We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel at Munich airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #35 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel at Munich airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

You really only have two choices when staying at Munich airport: Novotel and the Kempinski. The Kempinski wins in every way. You can walk to the terminal, the food is awesome, the gym is worth using, they have a pool, the building is amazing. I would choose it every time. Available is not the best so I end up in the Novotel about 25% of the time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank i r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,103
    755
    244
    54
    43
See reviews for
352
655
206
815
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

On my way back to London from winter vacation. Very friendly welcome at arrival. Room was OK, not the newest. Hotel Lobby is very impressive. Good atmosphere at the bar. Very good breakfast. Service was a bit stretched but tried and was friendly. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a inner court room. Next time i would ask for a room facing the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was my 1st time to stay at famous Kempinski. I with my family had to catch early flight, arriving previous evening. As it was shortly before Christmas airport's courtyard was arranged as market with skating ring and other attractions.
From such atmosphere we get into cavernous, huge inner courtyard of hotel. Design was something of techno sci-fi. With some effort we found tiny reception area and were greeted by hotel clerk. As I required king size bed when reserving hotel, clerk explained that my room has 2 separate beds, but generously proposed upgrade (for EUR 30 only). I rejected this nice offer out of my thrift.
Then with hand he pointed out direction to lift to our room- weakly lighted spot about 40 m away. Walking there we found out that our way was blocked by guests of restaurant having nice and populous party. After finding some circumvention around party we got into our room, expecting further development of techno sci-fi design there. Alas, instead we found traditional, 2nd half of XX century furniture.
Knowing that hotel compensates not high enough room rate with excessive wi-fi charges, we kept our devices at bay. But big was our surprise, finding 1 bottle of water and couple of complimentary Nespresso capsules.
And even bigger surprise was one big bed- made from 2 separate but well joined beds.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ezis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are so sorry to hear that the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich did not exceed your expectations during your recent visit and we like to apologize that you experienced challenges with your room and bed type as well as the room location upon arrival.
Please be assured that your feedback and comments will be forwarded to the appropriate areas for review.

It would be a pleasure for us if you would consider another stay with us. For further information or questions please to not hesitate to contact us.

Yours sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luhansk, Ukraine
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Kempinski Hotels is always a guarantee of quality service and good style . Although this hotel is not new , it is elegant , comfortable, clean . The staff is very attentive and friendly. This is the only hotel located inside of Munich Airport, between Terminals 1 and 2. It is very convenient for transit passengers , because you will spend time on arrival to check in the room for 10-15 minutes. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel provides free wi-fi internet access throughout. It features a large inside pool with two types of saunas (free), a solarium and massage (extra charge) . In-room safe , air conditioning , bathrobes, slippers , fine cosmetics and shampoos. Breakfast at the hotel is not included and is available for a fee. Rooms are soundproofed and have a wonderful proximity of the airport does not bother you . Of disadvantages: the hotel has two buildings that are connected only through the reception hall. Guest one of the blocks to cross hall in a robe that uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Book a room in a building, which is located above the reception. You will be more convenient to use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcmaxim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Given the world in which we live, I would rather have a free, somewhat fast internet connection than a TV and a hundred channels anyway, but Kempinski Munich charges an outrageous amount (think of an average monthly amount for your US internet connection and that's what this 'high-end' hotel charges PER DAY) and then Kempinski limits guests to just two devices. Pray you don't need to unregister one device and use another or you'll be stuck waiting for clueless employees who don't appear to know the first thing about troubleshooting or fixing their connectivity issues. Are the profit margins on this hotel that small that they need to gouge their Internet-needing guests?! I won't be back, but instead will stay in downtown Munich which is just a 40 minute train ride.

Room Tip: Make sure you are well aware of the wifi limitations of this hotel before you check in! Two devices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank torr m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich as well as for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please be assured that your comments regarding our internet procedure will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review. Your feedback is extremely helpful to us, as our team is constantly reviewing our pricing and procedures to best suit our guests.
Should you wish to further discuss the details of your visit, we invite you to contact us directly with your Tripadvisor name as well as your confirmation number (claudia.soost@kempinski.com).
We really look forward to welcoming you back at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay our last night in Munich before flying out the next day. Not many options were available due to some sort of conference going on so we opted for this hotel. It was quite expensive for what we were used to paying, but much cheaper than what other hotels were charging. Turned out to be a great place to stay- can't beat the location if you've got a flight early the next morning. The room was nice and very clean with neat views. Check-in and out were very easy with friendly staff. Only complaint was that the wifi wasn't free. But if we need a place to stay the night before flying home again, we'd probably stay here since it was so easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here Dec 22nd. Nice ultra modern hotel very nice rooms, super room service meals, but we had one bad experience with a very pushy bell hop. When I parked out front to check in the bellhop asked to help with my bags. I politely told him thank you but but no thanks. When I entered the building, another bellhop asked to help me with my bags. I said no thank you. He moved in closer and said that he would help me with my car and asked for the keys. Again I said no thank you I was just checking in and would be leaving soon. He got in closer and told he me "must have my car keys". I told him that would not be happening and that I needed to check in. I started to walk to the counter and he followed me and said "it is best for me to have your keys". I asked him why, and he said "so I can move your car". I told him a fourth time, no". It was a very frustrating experience. I travel a lot and I have never been pushed so hard - ever. I had to get very stern and firm with him and honestly, it left me feeling very angry to have to put up with that when I was just wanting to relax. The bellhop was a young man with a boyish face, about 5-9", blonde, and average height and weight.

The woman who checked us in was polite, but somewhat pushy trying to get me to sign up for their membership as the only way I could get wi-fi for free, or pay $19 euro for overnight internet access. OUCH!. She later admitted it was included in our room charge after I told her no thanks.

It was not all bad. The rooms were super, huge bathtub, great location, and the room service food was impressive.

Room Tip: If you can afford the room and you need something night at the airport, book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiMUC, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich to be your host during your recent visit to Munich and the Munich Airport. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us.
We are very disappointed to hear that your visit was not a complete success. Please accept our apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced upon arrival. Please be assured that we definitely shared your notes with the responsible department head to discuss the avoidable situation internally.

We are so thankful for your feedback, and hope to see you at the Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.7 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
2.0 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#20 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 551 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing