We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ordinary hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Exquisit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exquisit Hotel
Ranked #141 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family including 2 young children (aged 3 and 6) for 5 nights over New Year.

I have to clarify that I am on the more particular side when it comes to hotels, and am normally accustomed to staying in accommodation that really enhances our holidays through modern rooms and facilities, exceptional personalised service and fine attention to detail. From this perspective, Exquisit Hotel is quite ordinary, and that is why I have given it a 3 star rating.

I decided to book this hotel because they were one of the few available that were able accommodate 2 kids in the one room, and the location is very convenient. It is on a very secluded street, but just a 10 minute walk to the central train station in one direction, and 10 minutes down Sendlinger Tor (a great street to window shop and stroll down) to Marienplatz.

The rooms are quite dated, although they are clean enough (if you don't happen to have to look under the edge of the sofa for a fallen piece of kid's playmobil!). Reception is helpful with directions. The breakfast menu has a reasonably good range. The staff there were accommodating when we requested raw carrot sticks for the kids on a couple of occasions.

Linen is quite basic, so are the toiletries. It would be best to bring your own - the liquid soap was very drying and my hands were dried out from it.

Internet was an exercise in frustration. You have to enter a code and password every time you login, and even then it was very slow.

We did receive a 20% discount because the lift was not working our entire stay. Despite this, it was still our most expensive stay of our trip (which also included Christmas), and the most basic accommodation. In fairness, I understand that Munich is one of the most expensive places to stay in.

Overall, I do think the location was very convenient. If you do not have the expectation of having a little luxury away during your stay then I think it would be acceptable accommodation.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank jess07Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We spent 4 nights in the Exquisit Hotel in late November to catch the Christmas Markets. Clean, central, spacious rooms, lovely breakfast and very,very helpful staff. We were advised to get a room at the back - less noisy but the pubs nearby did not spill out onto the street because of the cold so it didn't matter. The cheapest way to get from the airport is to get a 5 person day ticket . It is cheaper than two singles. It goes to the Hauptbahnhof and then take the U bahn for one stop (no extra cost) to Sendlinger-Tor-Platz with its own Christkindlmarkt. Just off the Platz, through a funny building with a road through it between two Pharmacies(yes two). Called Apotheke in German, is the Hotel. We arrived after 22.00 hrs but found an Italian pleasant restaurant next door. It was a 7 min walk along a pedestrianised street to the main square - the Marian Platz . Very convenient to everything and U bahn and trams from the nearby square. We will go again.

Room Tip: Rooms probably best at the top and back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARG191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Exquisit at the end of November early December for our visit to the Christmas markets. The location of the hotel to the main centre of Munich is excellent, straight off the underground and right next to the hotel.The hotel staff were polite and most helpful, our room was more than adequate, very comfortable with a bathroom that contained an amazing shower. We stayed B&B and the breakfast was very good - a varied choice of food available with fruit juice, tea coffee etc. We sampled three of the bierkeller's for eating out and found all of them, friendly with a great atmosphere - we both like to eat traditional food, no matter where we visit and Munich food was everything we love - fresh, wholesome food with amazingly fresh beer!!
Catching a train from the airport was easy (20Euro for unlimited day travel on all public transport) and then onto the underground to the hotel - a very good travel system! However, you can walk to most places as the hotel location affords you this opportuinity, the Christmas markets were very good and really got you into the festive spirit, we also visited the Allianz arena on the Sunday which was well worth doing - whilst there we did the Bayern Munich tour a must for all footie fans!!
All in all we had a great time in Munich and will definately visit again and if we do we will stay at the Exquisit again.

Room Tip: Cant really comment about other rooms, ours was perfect - but location of hotel is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldawn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is very comfortable. The rooms are a good size. The breakfast is very good. The staff are very helpful. The location is excellent. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to see. I really can't think of anything that we were unhappy with. If we went back to Munich I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If possible I would prefer a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene09Helensburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel was reasonably priced, clean, with a good breakfast and great service. The location is excellent, 30 second walk to the underground, or 10 min walk to the Marienplatz. It is really easy to catch a train from the airport to the hotel, we got a group ticket that entitles 5 people unlimited travel for 3 days, cost about 30 euros for the ticket. 1 trip from the airport via taxi would have cost 50 euros, so the group ticket is well worth it. The Christmas markets are excellent, I suggest you ride the underground to the edges of the city to find some of the best markets ie Schwabing, which is virtually all hand made crafts. We loved our trip & will be back to both Munich & this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Exquisit Hotel 29th Nov-1st December. The rooms and breakfast were ideal. The hotel is in a central location and within walking distance to visit the Christmas markets, shops and attractions. Munich is a must to visit. The beer kellers have a good atmosphere and the markets are really good for wandering around. The underground is easy to use and the train from the airport takes about 45 mins.
We had a great time and will be returning to the hotel and Munich.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank danic33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located near the tube station & easy walking distance to the markets, Marienplatz & shopping.
Very friendly staff at the hotel, we had a maisonette room which was big & comfortable.
Breakfast was good - mainly continental. Great stay & would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stranger14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#137 of 390 in Munich
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.8 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#92 of 390 in Munich
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#8 of 390 in Munich
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exquisit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exquisit Hotel

Address: Pettenkoferstr. 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Munich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#69 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £87 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Exquisit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmittelbar am Sendlinger Tor gelegen finden Sie unser privat gefuhrtes Hotel mit 48 Zimmern und Suiten. Die komfortable Innenstadtlage sowie die geraumigen Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten machen unser Hotel sowohl fur Privat- als auch unsere geschaftlich reisenden Gaste attraktiv. In unserem Restaurant sind Sie jederzeit herzlich auf ein leckeres Schmankerl willkommen oder entspannen Sie nach einem langen Tag an unserer Stadtbar bei exklusiven Cocktails und erlesenen Weinvariationen. Das Team des Hotel Exquisit freut sich auf Ihren Besuch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Exquisit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exquisit Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing