We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
Ranked #113 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I had booked this hotel for a trip to Oktoberfest, and due to my poor planning I booked late. So all the hotels near the Oktoberfest were already booked or very expensive. This one still seemed pretty pricey for being so far from the city center, but it was next to the Ubahn so I figured why not. The first night we got there, I met some friends at the bar for some drinks. The bar was full of drunk people coming from the Oktoberfest who were being loud and obnoxious. Not a problem for me. Several glasses were broken by the different groups while we were there. I mention this because of what happened next. There were three of us at the bar, and we were just enjoying our first German beers. Two other Germans came over to talk to us as they heard our English and were shared several more beers. the other groups were becoming more roudy and soon the manager came out and started yelling to keep our voices down. Unfortunately it was not directed at the two groups who were sometimes signing and had at this point broken several glasses. We were the target of the manager. He came over to us and said that the other guests were complaining about the noise. Keep in mind that we had our room on the 1st floor right above the bar. My wife was up there reading. So we told the manager sorry, and continued on talking although we felt that we were whispering. Soon enough he came back over and yelled some more, so we decided to call it a night and go outside for a smoke. No drinks, just a smoke and then a good bye to our friends who stayed at another hotel. Soon enough the manager came over and started screaming at one of my friends for being too loud. Even though he wasn't even talking, he was over to the side smoking (the reason we went outside to begin with, since he was the only smoker). The manager said he called the police on him. So I asked the manager why he called and why he was singling out him, when the people inside were being very loud. He basically said the police were on their way and we should leave. So my friend left, and once we got back inside the manager said he was sorry, but our friend was too loud. He's a very quiet guy, and I am not so not sure why he was being targeted. So that was a bad start to our stay.

So the room itself was pretty small with two twin beds placed next to each other to make a bigger bed. Typical in Europe. However the floor was pretty slick, so if I rolled over into the crack the beds split apart. Essentially my wife and I slept in two different beds. Usually when hotels combine the beds, they put queen sheets over it to keep the beds together. The beds also didn't have a top sheet, just a bottom sheet and a comforter on top that was too small for the bed.

Breakfast was good. Plenty of selection, but at 10 Euros we opted for snacks at the pasty shop next door where service was much more pleasant. At least they didn't threaten to call the police on us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 845 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

I again stayed at the iBis Hotel Muenchen City Nord, for 4 nights (20-24th September) so as to visit the Oktoberfest which runs ever year around this time.
Again the Hotel for me is brilliant, the staff remember you and are always very friendly and helpful.
The Rooms, breakfast restaurant and bar areas are very clean and tidy as one would expect from this Hotel group.
They even set the Hotel out for the Oktoberfest with a new Carpet and the Bavarian Flags in the foyer, and the staff put on their lederhose (lethertrousers) (See Photo) and also the female staff dress up in traditional clothing, all looking very nice.
I will again stay there next year for the Oktoberfest, but also when I visit Munich in the meantime.
As the Transport system to the city is great with the metro some 2 minutes away, and the Airport Bus (Lufthansa) across the road. what more could be better!
Capt.Harry

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptHarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The location of this hotel is the biggest advantage. But the room rent is very high. Also I was surprised to see that for two days, no one bothered to clean the room or even arrange the bed properly. I never had such experience before in any Accor Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MS-Q8
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a night, the night before moving into my own place in Munich,

First impressions were of scaffolding! However the hotel's website warned me of this so no marks deducted here,

Underground parking was €8 which is a euro cheaper than the other Ibis I'd stayed in the previous night!

The room had recently been refurbished and was to usual Ibis standards. Wifi was extra in the room but the deal included breakfast also so I opted for the package. The bathroom was spotless and all fixtures worked. Still slightly reserved on that substance they call soap, however I cannot single out one particular Ibis hotel for this!

Breakfast was very good and tasty, and the breakfast room was spacious, in contrast to the other Ibis in Schwabing Nord just up the road, of which I have written another review.

Check out time was midday and I was on the way to my own place!

I can't comment on the price here as someone else paid for me,

Overall a very pleasant hotel and whilst I will not (need to) stay here again whilst I am living in Munich, I would certainly recommend it to anyone passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex0177
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The price was reasonable. Not very clean. In 6 days they never changed the blankets. Very convenniant if you are visitng the MOC. Only 4 stations away. The metro is just 100m away. Only 10min from downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 121lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
2.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City
Ibis Muenchen City
#91 of 387 in Munich
1,924 reviews
3.4 mi away
ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ibis Muenchen City West
#79 of 387 in Munich
1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
3.4 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
#60 of 387 in Munich
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Muenchen City Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Muenchen City Nord

Address: Ungererstr. 139, 80805 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 387 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Muenchen City Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ibis München City Nord offers 138 comfortable rooms with air condition and Wi-Fi, a modern bar and restaurant. Located in the northern centre of Munich (Schwabing), the hotel is easy to find and has a hotel own underground car park. Most of the rooms are very quiet with the few of the hotel atrium. The subway and the airport-shuttle-bus-stop are only 300m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Muenchen City Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hotel Munich
Accor Muenchen City Nord

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing