We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Westend

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Westend
Ranked #265 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights on the first part of our honeymoon. The staff was super helpful and booked a castle tour for us. The room was a bit on the small side, but very clean. The location is a quick 10 minute walk to the train station and about 2 blocks from the oldest brewery in Munich.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    88
    98
    37
    11
See reviews for
43
71
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

A short walk from the main station.Our room on the 3 rd floor was tiny and very clean but no A/C in rooms makes it very hard to stay there during summer time. the receptionist was very welcoming and checking in was very easy.Due to the size of the room I would not stay here for more than a few days but for a few days visit to Munich it is ideally located and only a few minutes from the train station.the hotel has private parking and chargeable .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is just fine - not far from the city center, well connected with public transport, not as overpriced as some others. The room was clean and had a standard set of equipment in there. I didn't try the breakfast as it was optional and I decided to skip it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Westend in late January while I attended a conference nearby. Was booked by my company so I wasn't involved in the selection process. It is in a good location near the Innenstadt and only blocks away from the Octoberfest grounds (if you are hear in September). Those are about the only good points. The hotel is very small. small reception area, the bar is basically a counter in this reception area. The rooms are small and walls are very thin. You hear conversations / television in the rooms next to you and in the hall way. Tiny television and undependable wifi coverage in the rooms. You register for wifi at the reception and are given an access code....good for 72 hours. If your stay is longer you'll need to get a new code (not a terrible burden but and inconvenience. You also need a separate code for each device (had a laptop and a tablet so needed two codes). Breakfast (the only food available at the hotel) is adequate but nothing special.....and at an additional charge of 9 Euros (not really worth the money). Their policy requires that you leave your room key with the receptionist when you leave each day. This is a little unsettling at first as you simply ask for the key by asking for room x; since there is no real confirmation of who you are I wonder about the security situation. Overall, not a terrible stay (and it is inexpensive) but it was one of the worst hotels I've stayed at. I'm accustom to better accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I spent only 2 nights there. I thought for this short trip a budget hotel would do. What a mistake. It wasn't even a good value for money AND they overcharged my credit card. They had the most uncomfortable bed I've ever had in the tiniest hotel room. On the top of everything the place is very noisy. There are MANY excellent alternatives in Munich within the same neighborhood or even closer to the Old City that are much better value for money. Actually, a hostel for the fraction of the price would have been better. Don't get me wrong: Munich is a wonderful place. The Old City is magic, great food, fantastic beer, the best atmosphere. Just avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no good enough rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ipm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a City Tour.

Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Staff are friendly and efficient.

The Hotel is about 20 mins walk from the central area of Munich but only 2 mins walk from the nearest underground.

Only negative is that the street below can be quite noisy until late into the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Having seen some of the recent reviews of this hotel I am surprised at how negative they are. I had spent one night in a Mercure hotel for work, but had to leave because it was fully booked. I found the Westend because I wanted somewhere near the station. The Westend was clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff, and I had a larger room for about half the price. It is not a smart luxury hotel, but as somewhere central and convenient at a very reasonable price, I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.6 mi away
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
Smart Stay Hotel Schweiz
#357 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seibel
Hotel Seibel
#323 of 382 in Munich
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tryp Munchen City Center
Tryp Munchen City Center
#121 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fidelio
Hotel Fidelio
#321 of 382 in Munich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Westend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Westend

Property: Hotel Westend
Address: Schwanthalerstr. 121, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Westend 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Westend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westend Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing