We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Muenchen City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City
Ranked #90 of 381 Hotels in Munich
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
247 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“good for short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had stayed this hotel twice. Very typical IBIS style hotel, small room but clear, with perfect position, very near to train station and easily to catch the airport express.
10-15min walking to Maria Plaza, quite good for shopping.
lots of choice for solo simply eating around the hotel.
If for short stay (1-2 nights) I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanpearl1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ibis guest pearlbeij ... from Peking,

I wish to thank you for your detailed information about what you experienced, thus giving us the opportunity to come back to you in writing. Your comments are very important for us in order to check on our quality and to improve accordingly.
We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the location, thank you!
We are looking forward to welcome you for your third stay!

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp Manager Ibis Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    893
    445
    75
    24
See reviews for
241
704
251
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here in August 2014 as part of a stag party traveling from Scotland. There was a total of 17 of us! In the lead up to the weekend there was a lot of communication between us and the hotel to ensure we had the correct number of rooms, who was sharing with who, and that paid up front for B&B. When we arrived we were dealt with extremely efficiently - reception hadthe list of names, who was sharing with who, and the rooms keys all laid out for us. One of the quickest check ins ever, especially considering the numbers involved.

The rooms are small but you get what you pay for. Bathrooms are the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel.

Breakfast was a buffet and was typical European fayre, mainly continental with some nice fresh bread. There were no complaints.

Can't fault the location, very handy for the main station and not a very long walk into the city centre. Would recommend the Ibis for somewhere cheap to stay that is near the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KowaIski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ibis guest Kowalski from Aberdeen,

I wish to thank you for your detailed information about what you experienced, thus giving us the opportunity to come back to you in writing. Your comments are very important for us in order to check on our quality and to improve accordingly.
We are glad that you enjoyed the check in, our hotel and the location, thank you!
I am terrible sorry that you did not feel very comfortable with the size of our bathrooms.
In our Ibis Hotel Munich City the rooms have a size of 14.50sqm up to16.00 sqm, the corresponding bathrooms have 3.00 up to 3.50 sqm. If you have expected larger baths, of course you are disappointed. We have the aim to offer adequate good quality at affordable prices at downtown Munich. Among other things, the room size allows us to do this.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp Manager Ibis Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is clean and close to the train station which makes it convenient. However the room was tiny, particularly the bathroom. Showering required some complicated contortionist manoeuvres.

The other problem was having the window open at night. With all the noise from the street outside sleeping was difficult.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dslamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ibis guest dslamont from Aberdeen,

I wish to thank you for your detailed information about what you experienced, thus giving us the opportunity to come back to you in writing. Your comments are very important for us in order to check on our quality and to improve accordingly.
We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the location, thank you!
I am terrible sorry that you did not feel very comfortable with our roomsize.
In our Ibis Hotel Munich City the rooms have a size of 14.50sqm up to16.00 sqm, the corresponding bathrooms have 3.00 up to 3.50 sqm. If you have expected larger rooms, of course you are disappointed. We have the aim to offer adequate good quality at affordable prices at downtown Munich. Among other things, the room size allows us to do this.
We are located downtown Munich and unfortunately 36 of our 202 rooms face the street, the rest is facing the quite backyard, but when we are fully booked it might happen that you do get a room to the front.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp Manager Ibis Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

There are lots of hotel choices in all of Munich, so to choose one with regards to location and price becomes a tough task. There are also many Ibis hotels in Munich itself, so I simply picked the one with the best location and price... My full story here -



Booking -



I booked on the official website of the Ibis Hotels, about 2.5 months before our stay. The prepaid rate was much cheaper than the pay-on-arrival rate, so I just went ahead and prepaid for our 4-night stay. Euro 70 a night including taxes was a very good deal for middle of May.



Arrival -


its a short walk from the main Munich HBF. With luggage give yourself about 10 minutes, but its do-able. Exit the main entrance of the station, take a left and keep walking straight. Cross the tram lines onto the street opposite and still keep walking straight onto Dachauer strasse. You should be able to see the red sign of the Ibis hanging on the left side of the road.

So we arrived at about 9 a.m and the room was not ready. The receptionist offered to keep our luggage while we went into the city. So we dropped our bags, had a quick wash and took the train to the BMW Welt.



Check-in -



Room was ready when we returned at about 2.30 in the afternoon. We were given room 715 on the top most floor and it was the corner room. Since room was prepaid there no need to pay anything further. No deposit was taken.



Lobby -


its a fairly small reception area and lobby, though they have some sofas to sit on. To the right there are 2 computers with free Internet. Beyond the reception area, the lobby does look quite colourful as it merges with the small Bar and seating beyond.

Umbrellas are provided too if you require them, and they have a vending machine on the 2nd floor, which is where they serve the breakfast also. We didn't take the B/F because it was expensive, and were quite happy with our morning bite at the Burger King in HBF.



Location -


be careful, as the tram lines run just outside the hotel so don't get off the footpath onto the road without looking! There a a couple of restaurants around, nothing great or fancy, and the best bet is the HBF which is about 10 mins away by a normal pace of walk. Lots of eating options there, and we had breakfast daily at the Burger King inside the HBF, which was cheap and very good.



Room -


room 715 given to us was small, as expected. But the fact that it was the corner room on the top floor meant that the ceiling was slanting downward, like the roof of a hut. So on one side of the room you had to be careful of not bumping your head to the low ceiling. Otherwise, the room had a heater, a 24-hour room service, queen bed, LCD TV with 75 German channels (!), 2 plug points, a small table and a wooden chair. Room was brightly lit, with a view of other roof tops of the nearby houses and buildings. Our 7th floor seemed to be the highest among this area as we had a clear view out of most of the houses outside. Lots of hangers in the room with ample storage space. 3 pillows provided, could get more if required.


Room was serviced well daily. It was clean always when we got back in the evenings with fresh towels provided. On one night they forgot to put towels, and a call to reception solved that problem within 5 minutes. Yes, there is a phone in the room.



Bathroom -


was fine, not very big, but not very small either. Clean and functioned well.



Safety Box -


There is no safe in the room, so we kept our valuables at the safe deposit boxes at the reception.




WI-Fi -


Free wifi was given for the entire stay, It was very good and fast. You also have the 2 free computers to use in the lobby, with the free printers.



Check-out -


was quick again. It's Europe so carry your own bags up to the room and back down again. The elevator is just next to reception.



Staff -


Select staff was very friendly indeed, and others were quite aloof and indifferent. The female staff in general was much nicer and polite than their male colleagues... Wonder why that is??



Overall it was a good stay in the Ibis. You cannot go wrong with the Ibis brand.

Our room of course had the torrid problem of the slanting ceiling, but otherwise it was fine. All rooms are small here, ours just had the additional sloping roof. Location is good too, a good stroll to the main HBF which gets you to all of Munich. Marienplatz is a lovely 10 minute walk from the HBF. With a child with us, it had to be the Ibis, which allows 1 or 2 kids below 12 to stay FREE with the parents. This really swings the deal for me in most cases.


And Munich, what a city... maybe the greatest city I have visited. It's mesmerising!

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ibis guest RainmanMu ...from Navi Mumbai,

I wish to thank you for your very detailed information about what you experienced, thus giving us the opportunity to come back to you in writing. Your comments are very important for us in order to check on our quality and to improve accordingly.
We are glad that you enjoyed Munich, our hotel, the female staff and the location, thank you!
I am terrible sorry that you did not feel very comfortable with the indifferent male staff, I will have a talk with them, and show them your comments.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Christian Koentopp Manager Ibis Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Arrived early 6 am on a Saturday morning.Given another room to bathe and sleep as our intended room was not available.Was a godsend after a long haul overnight flight.Staff was helpful.Room was small but clean and bed really comfy.Aircon a bonus when it gets unusually hot.Great location,5 minutes to main train station.Free wi fi

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TTYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKoentopp, Manager at Ibis Muenchen City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Ibis Guest TTYong from Singapur,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis München City. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, so there is not much more I can say, except ”THANK YOU!”

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Christian Koentopp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, staff very helpful, if you need to just visit the city this will be one of the best hotels. Clean room, very easy to reach the city, there is a train station nearby, just 5 mins walking distance

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Arnulfpark
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL First Class
0.2 mi away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
KING's HOTEL Center
KING's HOTEL Center
#50 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#24 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#140 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City

Property: Ibis Muenchen City
Address: Dachauer Str. 21, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City 2*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 air-conditioned rooms with bathroom/shower and separate WC, hairdryer, cable TV,telephone and modem connections, some fittedwith W-LAN2 disabled-friendly rooms172 non-smoking roomsLocation:300 m from Munich’s main railway station, placesof interest and the centre are within easy walkingdistance, 15 km to the Munich Trade Fair Centreand the Allianz Arena.Only available at IbisBreakfast between 4amand 12pm every dayGet off to a good start withour sumptuous breakfastbuffet – from 6:30am to 10amon Mondays to Fridays anduntil 11am at weekends. Earlybirds and night owls willappreciate our small breakfastfrom 4am to 6:30am andfrom 10am to 12pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Muenchen City Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Munich
Ibis Hotel Muenchen City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing