We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
Ranked #153 of 383 Hotels in Munich
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    225
    118
    24
    6
See reviews for
40
157
61
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

As a family of four we spent six nights in two rooms over the Christmas holiday. I cannot find fault with the staff or the hotel. We received a wonderful welcome and there were always staff available to help or answer questions. We received vouchers for a drink with our room keys and the room refrigerators had a beer, soft drink and bottled water replenished each day. The rooms were terrific - spacious, clean and warm and the beds were huge and very, very comfortable. The en suites were spotless and housekeeeping left the room pristine every morning. There was also a wonderful spread in the breakfast bar each morning to suit all tastes.

The hotel is only a short walk from the Munich train station, where we bought sandwiches and stuff for our packed lunches each day. Plenty of pubs for the younger half of our party. The hotel is close to cheaper hotels and some hostels, and the street is busy, but we were not aware of any noise once we were inside.

I recommend this hotel to everyone, and will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriKay1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a well below average hotel which charges high rates when they can get away with it (Bau Munic Exhibition time!!!). It's not often I feel totally ripped of but I did here at 239€ per night. Not much good to say about it at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robintaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The hotel was undergoing some construction during my stay, however this was not a big inconvenience. I was more than satisfied with the room (perhaps I had lowered my expectations after reading some reviews here). It was small but modern and clean, just fine for a business trip. The staff was also very understanding when I had to cancel one night at the last minute as they did not charge me for this.

My only complaint was the strange smell in the stairwell and hallways. Fortunately, it did not extend into the room itself so it was not that big of a deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2012

The service was not good, they try to charge you everythig and they do not try to help you.

This is the last time I reserved in this hotel, I have tried other mercure hotel in Munich and this is the worst, the otherones are fine.

Best regards.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fenix80rcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This Mercure disappointed a little. We've stayed in Mercures before - in France and In Austria - and we're very impressed with the high level of cleanliness, modern fixtures, friendly staff, and efficient services. But this Mercure fell a little short. Although the room (a penthouse suite) was lovely and the check-in was fast and efficient, we hit a problem with the in-room coffee machine, and needed one of the staff to help us figure it out, even though there were clear instructions next to the machine! Then, when we did get it working, it made the most terrible coffee and tea. Message to Mercure Munich Schwabing: replace your in-room coffee equipment with simple, effective Keurig machines!

Also, in this suite, we experienced loud conversation early in the morning from staff in the corridor outside the bedroom area in this suite. Again, nothing to wreck our stay there, but still below what we expect of a Mercure.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryJohnKerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CopenhagenDenmark
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice hotel located not far away from the "party mile" of Munich - Leopoldstrasse. I don't have anything bad to say about this hotel - but then again it's one of the hotels that probably won't stick in my memory.

Checkin went smoothly - like almost all other German hotels they still consider WLAN an opportunity to rib people off - €9,00 for 24 hours of really low low low bitrate internet. I used measuring software - and detected a download rate of less than 400kbits/s - that reminds me of the good old days with dial-up connections and ISDN. Really not cool - and extremely annoying!!

Room was fine but small. The window was open and room was full of noise from the heavy traffic outside - however noise disappeared when closed the window - so thumbs up for noise reduction windows.

TV is on the desk next to the bed - when meant that I wasn't able to lie in the bed and watch TV (unless ONLY lying on me left side). Come on, folks - it's on the first page in the "Building a hotel manual" - TV must be placed on the wall or a table at the end of the bed!

Bathroom was really nice and seemed relatively newly renovated.

I only stayed for one night - so can't comment on the general cleaning. The room seemed fine when I was in it.

All in all a nice hotel - maybe a bit pricey for a quite basic hotel. Paid €171 for one night without breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Fleming's Hotel Muenchen-Schwabing
0.5 mi away
Das Nikolai Hotel
Das Nikolai Hotel
#208 of 383 in Munich
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Leopold
Hotel Leopold
#214 of 383 in Munich
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
Ibis Muenchen City Nord
#106 of 383 in Munich
803 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Occam
#339 of 383 in Munich
14 reviews
0.5 mi away
H'Otello H'09
H'Otello H'09
#212 of 383 in Munich
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing

Property: Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing
Address: Leopoldstr. 120, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in Alt-Schwabing with its pubs, theatres & shopping facilities. Within walking distance to tourist sights & public transport. Direct access to motorway. 65 air-conditioned rooms and paying indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen Schwabing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Muenchen Schwabing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing