We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Exquisit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exquisit Hotel
Ranked #142 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel, its in the perfect location to visit the christmas markets, but in a quiet enough street. Only negative is how hot the room was during the night and the beds and pillows werent comfortable. Breakfast is a massive bonus, lots of good fresh choices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEllard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your valuation.
We hope that we can welcome you soon in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

My family and I stayed at the Exquisit Hotel in Munich, Germany for 3 nights during a vacation in November 2012. It was a wonderful place to stay and would recommend it again. I will review the pros and cons:

PROS:

(1) Location. Located off of a quiet street in the (active and busy) Sendlinger Tor area of Munich. The Exquisit Hotel is a minute walk to the U-bahn (subway) which can take you almost anywhere in Munich. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the Hauptbahnhof (or you can simply take the U-bahn) and there are many restaurants and shops in the area (note: Under section 3, I list a couple of local restaurants worth checking out). There is also a large pharmacy (Marien Apotheke) at the end of the street that had English speaking staff if you need any OTC meds.

(2) Staff. The staff at the Exquisit Hotel were polite and very eager to please. If we needed directions, assistance, or recommendations, the staff was ready and willing to help out. My understanding is that the Exquisit Hotel is a family business and they work very hard to satisfy their guests.

(3) Food. The Exquisit Hotel serves an AWESOME breakfast with a giant variety of items (eggs to order, cereals, breads, jams/jellys, salmon, cold means, cheeses, oatmeal, fruits, coffee/tea/juice). The chef informed me they attempt to use natural and organic ingredients whenever possible and the quality of the food they prepare is very delicious. They also have a lunch menu. However, after lunch, the restaurant seems to close down, so for dinner or a late night snack, you'll have to go elsewhere. Two options are as follows:

(3a) Food: Il Dottore - This is a trattoria and pizzeria next door to the Exquisit Hotel. My family ate here and it was beyond excellent. I had the spaghetti bolognese and my wife & son split a pizza margarita. Both meals were excellent and went well with a large bottle of red wine. I highly recommend Il Dottore.

(3b) Food: Cafe Mozart - This is across the street Il Dottore and the Exquisit Hotel. It serves a variety of different foods that are appealing to the adult palate (really nothing kid friendly on the menu). I had the schnitzel and was surprised that it was larger than my plate. The food is good, staff is friendly, and English menus are available upon request. I'd also recommend this as a dinner option in the local area.

(4) Rooms: The rooms were moderately-sized, clean, and quaint. All the basic amenities that one would expect are there. The bathrooms were clean and sufficient to our needs. The TV had a variety of stations, including several English speaking channels (primarily BBC and Bloomberg TV).

CONS: To be honest, there are not a lot of cons (hence the 4 'star' rating). Most are of a nitpicking nature, but I'll list them for completeness.

(1) WiFi: The WiFi is free, but was very slow and buggy.

(2) Elevator: Slowest... elevator... ever. I generally took the stairs because I could get to the 4th floor quicker than the elevator. However, if you have a load of luggage or packages, it's there for you.

(3) Key-ring. The keys are on a gigantic, heavy, bulky, brass key-ring. Ridiculously large. However, when leaving the hotel to hit the city, you can leave the keys at the desk.

Overall, the Exquisit Hotel was a very positive experience. Between the staff, breakfast, room quality, and the location, I would absolutely go there again if I were in the area. The Exquisit Hotel has my recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Esper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased that you've been so content with our hotel.
Our gigantic keys are replaced by handsome cards, so now you can take the key into the city.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Munich doesn't exactly boast amazing hotels, at least not in the Sendlinger Tor area. The Exquisit hotel is not the type of place I'd normally stay - its rather dated, slightly musty and rickety it has an old school charm, definitely suited towards the older age group to a younger age group.

PROS :
* It's very central, pop out of the subway and its just down the road.
* It's clean and tidy
* The breakfast is nice - at first I rolled my eyes and got ready for a breakfast of cold meats and muesli but as I sat down I was offered a cooked brekkie of fried eggs and bacon and toast - nom!

CONS :
* The wifi barely worked, and when it did it was on half speed. I was in a corner room down the end of a corridor which might not have helped the signal.
* Took ages to find the heater - Its a real old style bar heater behind a curtain, you have to twist the knobs to turn it on, took about 2 hours to get heated up on a cold November night, then when it did get warm, it got way too warm, had to turn it right off again.
*Asked two girls on reception how to get to the airport, neither had a proper idea, both tried to help by producing a map and both gave different info on getting to the airport, a bit of local knowledge would have helped me looking like a lost lamb in the train station.

Overall, its a bed for the night and my experience of hotels in this area isn't amazing, this was one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

As others have noted, the location is exceptional -- an easy walk to most everything. I booked here because of this, and its convenience to the Oktoberfest grounds (the reason we came to Munich this trip).

This is not a "grand" hotel with lots of facilities. But it is clean, comfortable, welcoming, and a good value. The included breakfasts are diversified and well-prepared, and becomes a brunch after 11:00 am on weekends. Their chef is very talented and responsive, and told me he is moving to all natural and organic.

But the real advantage of this hotel is the staff. This is a family-owned hotel, and all of the staff evidence a friendly and personal attitude. They were most responsive to my several communications with them prior to our arrival, and most helpful to us during our stay.

I would definitely choose the Exquisit again. Ron Klar

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonKlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Exquisit, Temmitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your valuation.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Esspecially your praise about our staff and our breakfast makes us happy.
We hope to welcome you very soon again in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here for five nights and loved it! The hotel was less than a 10 minute walk to the old city center and 2 minutes to the u bahn which could take you anywhere you want to go! The rooms were very spacious and clean. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Breakfast and wifi were both included! I can't think of anything but positive comments to say about this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kel_153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria S, Manager at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive valuation!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to welcome you very soon in our property!

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is close to all transport and to central Munich. We walked from the main train station in 10 minutes. Then you can walk to Marienplatz in 10 minutes. Located on a quiet street away from the busy street. The staff was amazing from check-in to breakfast service. The breakfast was great with lots of selection. Only complaints are the beds are HARD and there is no circulation in the rooms. They are a bit stuffy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel back in April 2012 for a conference. The hotel is centrally located, close to Marienplatz and within steps to the subway station. There are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby and it is in a very safe neighborhood. The hotel itself is a bit old but it is well kept. There isn't air conditioning available so with the windows being opened, the street noise can be a bit loud at times. The staff made every effort to make our stay pleasant and are always helpful to our needs. The free breakfast buffet was always great and the restaurant service always excellent. We had to check out at 3 am to catch an early flight back to the United States. We asked to see if there would be left over breakfast pastries to have before leaving. The staff actually set up a full breakfast buffet (with flowers, the works) in the Hotel Lobby at 2 am just for us! We were completely speechless and so appreciative of their effort. It was unbelievable! I really wish I remember the gentleman's name but he knows who he is. :) Thank you for making the stay so memorable .

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jshea1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team_Exquisit, Teammitglied at Exquisit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you very soon in our property.

Your Team of Hotel Exquisit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Munich Altstadt
0.8 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#113 of 385 in Munich
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#85 of 385 in Munich
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brunnenhof
Hotel Brunnenhof
#150 of 385 in Munich
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#107 of 385 in Munich
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exquisit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exquisit Hotel

Address: Pettenkoferstr. 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Munich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#56 Family Hotel in Munich
#69 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £109 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exquisit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmittelbar am Sendlinger Tor gelegen finden Sie unser privat gefuhrtes Hotel mit 48 Zimmern und Suiten. Die komfortable Innenstadtlage sowie die geraumigen Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten machen unser Hotel sowohl fur Privat- als auch unsere geschaftlich reisenden Gaste attraktiv. In unserem Restaurant sind Sie jederzeit herzlich auf ein leckeres Schmankerl willkommen oder entspannen Sie nach einem langen Tag an unserer Stadtbar bei exklusiven Cocktails und erlesenen Weinvariationen. Das Team des Hotel Exquisit freut sich auf Ihren Besuch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Exquisit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exquisit Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing