We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strictly ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Westend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Westend
Ranked #265 of 382 Hotels in Munich
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Strictly ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Nothing majorly wrong here but you could probably always find a better hotel. Very small room but comfortable and clean. Good staff. Location is not great with nearest train station 10 mins away and no direct trams into the city nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prady86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    88
    98
    37
    11
See reviews for
43
71
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The first impression of this hotel was the unfriendly receptionist who said the bare minimum.
The room was extremely noisy due to people out on the street at all times, even with the window closed. Closing the window also had the effect of making the room unbearably hot as there is zero cooling, not even a fan.
One night a group of loud drinkers outside were still up shouting in the street at 8am when we left to go sightseeing. Immediate area around the hotel appeared quite shady too.
On the first morning I alerted the kitchen staff to the salt shaker on our table which had lots of black insects inside it in the salt (maybe ants) to which I received an 'eww!' response and nothing more. On our last morning we sat at a different table for breakfast and that shaker had ants crawling around in it too! Not a great sight when you are eating..

Pros: Great local Bavarian restaurant a few blocks away as recommended by the hotel also the hotel is walking distance from Munich HBF.
Also there was a different person on reception when we checked out who was attentive and friendly.

There must be better places in Munich for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here for 1 night when in Munich on a business trip. It was perfect - close enough to town, comfortable bed, and well priced. There was a street light right outside the window but the curtains were black out so fine, and I heard no street noise.

I had a second floor room, there was a lift and the room was large enough. The shower was a bit small but for the price good enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed there recently for 2 nights (in December). The bad thing the rooms in the roof area are very small. It is pretty pricey for this type of hotel as well, but rooms were clean. Overall experience was good, but if you find something cheaper go for it. Avoid the floor above 5th (it is the roof area) because there is no elevator and rooms are even smaller up there!

Room Tip: Avoid the floor above 5th (it is the roof area) because there is no elevator and rooms are even smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

This was such a great little find for Munich. The hotel is very walkable to the city centre and is tucked away.

We had a lovely couple of nights here with a lovely friendly welcome.

I'd definitely recommend this as a great place to stay while you explore the city.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have quite a lively bar opposite.... Just to warn you :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissSooosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Just spent three days with my family.Good location and only 8-10 minutes walk to the S-Bahn. Good breakfast,have luggage deposit and as I am a coffee lover, Coffee,tea etc is free 24/7. As rooms, they are a bit small,but cosy, Room was a bit too warm for me,but as they say,you cannot have the cake and eat it all.Will stay again if I had to visit MUNICH again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliftonMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We booked our stay on Expedia just a few months before Oktoberfest and got a great rate. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. We were within easy walking distance of the Oktoberfest festivities and couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the shower was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DestructoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#357 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#323 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#121 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#321 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westend

Property: Hotel Westend
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 121, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Westend 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Westend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing