight. Cross the tram lines onto the street opposite and still keep walking straight onto Dachauer strasse. You should be able to see the red sign of the Ibis hanging on the left side of the road.

So we arrived at about 9 a.m and the room was not ready. The receptionist offered to keep our luggage while we went into the city. So we dropped our bags, had a quick wash and took the train to the BMW Welt.



Check-in -



Room was ready when we returned at about 2.30 in the afternoon. We were given room 715 on the top most floor and it was the corner room. Since room was prepaid there no need to pay anything further. No deposit was taken.



Lobby -


its a fairly small reception area and lobby, though they have some sofas to sit on. To the right there are 2 computers with free Internet. Beyond the reception area, the lobby does look quite colourful as it merges with the small Bar and seating beyond.

Umbrellas are provided too if you require them, and they have a vending machine on the 2nd floor, which is where they serve the breakfast also. We didn't take the B/F because it was expensive, and were quite happy with our morning bite at the Burger King in HBF.



Location -


be careful, as the tram lines run just outside the hotel so don't get off the footpath onto the road without looking! There a a couple of restaurants around, nothing great or fancy, and the best bet is the HBF which is about 10 mins away by a normal pace of walk. Lots of eating options there, and we had breakfast daily at the Burger King inside the HBF, which was cheap and very good.



Room -


room 715 given to us was small, as expected. But the fact that it was the corner room on the top floor meant that the ceiling was slanting downward, like the roof of a hut. So on one side of the room you had to be careful of not bumping your head to the low ceiling. Otherwise, the room had a heater, a 24-hour room service, queen bed, LCD TV with 75 German channels (!), 2 plug points, a small table and a wooden chair. Room was brightly lit, with a view of other roof tops of the nearby houses and buildings. Our 7th floor seemed to be the highest among this area as we had a clear view out of most of the houses outside. Lots of hangers in the room with ample storage space. 3 pillows provided, could get more if required.


Room was serviced well daily. It was clean always when we got back in the evenings with fresh towels provided. On one night they forgot to put towels, and a call to reception solved that problem within 5 minutes. Yes, there is a phone in the room.



Bathroom -


was fine, not very big, but not very small either. Clean and functioned well.



Safety Box -


There is no safe in the room, so we kept our valuables at the safe deposit boxes at the reception.




WI-Fi -


Free wifi was given for the entire stay, It was very good and fast. You also have the 2 free computers to use in the lobby, with the free printers.



Check-out -


was quick again. It's Europe so carry your own bags up to the room and back down again. The elevator is just next to reception.



Staff -


Select staff was very friendly indeed, and others were quite aloof and indifferent. The female staff in general was much nicer and polite than their male colleagues... Wonder why that is??



Overall it was a good stay in the Ibis. You cannot go wrong with the Ibis brand.

Our room of course had the torrid problem of the slanting ceiling, but otherwise it was fine. All rooms are small here, ours just had the additional sloping roof. Location is good too, a good stroll to the main HBF which gets you to all of Munich. Marienplatz is a lovely 10 minute walk from the HBF. With a child with us, it had to be the Ibis, which allows 1 or 2 kids below 12 to stay FREE with the parents. This really swings the deal for me in most cases.


And Munich, what a city... maybe the greatest city I have visited. It's mesmerising!

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ibis guest RainmanMu ...from Navi Mumbai,

I wish to thank you for your very detailed information about what you experienced, thus giving us the opportunity to come back to you in writing. Your comments are very important for us in order to check on our quality and to improve accordingly.
We are glad that you enjoyed Munich, our hotel, the female staff and the location, thank you!
I am terrible sorry that you did not feel very comfortable with the indifferent male staff, I will have a talk with them, and show them your comments.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Christian Koentopp Manager Ibis Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    921
    459
    78
    26
See reviews for
252
726
265
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Arrived early 6 am on a Saturday morning.Given another room to bathe and sleep as our intended room was not available.Was a godsend after a long haul overnight flight.Staff was helpful.Room was small but clean and bed really comfy.Aircon a bonus when it gets unusually hot.Great location,5 minutes to main train station.Free wi fi

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ibis Guest TTYong from Singapur,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis München City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so there is not much more I can say, except ”THANK YOU!”

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, staff very helpful, if you need to just visit the city this will be one of the best hotels. Clean room, very easy to reach the city, there is a train station nearby, just 5 mins walking distance

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We used this hotel as a base to visit Christmas Markets in Bavaria plus Salzburg by using the Bavaria Pass. The hotel is near the main train station, the Marienplatz, Wienerworld, and a discount grocery store (great beer for 35 cents a bottle). They even put out complimentary Christmas cookies every day. The front desk clerks also helped me book tickets online for the Munich hockey team game. We stayed 9 nights and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelex9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This Ibis hotel is conveniently located just 382 yards from Munich Central Train Station (Hbf). The station has access to everywhere we went - to/from airport, main site-seeing areas, and Fussen.

The hotel is very clean. While the rooms are small, we had no problems with two travelers that each had a carry-on roller bag and personal item. The closet is as wide as my hand with limited room, so if you are traveling with many bags or big bags or a lot of clothing, you may find the room too small. But, quite frankly, you may find many European rooms too small. The bathroom doesn't have much room to move around in and you'll be pressed to fit two people in at once, but it is perfectly suited for our needs. We used the desk area to store our luggage.

The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Free wifi in the rooms worked at a good speed for us. The bar located in the lobby is open 24 hours for coffee, tea, beverages, or alcohol.

In regards to safety, we were two young female travelers who walked to/from the hotel at all hours of day and night and never once felt unsafe. Yes, there is a casino strip across from the train station you walk by to get to the hotel, but not once did anyone bother us. My only safety issue is that there is no peep hole on the door and here is no dead bolt on the door in the individual rooms.

In regards to noise, it is pretty standard with being able to hear some muffled voices and chairs moving from nearby rooms. This wasn't too distracting though. I sleep with ear plugs in every night normally and never had a problem at Ibis with my ear plugs. The only noise problem we had was our own fault. We didn't realize the window was open when we first checked in late at night the first night. We were awoken to street noise and a children's daycare that seemed the noise was right outside our window. It was, until we shut the window. It made such a difference to muffle the noise tremendously.

One minor complaint with housekeeping, which I will preface saying that housekeeping did a tremendous job the first 2-3 days by going above what I would have expected. Our room was not cleaned on our last day/night. This could be our fault because we slept in and didn't leave the room until 12:30pm. We didn't complain to the desk staff as we didn't need the service that day. I overheard another guest complain about their rooms not being made up either, so it may have something to do with the time spent in the room when housekeeping would normally service the room.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenient location, cleanliness, good value, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#52 of 383 in Munich
1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.1 mi away
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
Ruby Lilly Hotel Munich
#27 of 383 in Munich
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#25 of 383 in Munich
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City

Property: Ibis Muenchen City
Address: Dachauer Str. 21, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 air-conditioned rooms with bathroom/shower and separate WC, hairdryer, cable TV,telephone and modem connections, some fittedwith W-LAN2 disabled-friendly rooms172 non-smoking roomsLocation:300 m from Munich’s main railway station, placesof interest and the centre are within easy walkingdistance, 15 km to the Munich Trade Fair Centreand the Allianz Arena.Only available at IbisBreakfast between 4amand 12pm every dayGet off to a good start withour sumptuous breakfastbuffet – from 6:30am to 10amon Mondays to Fridays anduntil 11am at weekends. Earlybirds and night owls willappreciate our small breakfastfrom 4am to 6:30am andfrom 10am to 12pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Muenchen City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing