We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They got this right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Exquisit Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Exquisit Hotel
Ranked #129 of 381 Hotels in Munich
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
“They got this right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

Just came back from my trip to the region and spent one night at this hotel with my wife. The staff was super helpful, spoke excellent English, and did everything they could to make things great. The hotel is perfect walking distance to the very center of town.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but that's not their fault, as we were extremely early, but they took our bags up to the room while we went off to explore the city. When we came back to finally check in, they had upgraded us to a suite!

Finally, we had them arrange a cab for us the next morning for a super early flight, and when we came down, a special breakfast had been put together for us because we were going to miss the included buffet. And it was excellent!

Small details: wireless internet available for a fee, but free access available on a computer in the lobby, and there's a printer there too. Could have used an extra pillow, but I have no doubt they would have brought one if we asked.

Bottom line: Great hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freeordie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    181
    55
    13
    10
See reviews for
132
150
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

The reason we picked this hotel was due to the reviews recieved on tripadvisor, and once again we were not let down. This hotel was perfect for our break in a very sunny Munich. The hotel on first impressions may seem " old fashioned" or "dated" well thats what I thought when I saw the pictures on here, and on their own website, and also when I arrived at the Hotel... its got a 1970's sort of feel to it when it comes to decor and furniture, btu DO NOT let this put you off, as the hotel and the staff and the food were simply excellent.

ROOM: We had a maisonette, which was just great. HUGE room, with 2 flat scren TV's ( not that we used them ), lovely sitting area, plenty wardrobe space and upstairs a seriously comfortable bed, so comfy we slept in until midday one of the days, real chill out time ! Very clean room from top to bottom and with being at the very top of the Hotel the views over the rooftops were lovely. People have mentioned the heat in their rooms, well out room being at the top was probably the hottest in the hotel, but they had a large air conditioning unit in teh bedroom area, this was perfect as the days we were there it was 31 degrees outside, with hardly a cloud in the sky, the air con was very much needed, without it I do not think we would have slept comfortably.

FOOD + SERVICE: The breakfast was vast and constantly being changed by the chef, traditional german stews on offer, sausages, potatoes, then a range of curries came out ( prawn and pork ), some delicious snitzel arrived..there was also lots of cold selection to choose from, meats, cheese's etc etc... it was a fantastic breakfast, and one you could relax and enjoy and turn into brunch / lunch if you wanted to. The service was also another winner, from the people on reception, to the bar service, to the breakfast service, they all spoke very good English, were very polite and also very informative when it came to directions and maps and how to get about on the trains.

LOCATION: Nice and quiet street ( Pettenkoferstr. 3 _ 80336 is the location to note down and use for Taxis ) There is a fantastic cafe facing the Hotel, seemed to open long hours and became a great place on the evening for a wine and a chat, real nice hang out. Church bells could be heard close by, which was lovely and reminded you it was such o'clock as the bell rang on the hour. As you walk out the Hotel, turn right and about 50 meters later you come to the underground station called Sendlinger Tor, so your just seconds away from superb public transport. OR you can take the rather lovely walk into the city, its a lovely 15 minutes stroll, just turn right out the hotl, head to sendlinger tor station, cross over Sendlinger Tor Platz and follow the road into the city, you will walk under the large brick arch, real nice walk.

If you need to use the internet, the hotel reception will sell you 1 hour for 5 euros , or you can buy a 30 day pass for only 29 euros via t-mobile, you can use this anywhere in Germany with a t-mobile hotspot, good if you are travellign around germany.

All in all it was a wonderfull stay, in a very clean and very large room in a quiet part of Munich, that was still very accesible to the city centre. I recomend this Hotel and would stay here again when I return to Munich.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Royalton, Vermont
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

When we checked in, the first pleasant surprise was the availability of private parking, in the hotel's two-storied underground parking garage. Our room was impeccably clean, spacious, and with tremendous closet space. At first we thought the room was noisy, until we figured out the way too clever method to close the windows... The bed was comfortable, though the Queen-sized bed was made of two mattresses and two comforters side-by-side. A traditional cold breakfast buffet was included with the room, with the best selection of loose-leaf teas I have seen in any hotel. Location-wise, the hotel is perfect, just a few meters from the beginning of the pedestrian area, and a mere 500 yards or so from the Rathaus and GlockenSpiel. Overall a very fine choice when staying in Munich, especially if traveling by car. Wireless Internet in the room was 5 euros for one hour from the hotel, or directly from T-Mobile through a hot-spot (29 euros for 30 days, or 8 euros for one day). A computer was also available free of charge in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhugon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We decided to stay at the Hotel Exquisiit based on reviews from Trip Advisor. We were a little nervous about the size of the hotel and the fact that it didn't have air-conditioning. We've traveled a lot and are used to staying in nice places, 'glamour hotels', you might say. However, it turned out to be one of our best experiences in Germany. Our plane arrived early morning. We drove straight to the hotel and arrived around 10:00 am. The room wasn't ready yet, but they were so kind. They told us we could park the car and wait in the lounge and they would have our room ready in about half an hour. They were even nice enough to allow me to practice my poor German speaking skills with them, which I'm sure wasn't nearly as much fun for them as it was for me.
The hotel is very conveniently located. It is so close to everything, but on a quite little street, away from all the hustle and bustle, and we were able to sleep peacefully. The breakfast was - what can I say? - absolutely amazing. We live in San Diego and are used to having very healthy and fresh food, which is sometimes hard to find when traveling. But this hotel did not disappoint. Everything was so fresh and delicious and if they didn't have something out you wanted they would make it for you. They made the best sunnyside up eggs and not only were they delicious, they were also just beautiful to look at. They had an amazing selection of loose leaf, gourmet teas - not cheap teabags. The breads were incredible - so fresh and tasty - yum! I loved the selection of fresh muesli as well. It wasn't heavy and candy coated they way it's normally served. It was light, fresh and healthy. They had a fantastic selection of both cold and hot foods and weren't missing anything. Best of all, it was included with the room.
Everyone at this hotel was wonderful, from the people working the reception, to the servers in the dining room. They were more than helpful with anything we asked. They gave us very detailed directions to wherever we wanted to go. They spoke excellent English, but were happy to speak German with me until I said, "Ich verstehe nicht", (which means I don't understand). Then. they would continue in they're perfect English. As we all know, an unfriendly staff can completely ruin an otherwise good experience. Well, be assured, you won't find a cranky employee here. I wish I could send them all a personal 'hello', but don't remember many names because they didn't wear name tags.
So it wasn't the Ritz Carlton, but that was ok. It had it's own unique charm that you won't find in a glamour hotel. The lack of air-conditioning didn't bother us, probably because it was rather cool outside. The rooms were equipped with fans, but either way, we didn't fly all the way to Munich to stay in the room all day. Stay here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magill-SD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

This place was charming and well-located in a transit hub that was a 5 minute walk down a pretty street to the main square, and close to other points of interest. Ten minute walk in another direction to train station. Staff was great, excellent English, explained how to use the public transit with a day pass bought right there. Breakfast was wonderful. Our room was a charming loft. We were there during a cool summer period; my only question is whether rooms would be too hot during a heat wave. We thought the beds were very comfortable, whole place was very clean. We’d definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Exquisit based upon reviews on this site and I must say that I was not disappointed in the least. For a European hotel, the room was large very large with excellent bathroom facilities. The management was extremely helpful every step of the way and there were no hidden fees. The internet in the lobby was free usually with no waiting. The breakfast was a true European experience that could actually double for lunch. It was plentiful, well served and again, they were prepared to provide anything you wanted wtihin reason.
The location was probably one of the best features right at the Sendlinger U-Bahn stop and also to the trams. Also it was within easy reach of the main train station-one stop. Certainly a 7 minute walk to Old Town and to a number of sites makes this the perfect hotel. If there was any criticism it probably would be that a room facing the street could tend to be noisy. They immediately changed our room the next day to the inside courtyard and that made all the difference. I would highly recommend the Exquisit for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gjpbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Hotel Exquisit was truly a memorable experience. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. The location is absolutely perfect. The food for breakfast was excellent. They have a beer and wine bar for the evenings that is reasonably priced. There is one of the best Italian restaurants right next door to the hotel. The only thing missing is Air Conditioning, but this is hard to find in any hotel in Europe. Try this hotel the next time in Munich. you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majcigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#107 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carat Hotel & Apartments Munchen
0.0 mi away
Centro Hotel Mondial
Centro Hotel Mondial
#239 of 381 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.1 mi away
Hotel Muller
Hotel Muller
#132 of 381 in Munich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 381 in Munich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exquisit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exquisit Hotel

Property: Exquisit Hotel
Address: Pettenkoferstr. 3, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Munich
#48 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#56 Family Hotel in Munich
#68 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Exquisit Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmittelbar am Sendlinger Tor gelegen finden Sie unser privat gefuhrtes Hotel mit 48 Zimmern und Suiten. Die komfortable Innenstadtlage sowie die geraumigen Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten machen unser Hotel sowohl fur Privat- als auch unsere geschaftlich reisenden Gaste attraktiv. In unserem Restaurant sind Sie jederzeit herzlich auf ein leckeres Schmankerl willkommen oder entspannen Sie nach einem langen Tag an unserer Stadtbar bei exklusiven Cocktails und erlesenen Weinvariationen. Das Team des Hotel Exquisit freut sich auf Ihren Besuch! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Exquisit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exquisit Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing