We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Munich Airport
Ranked #24 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed here the night before an incredibly early flight from Munich Airport last weekend. What a stunning hotel! The design is amazing, and doesn't look at all dated.
We had booked a very cheap room through a last minute site, and when we got there the hotel could not immediately locate our booking. However, it was dealt with within fifteen minutes and my two children were given free cuddly toys and we all got a big upgrade to a two room suite. We were also offered free breakfast, but were leaving at 4am, so sadly declined.
The room was lovely, if overlooking a motorway sliproad (expected, due to location). Our eldest child was accomodated on the sofa bed in the sitting room, and we were also given a cot for our toddler.
The swimming pool was a welcome time-filler.
The meals in the restaurant was amazing (a specially themed US style evening). But we were overcharged by 60 Euros for the meal. This was speedily dealt with, although I did feel very embarassed to point it out, and an extra 20 Euros was taken off for good measure.
I would book this hotel again, but I'm recommend looking at restaurant and bar bills. Food and drink here is very expensive enough without mistakes.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CordyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,695 of 2,593 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

I cannot complaint this hotel, because the location for the airport passengers is perfect, especially for the early morning flights, and the quality of the rooms is also faultless. But the "cold" style of the building, very high and empty lobby, doesn't make the best impression. The staff is polite and attentive, but you can feel "lost" in this glassy, modern, but unfriendly complex. The ground floor restaurant is very expensive too, bit better is snack bar with short list of meals. Very reasonable solution for the guests leaving the hotel early morning, is the small breakfast buffet, offered in the lobby bar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed here one night, just prior to our flight back to the US. We did not have a reservation, but were easily accomodated by the front desk staff. We were allowed to park our rental car out front for several minutes while we checked in and settled into our room. We then returned our rental car and had a quick walk back to the hotel. We ordered room service for dinner. The portions were huge. They even delivered the dessert 20 minutes after the entrees! The hotel is very modern. Everyone we encountered was very nice. The beds were typical German twin beds masquerading as a king, and they were only semi-luxurious. To get to our flight, we simply walked right over to the terminal, a less than 5 minute walk (mostly inside). Very convenient and we would definitely stay here again. This was our first stay at a Kempinski, but we will consider others in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bogey304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hotel was a very nice hotel and it is very convenient to the airport. It is a bit of a walk thru parking garages etc to get to the lobby- hotel signage in the airport could be better. Also used the pool/jacuzzi and they were nice but far from your rooms-- actually had to take the elevators down and walk a bit-- it seems like the Spa area was an after thought from the hotel as one would think it should be easily accessable off of the lobby. Staff was pleasant and restaurant was very good but pricey. Hotel value for the money was not what it should/could of been. You are paying for location and quiet which you get but that is all. Would recommend to anyone who has to make an early connection out of the airport, but to use as a primary hotel to Munich you are better off in Munich proper.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleos_MomCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Over rated and poor value business hotel with all the charm of an empty deep freeze.
I booked Bed and Breakfast for my wife and myself on a layover after a 12 hour flight. They gave us a twin bedded room with beds the size of bunks. We changed room and found we had no tea or coffee maker. As we didn't arrive for breakfast before 0830 am we were going to be charged Euro 31 each ! We ate instead in the airport with 2 good breakfasts costing 35 Euros total plus free extra coffee and smiles. Not the only airport hotel any longer; there's a Novotel and that is where I am going next time.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamvasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We booked the Kempinski Hotel Airport Muenchen based on a desire to have an easy morning on the day of our flight home and expected to have a good experience based on the many favorable reviews. This hotel and staff turned out to be a perfect choice and exceeded our expectations.

We arrived by taxi in the middle of a heavy snowfall, having taken the train in from Vienna. We opted for a taxi as we were traveling with my mom who is 79 and it was just easier with her bags to choose this option.

We were greeted with warmth and a helping hand by one of the lovely young women who work at the front desk, checked in quickly and taken to our rooms. The young lady who accompanied us lived in Freising so I asked her for recommendation for dinner that evening and shortly thereafter, we were book to dine at Kathi's Steak House, a delightful restaurant and a perfect choice for our last night in Germany. We went into the town at 5pm and spent two hours at the Christmas markets and wandering the pretty streets lined with shops until it was time for our 7:30 dinner reservation.

The room was large and though not luxurious, it was comfortably appointed and had a large bathroom with a wonderful tub, perfect for a long soak. Other than the loud and very rude guests in the room next to ours, who partied loudly after arriving at 1am, we were pleased with the room overall.

The lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas and the design of the hotel was modern and IMO, very attractive.

The breakfast buffet the next morning, included in the excellent online rate I book via the hotels.com website, was superb!

We were driven to our terminal by a bellman and arrived two hours before our flight which was more than sufficient. It took us less than 20 minutes from arrival at the terminal to arriving at our gate.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caviargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the begin and one night at the end of our vacation. They were very accomodating and allowed us to check in early as soon as a room as available. After a long exhausting intercontinental flight this made our day! Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, excellent linens and are very quiet. The bathroom was well outfitted. There is a Fit and Fly pool/whirlpool/sauna/steamroom/gym available at no additional charge at the hotel. We booked with breakfast and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast experience in the Charles Lindberg Restaurant. The concierge gave us good city information, maps of downtown and of the public transit system. We were able to purchase public transit day passes at the hotel and only needed to validate (stamp) them prior to commencing our use of public transit. Could not have chosen a better hotel. We recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munich
1.4 mi away
Novotel Munich Airport
Novotel Munich Airport
#69 of 390 in Munich
1,930 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#62 of 390 in Munich
2,118 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Munchen Airport
4 mi away
Munich Airport Marriott Hotel
18.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#50 of 390 in Munich
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Munich Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Munich Airport

Address: Terminalstrasse Mitte 20, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Kempinski Hotel Airport München)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Green Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#26 Family Hotel in Munich
#27 Business Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range: £96 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Munich Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 551
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Munich Airport is located between Terminal 1 and 2 at the Munich Airport, just a few steps beyond customs and 35km north-east from Munich city centre. The four-story and transparent hotel was built in 1994 and set in the futuristic landscape of Munich Airport. The center structure marks a 1,400 sqm glass atrium with 20 tropical palm trees. The 551 rooms and suites are equipped with functionally amenities such as sound-proof windows, black curtains, a relaxing chair and working desk. The fit & fly SPA including indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, gym as well as SPA treatments offers the guest a perfect location for refreshment and relaxing. At the elegant restaurant charles lindbergh they offer regional cuisine and regular theme buffets from Friday to Sunday for up to 200 persons. Or relax at our Nightflight Bar with fantastic drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Munich Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing