We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #32 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent airport hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Me, my wife and our daughter stayed there for 2 separate nights on August 2014/
The main reason for choosing the hotel was for the comfort, since Munich itself wasn't our trip's destination just the point of entry and point of departure.
For the first night we arrived late in the evening in time to put in bed our toddler girl, and for the second night we had to depart early on the following morning so we didn't need to rush, we took our time, ate breakfast and strolled to the terminal.

Besides that, the hotel turned out to be a gem like the reviews suggested. Courteous and helpful staff, big rooms (windows can be open to get some fresh air!), modern facilities, close proximity to the terminals and the S-Bahn to Munich (we managed to squeeze a few hours of visit there, in the end).

All in all great stay, we would love to return in the future!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udigold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,156
    773
    254
    55
    44
See reviews for
362
681
215
845
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Who wouldn’t want to alight from a crammed airplane after a long flight from anywhere to be embraced by the warmth and reassuring smiles and the unbeatable “we’re-here-to-serve-you” welcome of the staff of the Kempinski Hotel at Munich Airport? But who would also be fool enough to spend two nights at both ends of a alpine holiday at an airport hotel? Well, yours truly would and has done several times in the past and will do so again in the future.

The hotel isn’t cheap. One of the best and most scrumptious champagne breakfasts in a modern and comfortably appointed dining room sets you back 34 euros. However, if you arrive on a weekend when occupancy may be low, you might be lucky and have breakfast included in a more affordable room rate.

The Kempinski Hotel feels a bit like a holiday resort. You can spend a couple of night getting organized and preparing for you vacation. Jet lag? Sleep it off in a comfortable bed while catching up on your e-mails and chatting with your family back home with Skype. Car rental? Take a short walk across the spacious square outside the hotel to one of the many car rental companies at a time that suits you and pick up your car. This year we reserved our car with Auto-Europe based in Boston. Their service is amazing and helped us choose a great car (VW Passat) at an unbeatable price. It turned out to be a “Thrifty” deal, delivered to us by the most considerate rental agent we have met in a long time. Bavarian hospitality? The garden restaurant in the square outside the hotel is fun and has authentic Bavarian food and locally brewed beer. Need a SIM card for Europe? The electronics store in Terminal 2 of the airport, literally two or three minutes’ walk from the hotel lobby, can sell you a blau.de SIM card that lets you phone to anywhere for 9 eurocents a minute. Unbeatable. I believe that these cards also work in neighboring countries, but we used Skype instead.

What makes the Kempinski staff so special is that they all seem to love their jobs and love their clientele. On our first night we found our room a bit cold. We told the receptionist about this when she asked “how was your stay” when we checked out at the beginning of our holiday. When we returned two weeks later, a small heater had been placed in our room. We hadn’t even asked for it and actually didn’t require it. Need to go into town using the S-Bahn? The “Lady in Red” in the lobby of the hotel will provide you with tickets and make other bookings for you too. Can’t reach British Airways? The Lady in Red can. Among the many people of the Kempinski hotel who served us well, three employees left a lasting impression on us: Sarah W. in reception became a friend, the maître’d, Anja L. in the restaurant made us feel like royalty, and the Lady in Red in Customer Service made our stop-over in interesting but crowded Munich doable and even fun.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have the same layout and the same appeal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredmontreal1899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

From an Airport convenience standpoint you cannot beat it, but 2 items knock it down a couple notches.

1) The rooms are starting to look tired and in need of a refresh.

2) I can't believe you have to pay for Wi-Fi access. In this day and age charging to Wi-Fi is just wrong for a Hotel of this class.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monetthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiMUC, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hilton Munich Airport, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the great location within the airport.
The comments regarding our Internet prices are extremely helpful to us, as our team is constantly reviewing our pricing and procedures to best suit our guests.
Furthermore please be assured that your feedback regarding our rooms will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for review.

We hope to see you back soon at Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich.

Yours sincerely,

Kempinski Hotel Airport Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very modern hotel. Perfect service, comfortable spacious rooms. Access to both the terminals is perfect, to be honest you'd be daft staying anywhere else if you are travelling from the airport as you need to get a bus to all the others

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, KY
Level Contributor
236 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our family of three recently spent one night at the Hotel Kempinski Munich en route to the United States via Frankfurt.

As a travel agent, I was able to secure a wonderful rate for our stay but because of our great experience here, I would pay just about any price, if we ever find ourselves in Munich again.

The convenience, service etc. was second to none. When we walked a few steps over to the terminal in order to check in for our VERY early flight, I knew we had made the right decision.

You are close to shopping, McDonalds, restaurants, a beer garden and a great grocery store (picked up some excellent wine here).

During our stay, there was even surfing! Passengers hanging out at Munich Airport can surf for free with complimentary loaner surfboards and wetsuits through Aug. 24, 2014 in a giant standing wave pool set up between Terminals 1 and 2. Unbelievable!

Another big draw for the hotel was the direct train service to the sites of Munich like Marienplatz and Haufbrauhaus. The train took about 40 minutes.

The rooms were quiet, clean and afforded us a good night's sleep. As members of the Kempinski frequent guest program, we were also given free internet and bottled water. My husband even shined his shoes with the self service and complimentary shoe shine service near the room elevators.

A special shout out to Vera, Sarah and the others at the front desk. They couldn't do enough for us! Thank you!

Definitely agree with the other reviewer who stated if you are looking for something that is convenient during a layover and that allows you maximum time for a quick sight-seeing jaunt, stay here. The architecture and design of the hotel lobby are amazing.

And because of our excellent stay, I will seek out other Kempinski properties from now on.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdvmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Kempinski during an overnight layover enroute to the US. The rate was great! I had expected to pay more for something so convenient.

We got off our flight from Italy @ 11am and walked straight to the hotel. We were greeted with impeccable English, sold a train ticket for the station right in the airport terminal and given a map telling us how to get to the amazing Marienplatz!

The rooms were extraordinarily clean and comfortable.

The only thing that wasn't quite as I had hoped was breakfast but it was sufficient to get our morning going.

If you are looking for something that is convenient during a layover and that allows you maximum time for a quick sight-seeing jaunt - stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here on a short stop over in Munich before going to Berlin the next day. We arrived at 9am so, as to be expected, our room was not ready. However, the front desk staff suggested we wait for 20 mins and the room would likely come available - it just needed to be cleaned. We took a seat in the lobby cafe and enjoyed the bright, airy modern architecture of the hotel lobby. After 20 mins, no room was available. They assured us a priority had been put on the room for housekeeping so it shouldn't be more than 15 more minutes. After 15 more minutes in the cafe, it still was not available. The staff were very apologetic and we were upgraded to a slightly better room which was available. We were very pleased with the efforts made by the staff to get our room ready as quickly as possible, and for improvising and finding us a room when that didn't happen.

The location is great for people stopping over. It is the only in-airport hotel, so no shuttle or taxi worries at 5am before a flight. The added benefit though, is that central Munich is easily accessible by train, making trips into the city for sight-seeing, shopping and restaurants very convenient.

Overall, it is a very nice, clean, modern hotel. It is pricey, but you're paying for the airport convenience as well as the access to Munich. For us, the price was worth the convenience and the excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Muenchen Airport
2.7 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
NH Muenchen Airport
NH Muenchen Airport
#1 of 4 in Schwaig
819 reviews
2.0 mi away
MOXY Munich Airport
MOXY Munich Airport
#2 of 4 in Schwaig
260 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Property: Hilton Munich Airport
Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Green Hotel in Munich
#18 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 551 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing